We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect fit for us” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   131 West Second Street, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #21 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Cold Spring, United States
1 review
“Perfect fit for us”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Best Western is a great choice for a hotel if you don't need all of the extra bells and whistles. Clean, Comfortable, all the basics are covered plus breakfast, free wi fi, Ironing board/iron and blow dryer, and mini fridge.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Jennifer E,

Thanks so much for returning to us and for sharing your comments. It’s guests like you that make our jobs of providing excellent service and accommodations very rewarding. We really appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back and serving you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    33
    32
    16
    16
See reviews for
25
36
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place is a great and cheap place to stay! When we checked into the room we got a courtesy call to ensure our room was perfect. We needed a cot, no issues there it was brought up promptly. Free breakfast in the morning, nothing fancy but its great! People don't know about the additional parking up in the back either, which is great if you have a room on the 2nd floor. The only downside was there was no pool

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear TBaytrippin,

Thank you for staying with us and posting your excellent comments. We realize you have many choices when it comes to lodging, and we sincerely appreciate your business. It's always nice to receive compliments from happy guests, and I will share your remarks with the rest of our team here. I hope we can serve you here again.


Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was in Duluth for Grandma's Marathon, along with thousands of other people from across the country. I think it's sad that hotel/motels (not just Best Western) find it necessary to inflate there prices by 100% because they know rooms will be in short supply. This is price gouging at its worst.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Kerry W,

Price gouging is a pejorative term used when sellers inflate prices due to natural disaster or other crisis when the goods or services are in short supply. It implies extortion or coercion. Increasing rates at hotels that are close and convenient to special events is a fair business practice. Guests are able to decide how much to pay for a room, and choose accordingly. If being close and convenient to the event is important, the charge will be acceptable. Hotels do no force guests to pay any particular price, they price their rooms based on the advantages and amenities available. Guests know the price when they make their reservation. Less expensive options are always available further from the venue or event and/or with fewer amenities or services. I'm sorry you were unhappy with us during your recent stay and hope you are able to find lodging that more suits your needs the next time you are here.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Picked this hotel because it was close to the finish line of the Grandma's Marathon and more cost-effective than the others. Just a place to sleep and shower, wasn't looking to hang out there. The prices of course were increased for this weekend, so I wouldn't say it was the best bang for the buck.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Lisa S,

Thanks for staying with us and posting your candid comments. I'm glad to hear you were satisfied with the accommodations we provide and that we met your lodging needs and expectations. I hope you enjoyed yourself during the many events around Grandma's Marathon, and that you will be our guest again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed there not to long ago. When I was there though the manager seemed very rude a disrespectful to the front desk people. She was making then run around not taking care of us. The rooms were gross and smelt weird. The only nice thing was the front desk people they were nice!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear nahoua65,

I am very sorry you received poor service while you were here and hope you will accept my apologies. . We want our guests to be met with a well-trained staff that puts guest comfort and satisfaction before everything else and we take it very seriously when we fail to deliver. We'd like to learn more details and hope you will contact me via kenjacobs@zmchotels.com at your convenience. I hope you will give us the opportunity to discuss this with you further, and regain your trust.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

My husband and I booked this motel for our honeymoon. It was a very clean room and nice quiet location. It was also wonderful to be centrally located to everything downtown. Anything we wanted to do was within walking distance. Totally worth it in my opinion.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear MandaRaeGwen213,

Congratulations on your recent marriage, and thanks for choosing our hotel as your base during your celebration. We are proud to deliver a higher quality guest experience than our competitors and we are glad you were happy with us during your stay. I hope we can welcome you back and serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chassell
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Good location, convenient to downtown, quiet, clean rooms, Nothing fancy but good service and value. Helpful friendly staff. Would stay there again, would recommend to others. Only glitch is parking, plentiful, but some not convenient.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Charles H,

Thanks for making your very first TA review about your recent stay with us. I'm glad you were happy with the service and accommodations we provide and appreciate your kind words and recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back and serving you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel

Address: 131 West Second Street, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Downtown Hotel Duluth
Duluth Best Western
Best Western Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.