We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best staff ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   131 West Second Street, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #24 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Minooka, Illinois, United States
1 review
“Best staff ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

While the Best Western Downtown Duluth is an older hotel it is very clean, maintained and well managed. Stayed there for 2 weeks while a parent was in the hospital there. The staff is absolutely the best. Thank you Anna, Samantha, and Audra. You are such compassionate angels.....you are what put the "Best" in Best Western! The staff went out of their way to make our stay more pleasant despite our horrible situation. Thought the hotel would be a bit loud but was always very quiet there. They have a very nice breakfast in the morning with hot and cold foot. There is a washer and dryer there you can use for small fee if needed. Conveniently located close to the area hospitals and they offer a decent medical rate. There is a free shuttle you can use as well to get back and forth to area hospitals, the airport, etc. Just book ahead of time especially on the weekends in the summer as they fill up frequently.

Room Tip: There are rooms with doors to the outside on the ground level and rooms with doors that open into a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Wendy A,

Thanks for making our hotel your home away from home while you were in Duluth. We want all our guests to be able to relax and not worry about their accommodations while they are with us, especially when they are going through difficult times. We really appreciate your recognition of jobs well done by our team, and hope you will return and stay with us when you can enjoy more of the wonderful things Duluth and our area has to offer.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Best Western Downtown Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    38
    43
    21
    22
See reviews for
31
45
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Luneburg, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This was one of the worst hotels we stayed at (of about 5-6 inexpensive hotels), especially considering the high prices ($99-147) we paid per night!

- Smoky room, enough smoke to make our eyes itch, even though the hotel is supposedly non-smoking.

- Room very small, especially the bathroom. Limited parking in main courtyard (often had to park in narrow spillover parking spots behind the building).

- Poor room service, sheets were not changed even when they were obviously dirty (simply pulled blanket over them), spilled food in corner of room not cleaned up.

- Often had to run tap for a long time until there was hot water

- Mediocre breakfast, much inferior to e.g. Super 8 or AmericInn. Very limited seating space for breakfast, at times had to wait for people to leave.

- Bad neighbourhood with homeless and low-income folks hanging around (groups of blacks shouting at cars driving past), not a place to talk a walk!

Overall, extremely expensive for what it offers. We advise you to stay away from this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Zenz342,

I’m sorry we were not able to provide you with a great experience during your recent stay. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we appreciate your feedback about the hotel. I assure you that this is not typical of this Best Western and I am very concerned with our staff performance. Your comments will help us to improve the overall experience for our current and future guests. We hope you will reconsider staying with us again, so that you may see that your experience was the exception rather than the rule. Please accept my apologies, and if you are willing to discuss this further, please contact me via kenjacobs@zmchotels.com or by responding here in TA. I hope you will give us a chance to make amends.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Best Western Downtown Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at this property from Sunday, June 30 through Friday, July 5. The staff was friendly and helpful and the room was clean and newly rennovated. The flowers were beautiful, someone has a green thumb. Breakfast was good and I loved the popcorn and free coffee all day. Nice selection of channels on television and the free wi-fi a great plus. The only complaints are minor. As motorcyclists, the parking in the main lot was very hilly and during our stay, we saw many motorcyclists trying to park their bikes safely which was not easy. Reserving the first two flattest parts of the lot for bikes would be a good solution for this. We were able to park their the whole time, but the other bikers could not and they were very concerned. If you can't do that, at least provide metal plates for the kick stands - it protects your pavement too! Note that parking in the back lot is not an option because bikers like to be able to "see" their bikes.
Housekeeping could have been a bit more attentive when servicing our room. We had to ask for additional shampoo and conditioner and they never refilled our cups. On the last day they serviced the room, they shorted us on towels and bath mats. In summary, the housekeeping errors were small and easily overlooked and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear tourismlady,

Thanks very much for staying with us and posting your comments. I really appreciate your observations and suggestions about motorcycle parking, and sincerely apologize for the poor job our housekeeping team did for you. I will use your review in discussions and training with them so this does not continue or recur. I hope you will let us know how we are doing the next time you stay with us.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Best Western Downtown Duluth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Clinton, Ohio
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is not a Park Avenue Hotel yet gets 5 stars because of the value. We've stayed in other motels in this area but this was the best for the money.

We had our family reunion in Dover and I had to find 3 rooms for a Saturday night. I checked a couple of places but they were booked. Got to Best Western and got 3 King Rooms. I was a little concerned after reading some of the recent reviews yet check in was friendly and quick and all three rooms were very clean and quiet.

I asked about the tree trimming trucks and work trucks parked in the lot and the clerk explained that there were a lot of oil & pipeline workers staying in the area and most motels were filled during the week and some on weekends. The tree trimmers were staying at BW during the week but went home on the weekends. Couple this with the tourists to the Amish country and this is one booming area.

Breakfast was the typical Best Western fare, waffles, biscuits & gravy, cereal, fruit and hard boiled eggs. All was good and we were on our way, well rested and ready for a few hours of driving.
Room Tip: Book Early or you may not get a room because this area is very busy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Readers -

This review is not about our hotel, but for some reason TA has not yet put it where it belongs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This hotel was nothing special...that said, it was exactly what we paid for. For under 100 dollars a night we got a large, comfortable clean bed and a small but very tidy room with the basic amenities you would expect, toiletries, flat screen cable tv, coffee maker, etc. the staff was very friendly and helpful and recommended several good bars and restaurants in the area. It is conveniently located downtown and is within walking distance of many points of interest. The parking lot is a bit difficult to navigate due to the incline and small size, but overall a positive experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and posting your nice review. We realize you have many choices when it comes to lodging, and we sincerely appreciate your business. I hope we can serve you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

When we got to this hotel we thought it's not bad for short stay in this nice town specially with cheap price and free breakfast. However the room was noisy and old. We can't sleep until 4am because that radio make some strange sound, when we finally feel sleepy the bath tube make huge noise. It's not really a hotel for travelers. I would like to say you should pay more bucks to check in to Holiday Inn next to this hotel. Not recommend.

Room Tip: Guess what, you need to walk 30 second to Holiday inn next to this hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
I'm very sorry you were so unhappy with your room on your recent visit, and appreciate your candid comments. We value all guest feedback and use it to improve our operation. I hope you will give us another chance to gain your trust the next time you are in Duluth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oysterville, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This property served our needs for a overnight place to stay. The biggest downside is hot water. The clerk advised to due to their water system, one has to run the it for several minutes before the hot water kicks in which seems to be wasteful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Bythecisgr8,

Thanks for your stay and comments. We are working on improving our hot water system so that we will not waste any of this precious resource. I hope you will be happy with the improvements the next time you are our guest.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Best Western Downtown Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel

Address: 131 West Second Street, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Best Western, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Downtown Hotel Duluth
Duluth Best Western
Best Western Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.