We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opera evening!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Downtown Duluth Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Downtown Duluth Motel to your Saves list
The Downtown Duluth Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   131 West Second Street, Duluth, MN 55802 (Formerly Best Western)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Breezy Point, Minnesota
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Opera evening!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

With Canal Park lodging insistent on a two night minimum stay, we chose this motel for the walk able distance to the DECC and Symphony Hall for the production of Les Miserables on a Saturday night. If it rained, we were only one block from the skywalk, but the evening was so beautiful, we walked outside instead of the enclosed air of the skywalk.
We wanted a king size bed with no pets allowed. We were relegated to the first floor.
This motel is at the least, antiquated. In a rough part of town, near the YM/WCA, but only a block from the Holiday in to catch the skywalk.
The room was of the 'old fashioned' small size, with a small bathroom and a window air conditioner. At least it kept the room cool, and it eliminated the outside noise.
The bathroom had been freshly painted, I could still smell the paint, but the wall in the bedroom area needed some work with major defaults in the wall with paper attempting to cover it. The rug had some huge stains that I didn't really want to walk barefoot on, but over all, it was clean.
We didn't partake in the breakfast, it was the typical starch and eggs stuff... but it appeared to be adequate for those that like that stuff.
The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet for the most part.
We received the ARRP discount making it a little more affordable, and since we could never get a room closer to the DECC for that price, it served our needs.

Room Tip: My cell phone did not accept the wifi that was offered, but perhaps a computer would.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear nannerjammer,

Thanks for staying with us and posting your nice review. We know you have a lot of hotels to choose from and we're happy that you were pleased with the service and accommodations we provide, and that you found us to be a good value. I hope we can serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    48
    44
    24
    22
See reviews for
33
56
22
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This is not in a great part of town. It was not clean and room smelled bad. Questionable staff at the front desk at night. The night clerk had some really "special" friends hanging out with her. We were put in a room next door to the laundry, which was very loud. Internet never worked inspite of supposedly being reset. Front desk staff did not have up to date info about skybridge walkways to get downtown. It was closed on Sunday.
There are other hotels to choose from in Duluth, so stay away from here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear J0yce98,

I am very sorry you were unhappy with the service and accommodations we provided and offer my apologies for any discomfort or inconvenience you experienced here. We want our guests to be met with a well-trained staff that puts guest comfort and satisfaction before everything else. I am sorry if this was not your experience. You can be confident that we will follow-up on your concerns so that others are not disappointed as you were. If you would like to discuss this further, please contact me at kenjacobs@zmchotels.com at your convenience. I hope we can earn your trust.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We had a very unpleasant stay at Best Western Downtown Motel and would never ever recommend this facility to anyone!! We had major issues with our key cards and the general door knob and lock on the motel room. We had items STOLEN from our room!!!! The Manager that we informed was more concerned about her housekeeper's repuatation than what happened to us. I felt as though the manager did not believe us!!! I am just so disgusted with our stay!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Jennifer R,

As we stated in our response to your review on Yelp, we are sorry for the difficulties you experienced here and have been in touch with you personally to make amends. We want all our guests to be happy they decided to stay with us and take it very seriously when we fail to deliver and excellent experience. We look forward to resolving this to your satisfaction and hope we can serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorhead, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The exterior of the hotel is not attractive at all and parking is cumbersome. However, the room was a pleasant surprise. Very clean, comfortable beds and good bathroom and shower. New tv. Spotty Wi-Fi but I did make them aware of it and they said they were working on it. Breakfast was very basic but ok. Cannot see Lake Superior but it's only a few blocks away.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Steven C,

Thank you for taking the time to write and submit a review of our hotel. It is our goal to provide our guests with the utmost in service, comfort, cleanliness, value and facilities, and I am glad we exceeded your expectations. We appreciate your business and your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Spring, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Best Western is a great choice for a hotel if you don't need all of the extra bells and whistles. Clean, Comfortable, all the basics are covered plus breakfast, free wi fi, Ironing board/iron and blow dryer, and mini fridge.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Jennifer E,

Thanks so much for returning to us and for sharing your comments. It’s guests like you that make our jobs of providing excellent service and accommodations very rewarding. We really appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back and serving you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This place is a great and cheap place to stay! When we checked into the room we got a courtesy call to ensure our room was perfect. We needed a cot, no issues there it was brought up promptly. Free breakfast in the morning, nothing fancy but its great! People don't know about the additional parking up in the back either, which is great if you have a room on the 2nd floor. The only downside was there was no pool

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear TBaytrippin,

Thank you for staying with us and posting your excellent comments. We realize you have many choices when it comes to lodging, and we sincerely appreciate your business. It's always nice to receive compliments from happy guests, and I will share your remarks with the rest of our team here. I hope we can serve you here again.


Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I was in Duluth for Grandma's Marathon, along with thousands of other people from across the country. I think it's sad that hotel/motels (not just Best Western) find it necessary to inflate there prices by 100% because they know rooms will be in short supply. This is price gouging at its worst.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Kerry W,

Price gouging is a pejorative term used when sellers inflate prices due to natural disaster or other crisis when the goods or services are in short supply. It implies extortion or coercion. Increasing rates at hotels that are close and convenient to special events is a fair business practice. Guests are able to decide how much to pay for a room, and choose accordingly. If being close and convenient to the event is important, the charge will be acceptable. Hotels do no force guests to pay any particular price, they price their rooms based on the advantages and amenities available. Guests know the price when they make their reservation. Less expensive options are always available further from the venue or event and/or with fewer amenities or services. I'm sorry you were unhappy with us during your recent stay and hope you are able to find lodging that more suits your needs the next time you are here.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Downtown Duluth Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Downtown Duluth Motel

Address: 131 West Second Street, Duluth, MN 55802 (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Downtown Duluth Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A convenient location is what draws many travelers to our Duluth hotel, but it's the hospitality and top quality that brings return guests to us. Duluth hotels are already known for great hospitality, but we go the extra mile to make you feel right at home. Our North Shore hotel has everything you need for a spectacular getaway, like luxury bedding, spacious rooms that are comfortable and cool, and a free daily breakfast. Canal Park and the Lakewalk along the shores of Lake Superior are minutes from our hotel located in downtown Duluth, making it easy for guests to enjoy the beauty of the region. At our Lake Superior hotel, the best of the city is right around the corner. Enjoy downtown shopping or head to Miller Hill Mall for a wide selection of favorite shops. The Blues Festival is a local favorite, but the Grandma's Marathon has runners of all ages coming to town. The Reggae Festival and NorthShore Inline Marathon(R) are also popular events near our Duluth hotel. Whether you're here for Bike MS(R)150 or to visit Bentleyville, a great location can make all the difference. We're also close to hospitals like Essentia Health, St. Luke's, St. Mary's and Miller Dwan, which is convenient for medical patients and healthcare workers in town for business. We cater to a wide range of business travelers at our Duluth hotel. Events at Duluth Entertainment Convention Center (DECC) and AMSOIL Arena draw in tradeshow attendees and presenters from around the country. Local schools, colleges and universities also bring those looking for an extended stay to the property. St. Scholastica, the University of Minnesota Duluth, Lake Superior College, Duluth Business University and the University of Wisconsin Superior are all close to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Downtown Duluth Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Downtown Hotel Duluth
Duluth Best Western
Best Western Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Downtown Duluth Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.