We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closest you'll see to a hostel in Duluth.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel
131 West Second Street, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
Ranked #21 of 31 hotels in Duluth
Fort Frances, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Closest you'll see to a hostel in Duluth.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011 via mobile

For the single traveller or backpacker hiking through the area, this is an ideal motel to stay at. It's right in the centre of downtown, and there is easy access to Duluth Transit, and about four blocks from the Skyline Shuttle (minibus to Mpls./St. Paul). The YMCA is 2 blocks away, as is Canal Park and lots of restaurants. The rooms are small, and again, for the single traveller, this is ideal. I typically stay at hostels during my travels, and this is the closest you'll find in Duluth at an affordable rate. Do check the rates during various times and see what they are, as they tend to change.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
I'm so glad you found us and enjoyed your stay enough to write about it, thank you . I remember the security, simplicity and cameraderie of hostel stays and really like your comparison. Please let us know when you will be back so we can welcome you in person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    27
    28
    13
    16
See reviews for
22
27
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
MN
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We were going to town for a concert, and wanted to turn it into a mini-vacation with our adult daughters, so decided to stay overnight. Knowing how hard it can be to find rooms in Duluth on summer weekends, we reserved this one months ahead of time. It was an older "motor court" type 2-story brick motel with a tiny (think San Francisco-sized) parking lot. The room was a basic 2-double-bed with bath arrangement, clean enough but the bathroom grout could use some scrubbing & renewing. It was very noisy-every word, every vehicle, every door-slam in the place echoed through the courtyard & into our room.
For this type of room, I would normally expect to pay about $80/night when we travel, but in Duluth it cost $150 with taxes included. If I had it to do again, I would have paid the extra $30 for a nicer place - with corridors, real parking, and maybe a pool. The only saving grace was the very busy & very personable desk clerk, Reno.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Thank you for staying with us and posting your comments. I'm sorry you were unhappy with the price and welcome the opportunity to make this right, if you want to contact me directly. Reno is terrific, and I'm glad you were pleased with the service you received here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

I stayed at the Best Western on a whim passing through town. I hadn't planned on staying in Duluth, so I was thrilled when I found how affordable the Best Western was (I've stayed a couple blocks away before and paid almost twice as much).

The property had a certain charm to it--its not flashy, and there isn't a pool..but it felt like visiting a grandparents house. I felt safe and welcome.

The staff remembered my name, and every time I saw them they sparked up a conversation with me. The breakfast had a huge variety of items to choose from, too.

I would definitely stay here again, especially with the prices they offer.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Thanks for giving us a chance and for writing your review. I’m so glad you enjoyed your time here and will share your comments with the rest of our team. We look forward to serving you again the next time you are here, or just passing through.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

This hotel is nothing special but it has new beds, bedding, and carpet (which was just laid on top of the old stuff). The bathrooms were not renovated but they were fine. Breakfast was cold cereal, toast, donuts, and french toast and sausage. You can easily walk anywhere touristy - Fitger's, Canal Park, etc. The rate was high in our opinion (it was the Maritime festival weekend) but everything else was even more expensive!

Room Tip: Don't get a room next to a stairway or the ice maker
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Thank you for your review. Duluth has become a popular place, especially in the summer, and even more so during major events, like the Maritime Festival. We’re glad you were able to stay so close to the action, and hope you will consider being a guest here again, the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

Is easy to find. Close to canal park. Good free breakfast. All in all a good deal. I have stayed here several times. Just don't stay in a room next to the ice machine.(It was really loud)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
Thanks for writing & posting your review – making & keeping loyal guests like you happy is very important to us. We hope to replace that ice machine with a quieter one by the end of the year – hopefully it will be installed when you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

This was a discounted winter trip and well worth the money. The room was very clean, heater a little noisy but cancelled out any street noise. The staff was very welcoming and helpful. Needs additional ice machine in the opposite corner of the complex.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, responded to this review, March 5, 2011
Thank you for sharing your comments about our hotel. We are glad you found the service and accommodations to be a good value and we are planning on adding another ice machine to the property this summer. Please let us know when you will be back so we can thank you in person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

When i drove into the parking lot I had a bad feeling,when i entered my room I noticed the bad smell. The wall paper was peeling the carpet was stained but the most disgusting thing was the ANIMAL HAIR ON THE BEDSPREAD. The heater had more dust in it and on it than I would think possible. I have stayed in some dive hotels but expected a bit more from Best Western. I did not stay the night, I told the clerk on duty that there was animal hair all over the bedspread and that I would not be staying. She did not seem surprised. I would rather sleep in my car than catch a disease from this scummy dive.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, responded to this review, March 5, 2011
Thank you for submitting your review of our hotel. We are very sorry that you found the accommodations and service not up to our usual high standards. We will use your experience in discussion and training as we strive to provide excellent service and accommodations to every guest. We are in the process of upgrading many of our rooms, and hope that you will stop in so we can show you the improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel

Also Known As:
Best Western Downtown Hotel Duluth
Duluth Best Western
Best Western Duluth
Address: 131 West Second Street, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 31 hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Best Western, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Downtown Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.