We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   131 West Second Street, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
thunder bay, Canada
1 review
“Quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Due the excellent staff and the hotel itself our stay was memorable and will in the future return and recomend to family and friends with great confidence.The location was easily accesable and very close to all the places which our group wanted to visit and venture to see.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Lorie O,

Thank you very much for staying with us and posting your comments and 5 star rating. We value all guest feedback and really appreciate your recognition of jobs well done by our team, and your recommendation. I'm glad you were happy with the service and accommodations we provide and hope you will let us serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    36
    38
    19
    20
See reviews for
31
41
20
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Front desk was pleasant and helpful...room was worth the price....pretty good breakfast...parking lot is small for larger vehicles....bed was very comfortable and the only issue for someone might be is there was no fridge....close to airport so if flying in only 10 minutes away

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Charles L,

Thanks so much for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us. We endeavor to give all our guests the best in service and accommodations and we appreciate your feedback. I hope you will let us serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed here one night on my way to Minneapolis. They charged $63.00 for a Wednesday night.
Check in was fast and friendly (I found any staff that I dealt with was very pleasant and helpful). This is an older hotel, but this was not an issue for anything I utilized here.
My room was on the second floor...reasonably spacious, window mounted room heater had digital thermometer setting on it (a must have for these type of heaters). The room was clean, and I had absolutely no issues with it. The parking lot is small, but apparently there is more parking in the back. The hotel is very close to downtown shopping, so that's a plus. There is no pool at this hotel, so if you're travelling with children, they wouldn't have that option. But overall, I was more than pleased and will stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear TheMadmanThunderBay,

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding our hotel and the service you received while staying here. It is always our pleasure to receive guest feedback especially when it is as positive as yours. We look forward to and welcome the opportunity to serve you again the next time you are here.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brainerd, Minnesota
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

In Duluth on business and needed moderately priced hotel for two days. Room & bathroom clean. Comfy king bed. Noisy heater and problems with wifi. Called front desk to see if they can correct. Reset router. Still without wirelesss?? The savings in hotel cost is not worth the lost productivity not having access to Internet. Apparently, hotel chooses to ignore this issue as other views mention poor internet connectivity. Wireless routers are not expensive! Losing customers is..... This is the last time I stay here.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Eric P,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments. We are aware of the internet connectivity issues and have our IT team working diligently to make the necessary changes and improvements, as it appears to be more complicated than adding new routers. I hope you will give us another chance to serve you on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Hotel facilities good for a moderately priced hotel, but water in bathroom was only tepid on first night of a three-night stay and lighting in the bathroom -- as with so many hotels -- is inadequate. Location is a mixed bag. There are some seedy areas within a couple of blocks, but the hotel itself seems safe enough, and it's only a very short trip to top tourist areas.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear James F,

Thanks for staying with us and posting your comments. We really appreciate your feedback and are very sorry for the problems you encountered with our water temperature and bathroom lighting. We will take your comments under consideration as we work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will come visit us in the future.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

My husband got this hotel on Priceline and it was suppose to be in a category that is a step up from Super 8 or Quality Inn type hotels. This was not the case! There is very limited parking; small, very dated rooms; and our room had a broken bathroom door (so it wouldn't close) and a bathroom fan (that comes on whenever the light comes on) that sounded like a jet engine. We were very disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear TBSuz,

I am truly sorry you were unhappy with us during your recent visit and offer my apologies. We really appreciate your feedback and are very sorry for the condition of your guest room. We will take your comments under consideration as we work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will come visit us in the future. We'd like the opportunity to make this right for you and hope you will contact us via kenjacobs@zmchotels.com, so we can discuss this personally.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hancock, michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for one night while on business. We choose it because it is a pet friendly hotel. The room was very clean and the bed comfortable. It is quite dated though and could use some updating. We were given a room with outside direct access. We like this because it's easy for our dogs and we like not having to walk a long distance just to get outside. The area to walk our dogs was behind the hotel and not that convenient as the grassy areas were hills. I made my husband go with me when they needed to go out because I didn't feel exactly safe. This is a downtown hotel and not in the best area, unfortunately. Overall though, our stay was fine and we had no problems. The staff were very nice and the continental breakfast was sufficient. Would we stay again? Probably not. If they had a pet friendly hotel down in Canal Park that would be my first choice. Canal Park Brewery allows you to bring your pets when you sit outside on their patio.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear suomilainen,

Thanks for staying with us and posting your candid comments. We love it when people bring their four legged furry family members with them, and we get a change to know them too. I appreciate your comments about the dog walking area, and wish we had something better to offer. I hope you will consider staying with us again on a future visit to Duluth.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel

Address: 131 West Second Street, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Downtown Hotel Duluth
Duluth Best Western
Best Western Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.