We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay Again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Downtown Duluth Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Downtown Duluth Motel to your Saves list
The Downtown Duluth Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   131 West Second Street, Duluth, MN 55802 (Formerly Best Western)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent Stay Again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

This is the third year in a row we stayed at this motel so we can do some Christmas shopping in Duluth. Very clean, very friendly and helpful staff.
Hot continental breakfast and free WiFi. Only downer was the weather was -30 below and couldn't get to see the Bentley Parade of Lights again.
We will be booking there again next year.


Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear JST304,

Thanks so much for your loyalty and lovely review. I am so glad you know you can count on us for a comfortable stay, with the best in accommodations and service. We love welcoming you back and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    68
    60
    29
    26
See reviews for
49
75
26
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
thunder bay, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Due the excellent staff and the hotel itself our stay was memorable and will in the future return and recomend to family and friends with great confidence.The location was easily accesable and very close to all the places which our group wanted to visit and venture to see.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Lorie O,

Thank you very much for staying with us and posting your comments and 5 star rating. We value all guest feedback and really appreciate your recognition of jobs well done by our team, and your recommendation. I'm glad you were happy with the service and accommodations we provide and hope you will let us serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Front desk was pleasant and helpful...room was worth the price....pretty good breakfast...parking lot is small for larger vehicles....bed was very comfortable and the only issue for someone might be is there was no fridge....close to airport so if flying in only 10 minutes away

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Charles L,

Thanks so much for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us. We endeavor to give all our guests the best in service and accommodations and we appreciate your feedback. I hope you will let us serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
Level Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed here one night on my way to Minneapolis. They charged $63.00 for a Wednesday night.
Check in was fast and friendly (I found any staff that I dealt with was very pleasant and helpful). This is an older hotel, but this was not an issue for anything I utilized here.
My room was on the second floor...reasonably spacious, window mounted room heater had digital thermometer setting on it (a must have for these type of heaters). The room was clean, and I had absolutely no issues with it. The parking lot is small, but apparently there is more parking in the back. The hotel is very close to downtown shopping, so that's a plus. There is no pool at this hotel, so if you're travelling with children, they wouldn't have that option. But overall, I was more than pleased and will stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear TheMadmanThunderBay,

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding our hotel and the service you received while staying here. It is always our pleasure to receive guest feedback especially when it is as positive as yours. We look forward to and welcome the opportunity to serve you again the next time you are here.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brainerd, Minnesota
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

In Duluth on business and needed moderately priced hotel for two days. Room & bathroom clean. Comfy king bed. Noisy heater and problems with wifi. Called front desk to see if they can correct. Reset router. Still without wirelesss?? The savings in hotel cost is not worth the lost productivity not having access to Internet. Apparently, hotel chooses to ignore this issue as other views mention poor internet connectivity. Wireless routers are not expensive! Losing customers is..... This is the last time I stay here.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Eric P,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments. We are aware of the internet connectivity issues and have our IT team working diligently to make the necessary changes and improvements, as it appears to be more complicated than adding new routers. I hope you will give us another chance to serve you on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Hotel facilities good for a moderately priced hotel, but water in bathroom was only tepid on first night of a three-night stay and lighting in the bathroom -- as with so many hotels -- is inadequate. Location is a mixed bag. There are some seedy areas within a couple of blocks, but the hotel itself seems safe enough, and it's only a very short trip to top tourist areas.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear James F,

Thanks for staying with us and posting your comments. We really appreciate your feedback and are very sorry for the problems you encountered with our water temperature and bathroom lighting. We will take your comments under consideration as we work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will come visit us in the future.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

My husband got this hotel on Priceline and it was suppose to be in a category that is a step up from Super 8 or Quality Inn type hotels. This was not the case! There is very limited parking; small, very dated rooms; and our room had a broken bathroom door (so it wouldn't close) and a bathroom fan (that comes on whenever the light comes on) that sounded like a jet engine. We were very disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear TBSuz,

I am truly sorry you were unhappy with us during your recent visit and offer my apologies. We really appreciate your feedback and are very sorry for the condition of your guest room. We will take your comments under consideration as we work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will come visit us in the future. We'd like the opportunity to make this right for you and hope you will contact us via kenjacobs@zmchotels.com, so we can discuss this personally.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
3.0 mi away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
2.2 mi away
Days Inn Duluth Lakewalk
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#11 of 33 in Duluth
4.0 of 5 stars 226 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#5 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Downtown Duluth Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Downtown Duluth Motel

Address: 131 West Second Street, Duluth, MN 55802 (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Downtown Duluth Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A convenient location is what draws many travelers to our Duluth hotel, but it's the hospitality and top quality that brings return guests to us. Duluth hotels are already known for great hospitality, but we go the extra mile to make you feel right at home. Our North Shore hotel has everything you need for a spectacular getaway, like luxury bedding, spacious rooms that are comfortable and cool, and a free daily breakfast. Canal Park and the Lakewalk along the shores of Lake Superior are minutes from our hotel located in downtown Duluth, making it easy for guests to enjoy the beauty of the region. At our Lake Superior hotel, the best of the city is right around the corner. Enjoy downtown shopping or head to Miller Hill Mall for a wide selection of favorite shops. The Blues Festival is a local favorite, but the Grandma's Marathon has runners of all ages coming to town. The Reggae Festival and NorthShore Inline Marathon(R) are also popular events near our Duluth hotel. Whether you're here for Bike MS(R)150 or to visit Bentleyville, a great location can make all the difference. We're also close to hospitals like Essentia Health, St. Luke's, St. Mary's and Miller Dwan, which is convenient for medical patients and healthcare workers in town for business. We cater to a wide range of business travelers at our Duluth hotel. Events at Duluth Entertainment Convention Center (DECC) and AMSOIL Arena draw in tradeshow attendees and presenters from around the country. Local schools, colleges and universities also bring those looking for an extended stay to the property. St. Scholastica, the University of Minnesota Duluth, Lake Superior College, Duluth Business University and the University of Wisconsin Superior are all close to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Downtown Duluth Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Downtown Hotel Duluth
Duluth Best Western
Best Western Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Downtown Duluth Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.