We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dirty, feces on the walls in bathroom !” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Downtown Duluth Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Downtown Duluth Motel to your Saves list
The Downtown Duluth Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   131 West Second Street, Duluth, MN 55802 (Formerly Best Western)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very dirty, feces on the walls in bathroom !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

By far the dirtiest room I've ever stayed in, the bathroom was disgusting! Shower dropped all night and the bath tub was rotted out and had condensation in the tub the whole time? It was a ground floor unit , maybe thats why? Room smelled rancid, old smoke and mold, comforter was filthy and smokey. The parking lot is a nightmare and we saw another guests car get hit by another guest pulling in. I was afraid mine would get hit the whole night. The hotel is also a seedy location . Had to was everything in my suitcase cause it smelt like mold and s

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
I am truly sorry you were so unhappy with us during your recent stay and offer my sincere apologies. The conditions you describe are certainly not up to our usual standards, and I will use your reviw in discussions and training to improve our operation. We welcome all guest input and appreciate your candid comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    39
    43
    22
    22
See reviews for
31
46
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I work for a 3 star hotel in the Twin Cities and so am very familiar with the amenities modern hotels should offer. This MOTEL (not hotel) was the type where your room door opens onto the parking lot. The room was small, but clean and had decent beds, flat screen tv, and bathroom fixtures were all working properly (except there was no exhaust fan in the bathroom...which is awful in such a small room!) The wifi was fast and reliable and the cable tv selections were great. I was traveling to Duluth to visit my daughter in college and I prefer to stay in Best Westerns, so this was my ONLY choice if I wanted to stick with the brand and use my Rewards points for my stay. Breakfast REALLY needs improvement! Just a few items to chose from and no lids for the coffee cups...so you must carry your coffee across the parking lot with no lid!
It certainly was a decent enough room and as I bring a fan with me to use for sleeping noise, I was not bothered too much by the city noises. We did have a drunk fall into our door at 3am and then lay on the pavement for a minute before getting up and moving on to his room (presumably) but that's not the hotel's fault.
Neither staff person I had interactions with was particularly friendly. They were efficient enough, but I didn't feel very welcomed after my long day of driving and arriving to find my reservation wasn't entirely correct, coupled with a staff girl who barely interacted with us except as much as was absolutely necessary. Front desk people are the first impression of any property and should always be cordial and friendly.
All in all, I would stay there again when I come to visit my daughter in the future. I will just be better prepared to eat breakfast elsewhere. I will also be sure to ask if ANY room has an exhaust fan in the restroom. The prices are pretty steep for what you get, but I understand they are charging for the location, which for me was incredibly convenient to both UMD and St. Scholastica.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your loyalty to the Best Western family of hotels, and for staying at our hotel. I'm sorry you were disappointed with our service and breakfast and hope you will accept my sincere apologies. I appreciate your understanding of our business, and hope you will continue to let us know how we are doing on your future visits to your daughter and Duluth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albertville, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I was skeptical about staying here after all the negative reviews. This place is not as bad as what some people have said unless you are extremely fussy there is nothing wrong with the Best Western Downtown. Look at the price difference between this motel and the ones in Canal Park. Our room was clean, it is small but we didn't care we were only there to sleep. The breakfast in the morning is pretty similar to any other continental breakfast that I ever had. I would stay here again and would recommend this motel to family and friends. I consider this motel to be within walking distance of Canal Park unless you are extremely out of shape or an older individual.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your candid review of our hotel. I'm glad you were happy with the room and service we provide, and appreciate your recommendation of us. I hope you will allow us to serve you again the next time you visit Duluth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This was my first and will be my only stay at the Best Western Downtown Motel in Duluth, MN. I don't even know where to begin so I'll start with the biggest issue. The bathroom was absolutely disgusting!!! There were pubic hairs on the toilet, sink, in the shower, and even in the "clean" towels that were folded on the shelf in the bathroom. When I checked in the toilet had dried urine on the toilet seat and the shower was covered in mold. The coffee maker in the room was dirty and had water from a previous guest inside of it and it had a musty odor. The next biggest issue was the general lack of routine maintenance with the room and motel in general. The floors were uneven and wavy. If anyone has difficulty walking this would be a huge safety issue where they could fall and injure them self. The massage shower head in the shower was broken and the shower was so small you could barely turn around. There were scuffs and marks on the walls and counters. Moving on...the lobby area was dirty and the free "hot" breakfast offered was cold and the breakfast area looked like they have never cleaned it. I saw it and chose to find a restaurant to have breakfast instead. The list goes on about this motel but I'll just say it was WAY below my expectations for being a Best Western branded motel. If you absolutely have to stay in Duluth and this is your only option it's okay, but if given a choice I'd stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
I am very sorry you were so unhappy with your accommodations here during your recent stay, and offer my sincere apologies. The conditions you describe are well below our normal standards, and I will use your review to improve our operation. I hope you will not let this one visit affect your high regard for the Best Western family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I was hesitant about our stay at this motel based on other reviews. I am glad I saw the reviews and were aware of what to expect. The other/new hotels in the downtown area are built on the peninsula/pier area and they charge for being newer ($200 for this weekend), whereas the Best Western was $110 each night. For such a large price discrepancy, I was prepared for the different, my spouse was upset with how much we were paying for each night here. It was obvious the room had been freshly wallpapered, and you could see patches or other things that were on the surface that were just covered up (texture outlines of uneven surface underneath).

The room smelled musty/moldy, and made us wonder what it looked like a few months before. There was one television stand. The fan in the bathroom did not work. We had two bath towels, two hand towels and two washcloths. One of each size was newer and slightly fluffy and the other was basically threadbare. We had a king size bed, the tall dresser with tv on it, a small dresser which doubled as a suitcase stand for us and two beside tables, as well as a table and two chairs. The bedspread appeared to be fairly new as well. The bed was quite comfortable.

That said, the vent in the bathroom probably didn't work because when one looked at it, the vent itself was covering drywall that had about eight one inch drill holes in it. The musty smell combined with two or three dead honey bees in the window was suggesting even with having the hotel room being booked, it still was not aired out before we arrived. The room was non-smoking; however, one could still smell the smoke as people would walk by the a/c unit smoking.

The hotel also does not have enough parking space for all hotel rooms. We were sure to be back early and to park and then walk three blocks down to Superior Street so we'd have a parking spot inside the hotel area. Otherwise, it was parking up behind the hotel in a gravel lot that just screamed, "do not leave anything of any value in your car".

As my title says, this part of Duluth looks to be having a revitalization occurring. From the photo on the front page here, the building just beyond the BW is the OLD Carnegie Library building which is not in use any longer, or so it appeared. The next block contained the old high school, built of the same rock, which we could not tell if it was in use any longer or not. Walking down the various streets was a good way to see a part of the community most never see.

I would not cross this hotel off your list, just be aware of your surroundings, be aware of what you are getting and if you're fine with paying $113 instead of $200 a night for a hotel, then this IS your place!

Rooms are on a main level and an upstairs. No swimming pool, no restaurant, free basic breakfast, though hubby was disappointed there was no chocolate milk.

Room Tip: As for a hotel on the main level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for giving us a chance, and for sharing your detailed comments. We value all guest input and use it to improve our operation. Please accept my apologies for the conditions that you found not up to your expectations. The Carnegie Library (where I used to go as a child) is not in use currently, but the next building over, the old Central High School (where my father went, back in the day), is now the home for the Duluth School Board and some local non-profit and artistic organizations. We are lucky to live in the kind of town that didn't tear them down after they fulfilled their original functions. I hope you will allow us to serve you again the next time you visit Duluth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetek, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I have stayed in many hotel's . This hotel is one of the worse I have seen. The ceiling in the room was wet from a leakage and part of the ceiling fell on the bed. The curtains were ripped and had a hole in them. The whole hotel and the room had a damp musty smell to it. The bed skirt was ripped and stained. The sheets, were wrinkled . I am by no means a picky person. I have been in the military for 22 years. The military has put me up at some bad hotels. But this one tops them all. I would not let my wife nor my mother stay here. We took our losses and stayed at a different hotel. This is maybe a 1-1.5 star. THIS IS DEFINATELY NOT A 2.5 STAR.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
I am very sorry for the conditions you found and for not meeting your needs during your recent visit to Duluth. Thank you for your service to our country and for taking the time to share your comments. I hope you found more suitable accommodations and were able to enjoy our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
332 reviews 332 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 180 cities Reviews in 180 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I selected this Motel for its convenience to the casino and town and was pleasantly surprised to find that it was also very quiet. The room was very clean & comfortable and I slept very well despite facing the road. The breakfast room is quite small (as they often are) but was adequately equipped.
I was here for 4 nights and my only issue was that my bed was not properly made for my last night, but it was not a problem as I had a twin-bedded room, so used the other bed.
Overall, clean, quiet and very satisfactory.

Room Tip: As I was in a central location facing the road and was not disturbed I would guess that most, if not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Downtown Duluth Motel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thanks for staying with us and sharing your comments. I'm sorry your bed wasn't made on your last day, and hope you will accept my apologies. I've shared your review with our housekeeping team to emphasize the need for everyone to do their best job, every day, so this will not happen again. I'm glad you were happy with other aspects of your stay and hope you will let is serve you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Downtown Duluth Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Downtown Duluth Motel

Address: 131 West Second Street, Duluth, MN 55802 (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Downtown Duluth Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A convenient location is what draws many travelers to our Duluth hotel, but it's the hospitality and top quality that brings return guests to us. Duluth hotels are already known for great hospitality, but we go the extra mile to make you feel right at home. Our North Shore hotel has everything you need for a spectacular getaway, like luxury bedding, spacious rooms that are comfortable and cool, and a free daily breakfast. Canal Park and the Lakewalk along the shores of Lake Superior are minutes from our hotel located in downtown Duluth, making it easy for guests to enjoy the beauty of the region. At our Lake Superior hotel, the best of the city is right around the corner. Enjoy downtown shopping or head to Miller Hill Mall for a wide selection of favorite shops. The Blues Festival is a local favorite, but the Grandma's Marathon has runners of all ages coming to town. The Reggae Festival and NorthShore Inline Marathon(R) are also popular events near our Duluth hotel. Whether you're here for Bike MS(R)150 or to visit Bentleyville, a great location can make all the difference. We're also close to hospitals like Essentia Health, St. Luke's, St. Mary's and Miller Dwan, which is convenient for medical patients and healthcare workers in town for business. We cater to a wide range of business travelers at our Duluth hotel. Events at Duluth Entertainment Convention Center (DECC) and AMSOIL Arena draw in tradeshow attendees and presenters from around the country. Local schools, colleges and universities also bring those looking for an extended stay to the property. St. Scholastica, the University of Minnesota Duluth, Lake Superior College, Duluth Business University and the University of Wisconsin Superior are all close to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your The Downtown Duluth Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Downtown Hotel Duluth
Duluth Best Western
Best Western Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Downtown Duluth Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.