We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experince!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark to your Saves list
Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2400 London Road, Duluth, MN 55812   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
1 review
“Great Experince!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Friendly staff, very observant life guards, we went for 3 days and 2 nights with 4 adults and 6 kids, we had rooms next to each other and had a door that opened up so we could go back and forth. Very kid friendly

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    133
    63
    42
    26
See reviews for
278
26
6
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our family has been here multiple times. We have a blast each time. The staff is really good. If it is in your budget I really recommend a lake view room. After you have fun at the water park you can unwind on your balcony to a great view of the lake.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Charlie444444,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments about your many visits with us. You, and guests like you, make our jobs of providing the best in service, accommodations, amenities and facilities very rewarding. We really appreciate your compliments and look forward to serving you and your family here many more times.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Check in was quick, however, the front desk manager who checked me in did not ask if it was my first time there. He provided no guidance as to where the pool was, where to park or about Tiki Toms breakfast. We were given a room facing the highway. Very disappointing for our first visit. The room was decent, but the bathroom could have used some additional TLC (wiping the floor--eeww gross). Our room was a sweltering 80 degrees, even with the wall thermostat below 50 degrees. The hallway was just as warm. Our windows did not open and would have opened to the hallway anyway.

The "waterpark" was busy as there was a lot of families there for spring break. Towels are available, but you had to hunt for them in a first aid room. I counted two life guards. Two. In the whole water park. One was at the bottom of the slides and the other walking around. The park itself is geared for younger kids. There is a lazy river, pool basketball area, indoor and outdoor hot tub, two slides, and a play area for small kids. There are some cubbies to store personal items and chairs scattered throughout the water park.

Our room never cooled down and we were woken at 7 AM with running outside of our room. Apparently to get the breakfast buffet you have to go by our 2nd floor room. We received some tokens for the arcade--we passed. We also passed on Tiki Toms buffet.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear breeseMN,

Thank you for taking the time to make me aware of the disappointment you had during your recent stay with us. It is our goal to provide our guests with the utmost in service, comfort, cleanliness, value and facilities, and apologize that this was not the case with you.

In the 10 years we've been open we've never once had a body of water that didn't have a lifeguard on it. Not once. If we were short staffed or there was some kind of emergency the pool is closed down. (I cannot remember a time this has happened since we shut down the entire entrance area for the skylight issue in February. The entire pool was roped off with caution tape. There are always at leave 5 lifeguards on duty, conducting vigilant patrol and monitoring, and this number can double depending on how many people are in the waterpark. While our lifeguards do try to be unobtrusive, so as not to intimidate or interfere with everyone's fun, I assure you that the only time when there are less than 5 lifeguards is when the waterpark is closed.

I hope you will give us another chance to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I very much enjoyed my stay at the Edgwater Hotel & Waterpark. The lobby, rooms, and hallways are clean and nice looking. The rooms are quite large and many have a nice view of either the waterpark or Lake Superior. They have all of the usual amenities you would expect to find in a hotel room. The breakfast buffet was good and has a wider variety of food options than in most hotels. They have a nice indoor waterpark that is open year-round. Attractions include a children's play area, a small children's pool, a large spa, a lazy river, a body slide, and a tube slide. Not a huge waterpark by any means, but still fun and enjoyable. Overall, the Edgewater is a great hotel, and I'd definitely recommend it if you're ever in the Duluth area, especially if you have a family.

Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Funfan17,

Thanks so much for sharing your excellent comments about your recent stay with us. We strive to give all our guests the best in service, facilities, amenities and accommodations and are glad to know you enjoyed your time here. We appreciate your compliments and hope you will let us serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our stay was great. Friendly, helpful staff. Room was clean - we stayed in a queen Lakeview patio. Surprisingly quiet - we slept well. Patio was a bonus - great sunrise pics, but that meant being in the basement. Not awful but one side of the hall is all maintenance and housekeeping, and also the elevators are brutally slow.
They used to offer 1 complimentary drink per adult per night in the lounge; now it's a 2 for 1 token.
The breakfast used to be free - now there's a cost; (6.99 adults I believe - unsure of kids price but it was cheap) and it was horrible on the day we went. I was so turned off I barely ate. You can't see the buffet until you've paid and entered. My mistake. If you don't mind powdered convenience foods or have lots of kids or are on a budget then go. If you want a fresh tasty breakfast go elsewhere to eat.
Overall still a great place - teens loved the water park, for me it was the outdoor hottub. We will return.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Shawna13islucky,

Thanks for staying with us again, and for posting your review. I sincerely apologize for the problems you encountered during your experience with us. We are currently taking action in order to ensure the quality of our breakfast is maintained at an exceptional level. I'm glad you and your family enjoyed other aspects of your stay and appreciate you including positive remarks in your review. We hope you get the chance to stay with us again so we have the opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great, great place for the kids. We have 11mo and 4 year old. The waterpark fits all ages.
8" water in toddler section, perfect to sit with baby and watch the other kids. Lifeguards everywhere, they have routes and must pack on the miles. Water warm in toddler section.
Arcade area. Grill has good, easy, kid friendly food. We had a waterpark suite, only disappointed because we thought it opened into waterparks. Room very good size. Decor and condition of rooms little outdated.
Will come again just not a waterpark suite.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Ann A,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and posting your nice review and rating about your stay with us. We value all guest feedback and it is always gratifying when it is as positive as yours. We look forward to and welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is in need of a major facelift. Dirty, dated and difficult to get around once in the door. The layout of our room wasn't good either--Two bed room suite with two bathrooms (bathrooms right across from each other in such a small space is a waste of space). We were hoping for a living space separate from the actual beds. And for what we paid, the beds were really uncomfortable. Need new bedding on the beds and also sofa sleeper should be replaced. The only positives is that the kids liked the water park and we had a nice view of the lake. I also love Blackwoods restaurant across the street, so the location is good for that. It is doubtful I would return to this hotel.

Stayed March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear pols0019,

Thank you for staying with us and posting your candid comments. I am truly sorry for the disappointment and discomfort you experienced here and offer my sincere apologies that we didn't do a better job of demonstrating our commitment to guest satisfaction. We want all our guests to enjoy their time here and take it very seriously when we learn that we've fallen short of delivering the best in service and accommodations. I hope you will reconsider and give us the opportunity to serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark

Address: 2400 London Road, Duluth, MN 55812
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark 3.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the shores of Lake Superior in Duluth, MN, the Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark is your complete Duluth hotels vacation resort destination. Enjoy our indoor waterpark, arcade, outside play area, pool and hot tub, and easy access to Duluth's Lakewalk and restaurants. Relax in a comfortable and clean room with all the amenities and views of Lake Superior. Whatever you're looking for, you'll find it here at the funnest hotel in Duluth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Hotels.com, TravelClick and Expedia so you can book your Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Resort And Waterpark
Edgewater Resort & Waterpark Hotel Duluth
Edgewater Hotel Waterpark
Duluth Edgewater
Edgewater Hotel Duluth
Best Western Edgewater Duluth Mn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.