We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So-so experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   131 West Second Street, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Minneapolis, United States
1 review
“So-so experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Hotel facilities good for a moderately priced hotel, but water in bathroom was only tepid on first night of a three-night stay and lighting in the bathroom -- as with so many hotels -- is inadequate. Location is a mixed bag. There are some seedy areas within a couple of blocks, but the hotel itself seems safe enough, and it's only a very short trip to top tourist areas.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear James F,

Thanks for staying with us and posting your comments. We really appreciate your feedback and are very sorry for the problems you encountered with our water temperature and bathroom lighting. We will take your comments under consideration as we work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will come visit us in the future.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    36
    38
    19
    20
See reviews for
31
41
20
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

My husband got this hotel on Priceline and it was suppose to be in a category that is a step up from Super 8 or Quality Inn type hotels. This was not the case! There is very limited parking; small, very dated rooms; and our room had a broken bathroom door (so it wouldn't close) and a bathroom fan (that comes on whenever the light comes on) that sounded like a jet engine. We were very disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear TBSuz,

I am truly sorry you were unhappy with us during your recent visit and offer my apologies. We really appreciate your feedback and are very sorry for the condition of your guest room. We will take your comments under consideration as we work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will come visit us in the future. We'd like the opportunity to make this right for you and hope you will contact us via kenjacobs@zmchotels.com, so we can discuss this personally.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hancock, michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for one night while on business. We choose it because it is a pet friendly hotel. The room was very clean and the bed comfortable. It is quite dated though and could use some updating. We were given a room with outside direct access. We like this because it's easy for our dogs and we like not having to walk a long distance just to get outside. The area to walk our dogs was behind the hotel and not that convenient as the grassy areas were hills. I made my husband go with me when they needed to go out because I didn't feel exactly safe. This is a downtown hotel and not in the best area, unfortunately. Overall though, our stay was fine and we had no problems. The staff were very nice and the continental breakfast was sufficient. Would we stay again? Probably not. If they had a pet friendly hotel down in Canal Park that would be my first choice. Canal Park Brewery allows you to bring your pets when you sit outside on their patio.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear suomilainen,

Thanks for staying with us and posting your candid comments. We love it when people bring their four legged furry family members with them, and we get a change to know them too. I appreciate your comments about the dog walking area, and wish we had something better to offer. I hope you will consider staying with us again on a future visit to Duluth.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed at this Best Western hotel anf it was very clean, the beds were great and it was in a great location. Resonable rate and even had a nice breakfest. Would stay there again. The lady at the desk was very nice and helpfull. She gave us advice on where to eat and gave us information on things to see. Would have stayed longer but didn't have enought time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Patricia N,

Thanks so much for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us. We endeavor to give all our guests the best in service and accommodations and we appreciate your business and your compliments. I hope you will let us serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brookfield mo, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

bathtub rust stained, safety lock on door broke if no rooms availabe in the entire town, better off sleeping in car. staff will lie to you, not very helpful. it will be a very cold day in hell, when I stay in another best western. the staff really didnt give a damn. i booked a smoking room, many months prior, confirmed a few days prior, then upon checkin, said no smoking was state law not true, because i stayed in another motel, which was previously booked as smoking, and asked the desk clerk about the law, never heard of it. up yours best western!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Ronald B,

I am truly sorry we did not provide you with an excellent stay and offer my apologies. Please don't let this one bad experience reflect poorly on the Best Western family of hotels, which are all independently owned and operated. We would like the opportunity to discuss this personally with you and hope you will contact me via kenjacobs@zmchotels.com at your convenience. We value your business and your feedback and hope to hear from you soon.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is not a very nice Best Western hotel. There is obviously a big difference in room quality at this hotel. My colleague and I have first floor rooms with outside entrance doors. These rooms are poor at best - no amenities and small. There are second floor rooms with internal entrance doors that must be better based on other's comments. Room 121 has a very small stand-in shower, not a tub shower. Breakfast area is super small. This hotel is very old and is in need of a makeover. Will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a second floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear BetaGuardPM,

Thanks for staying with us and posting your review. I'm sorry you were disappointed in us and offer my apologies that we did not meet your expectations. We value your business and appreciate your feedback. We are an older property and some of our rooms are small, with showers only. Our downtown location is the most important thing to most of our guests, and we endeavor to provide a clean and comfortable stay for everyone. If you would like to discuss this further, please feel free to contact me via kenjacobs@zmchotels.com. I hope you will give us an opportunity to serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernie British Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

First time stay at the downtown Best Western location in Duluth. Would definitely stay again. Continental breakie and -price of accommodation very good. Did not expect French toast and sausages at breakfast so this was a bonus.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel

Address: 131 West Second Street, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Downtown Hotel Duluth
Duluth Best Western
Best Western Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.