We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average accomodations for an extreme price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Downtown Duluth Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Downtown Duluth Motel to your Saves list
The Downtown Duluth Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   131 West Second Street, Duluth, MN 55802 (Formerly Best Western)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Courtenay, United States
1 review
“Average accomodations for an extreme price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I was in Duluth for Grandma's Marathon, along with thousands of other people from across the country. I think it's sad that hotel/motels (not just Best Western) find it necessary to inflate there prices by 100% because they know rooms will be in short supply. This is price gouging at its worst.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Kerry W,

Price gouging is a pejorative term used when sellers inflate prices due to natural disaster or other crisis when the goods or services are in short supply. It implies extortion or coercion. Increasing rates at hotels that are close and convenient to special events is a fair business practice. Guests are able to decide how much to pay for a room, and choose accordingly. If being close and convenient to the event is important, the charge will be acceptable. Hotels do no force guests to pay any particular price, they price their rooms based on the advantages and amenities available. Guests know the price when they make their reservation. Less expensive options are always available further from the venue or event and/or with fewer amenities or services. I'm sorry you were unhappy with us during your recent stay and hope you are able to find lodging that more suits your needs the next time you are here.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    69
    60
    29
    26
See reviews for
49
75
26
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brookfield, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Picked this hotel because it was close to the finish line of the Grandma's Marathon and more cost-effective than the others. Just a place to sleep and shower, wasn't looking to hang out there. The prices of course were increased for this weekend, so I wouldn't say it was the best bang for the buck.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Lisa S,

Thanks for staying with us and posting your candid comments. I'm glad to hear you were satisfied with the accommodations we provide and that we met your lodging needs and expectations. I hope you enjoyed yourself during the many events around Grandma's Marathon, and that you will be our guest again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I stayed there not to long ago. When I was there though the manager seemed very rude a disrespectful to the front desk people. She was making then run around not taking care of us. The rooms were gross and smelt weird. The only nice thing was the front desk people they were nice!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear nahoua65,

I am very sorry you received poor service while you were here and hope you will accept my apologies. . We want our guests to be met with a well-trained staff that puts guest comfort and satisfaction before everything else and we take it very seriously when we fail to deliver. We'd like to learn more details and hope you will contact me via kenjacobs@zmchotels.com at your convenience. I hope you will give us the opportunity to discuss this with you further, and regain your trust.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

My husband and I booked this motel for our honeymoon. It was a very clean room and nice quiet location. It was also wonderful to be centrally located to everything downtown. Anything we wanted to do was within walking distance. Totally worth it in my opinion.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear MandaRaeGwen213,

Congratulations on your recent marriage, and thanks for choosing our hotel as your base during your celebration. We are proud to deliver a higher quality guest experience than our competitors and we are glad you were happy with us during your stay. I hope we can welcome you back and serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chassell
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Good location, convenient to downtown, quiet, clean rooms, Nothing fancy but good service and value. Helpful friendly staff. Would stay there again, would recommend to others. Only glitch is parking, plentiful, but some not convenient.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Charles H,

Thanks for making your very first TA review about your recent stay with us. I'm glad you were happy with the service and accommodations we provide and appreciate your kind words and recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back and serving you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brainerd, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We had a very enjoyable stay.The room was clean and orderly.Nice that there was 24 hour coffee and breakfast in the morning.We were kind of leary at first after reading some other reviews, but all was very good and we would definately recommend this hotel to others. Thank you very much.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor by the office. It seemed very tranquil and safe. It was a tuesday night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear ervin l,

Thanks for staying and posting your great review about us! It's guests like you who make our jobs of providing the best in service and accommodations very rewarding. We value your business and your feedback, and appreciate your recommendation. I hope we can welcome you back and serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Overall, the stay was very good. I can't say enough about manager Anna's excellent service and knowledge of the area. As I sat and had breakfast, every guest and caller received the same great treatment. Continental breakfast choices were starch-heavy, so I especially appreciated the hard-boiled eggs and fresh fruit. I was very satisfied with the cleanliness of the room. The room was on the small side, but adequate for our purposes. Our room was on the second floor, which had secured hallway entrances. The first floor is a true motel, with room doors on the exterior of the building. Our room was generally very quiet, and do not disturb request was honored by housekeeping. Location of hotel was good; just a couple of blocks from the Skywalk. The only reason I mighn't stay again would be if I could find a better price in close proximity, or a similar price with more amenities.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear 198elizabethc,

Thank you for posting your nice comments about your recent stay with us. We want to provide all our guests with the best in service and accommodations and appreciate your compliments. Anna is a terrific manager and leads us by setting the example of excellent service for every guest every time. I hope you will keep us in mind when looking for affordable and convenient lodging in downtown Duluth.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
3.0 mi away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
2.2 mi away
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#11 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#5 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Downtown Duluth Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Downtown Duluth Motel

Address: 131 West Second Street, Duluth, MN 55802 (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Downtown Duluth Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A convenient location is what draws many travelers to our Duluth hotel, but it's the hospitality and top quality that brings return guests to us. Duluth hotels are already known for great hospitality, but we go the extra mile to make you feel right at home. Our North Shore hotel has everything you need for a spectacular getaway, like luxury bedding, spacious rooms that are comfortable and cool, and a free daily breakfast. Canal Park and the Lakewalk along the shores of Lake Superior are minutes from our hotel located in downtown Duluth, making it easy for guests to enjoy the beauty of the region. At our Lake Superior hotel, the best of the city is right around the corner. Enjoy downtown shopping or head to Miller Hill Mall for a wide selection of favorite shops. The Blues Festival is a local favorite, but the Grandma's Marathon has runners of all ages coming to town. The Reggae Festival and NorthShore Inline Marathon(R) are also popular events near our Duluth hotel. Whether you're here for Bike MS(R)150 or to visit Bentleyville, a great location can make all the difference. We're also close to hospitals like Essentia Health, St. Luke's, St. Mary's and Miller Dwan, which is convenient for medical patients and healthcare workers in town for business. We cater to a wide range of business travelers at our Duluth hotel. Events at Duluth Entertainment Convention Center (DECC) and AMSOIL Arena draw in tradeshow attendees and presenters from around the country. Local schools, colleges and universities also bring those looking for an extended stay to the property. St. Scholastica, the University of Minnesota Duluth, Lake Superior College, Duluth Business University and the University of Wisconsin Superior are all close to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Downtown Duluth Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Downtown Hotel Duluth
Duluth Best Western
Best Western Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Downtown Duluth Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.