We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark to your Saves list
Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2400 London Road, Duluth, MN 55812   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place for kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

My family includes a five year old and a three year old. My boys love to go to A Day Out With Thomas every August. The past two years we have stayed at The Edgewater. It's the perfect hotel for families with small kids. This year we had a room on the third floor with a patio and a great view of the lake. We were able to watch the ships. I feel like the furniture is a bit dated, but that's not why I stay here. The room was clean.
I found the hotel to be clean. It's a fairly expensive hotel, but you are paying for the amenities. Where else can you stay with this waterpark, outdoor pools, outdoor park, a bounce house, mini golf and an arcade? The exercise room is fantastic. What a view! On Fridays and Saturdays they play a movie outside by the pool this is pretty cool!
The cons? The in room coffee was horrible. Each time I went by the new coffee shop in the lobby (3 times) there had a sign up that they had stepped away. I went to Dunns Brothers across the street. (No big deal) Sunday night was a bit loud out in the hallways, but it didn't bother us. You have to remember this is not the hotel for you for business travel. It's all kids. I had promised my kids ice cream all day. At 8pm we went to the tiki cafe and my kids point to the ice cream they wanted (the posters were up showing all the favors) and we were told they only had one out of about 8 flavors left. Please put up notice if you run out. (Again I'm not saying this ruined our trip)
The waterpark is fantastic! Lots of space, warm water, warm towels and attentive lifeguards. They have life vests for use.
We will be back again next August. My five year calls it "our vacation home." They love it, and my husband and I have a good time with our boys. Thanks

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Joydancer23,

Thank you for your many visits and for taking the time to write and post your nice review. We take a great deal of pride in our people and operations and endeavor to deliver a terrific experience to every guest. I'm glad you know you can count on us for a clean and comfortable stay and appreciate your compliments. I'm sorry we let you down about the coffee and ice cream and offer my apologies for the disappointment and inconvenience you experienced. I will share your comments with our team so they can make any necessary changes to their procedures. We value your business and your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back and serving you and your family here again.


Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    120
    57
    34
    20
See reviews for
241
25
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Frances, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

I booked the hotel for myself, husband and 2 year old. Silly me, I called on a long weekend, but the girl was still friendly and patient. I was instantly impressed. I asked to rent a crib, just for ease of travelling. I got a reminder e-mail promoting the breakfast, so I called and had it added to the room. Again, very friendly. I was super excited! This is about 3 hours from our home, and check in is at 3. I called at 10 en route, and explained that my toddler needed a nap and if there was any way we could check in around 1 (since check out is noon, I didn't see this as unreasonable, and was willing to pay a little extra if needed). The manager jumped on the phone and said it wasn't impossible, but call when we get closer, and he'd put our room on a rush. We came in at 1:30 to check in, and instantly, I felt like just another number. I re-told my conversation, and I got a snooty"we can't guarantee a room until 3" end of discussion.
So at 3:03, we walked in to check in (I was a little miffed, but I'll get over it) and the girl had to radio a cleaning lady to make sure our room was done (thank goodness that manager put a rush on it...) when we got to the room, the crib wasn't there. I called down and I did politely ask(honest, I didn't have a hint of annoyance. I didn't want my trip ruined over a nap), and I got a snotty "it's already on the way" we made our way down to the park, and by 5 it still hadn't shown up. Yup, I was upset at this point.
That aside, you are just another body here, the breakfast is a continental breakfast you have to pay for and where our room was, would have been quicker to get to the Perkins next door, and for a little more, would have been more satisfied. My little one had fun, and slept great. The room amenities were great. Oh, and the breakfast I pre-ordered never was added when I called, but they didn't double charge, so that's a plus.
My four stars are based on what we made it and the room/water park amenities. If it was solely based on staff interactions, I would never stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear liskeardlady,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write and post the details of your recent experience with us. A good stay begins with an efficient reservation procedure providing the accommodations you expect. I am sorry that we did not deliver as we promised and apologize for the inconvenience and frustration we caused. You can be confident that we will follow-up on your concerns so that others are not disappointed as you were. We want our guests to be met with a well-trained staff that puts guest comfort and satisfaction before everything else, and take it very seriously when we learn of any guest disappointment. If you would like to discuss this further, please contact me at kenjacobs@zmchotels.com so we can show you our dedication to guest satisfaction.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed for 1 night and loved the experience .As grandparents we had 2 grand daughters to entertain and the Waterpark was the perfect place. It was lots of fun and the breakfast was wonderful.Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: On the 2nd floor the balcony over the waterpark was useless because of a large pipe that ran across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Lorna M,

Thank you for staying with us and posting your comments. It is always gratifying to receive guest feedback especially when it is as positive as yours. We look forward to and welcome the opportunity to serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Was charged extra fees when told we wouldn't because we booked a year in advance. Internet did not connect at all. Loud people all hours of the night. Didn't clean the room for 3 days until asked. Outdoor hottub did not work. Breakfast no longer goes with the room have to pay extra now. Did not get the room that was promised to us. We have stayed in this hotel many years and have never been more disgusted than this year. We will definitely find a new place to stay from now on. The motels down in Canal park are the same price and cheaper than Edgewater is.

Room Tip: lakeside is the best if you are able to get there early enough to get lakeside.Then you can watch al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear cmlistul23,

I am very sorry you were so unhappy with us during your recent visit and offer my apologies for the disappointment, discomfort, frustration and inconvenience you experienced. We are sorry we did not live up to the standards that you are used to from us and would like to make amends. Please contact me via kenjacobs@zmchotels.com so we can discuss this further.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed here August 1-3. The hotel was nice and the staff were generally friendly, but I felt the layout of the hotel was not very good and that the staff, although friendly, were not very intune with what a family-friendly place should be like.
If you have a child with a stroller this place is very inconvenient and it is hard to get to the elevator from the first floor lobby as you have to go up a flight of stairs. We were fine as my child is older, but I saw a lot of parents struggling to get to the breakfast buffet, which was really far away from the main building. When we checked in we were put into a room right next to the conference center and I learned there was a band playing there the next night until midnight. This would not work for me and my 3-year-old and I felt the staff should not have put us in the room in the first place knowing there would be music there. We had to move the next day, which worked out OK but was a bit annoying as it required me to pack and put all our stuff into a luggage cart. Not what you want to be doing in the morning on a short weekend trip.
Overall the place was clean and staff attentive, but not as intuitive for creating a good experience for families as they should be given their clientele. I would not recommend staying here to anyone who has multiple children and/or needs a stroller and doesn't want to walk far due to the poor design of the buildings. Also they advertised free wifi but my tablet did not work the whole trip.

Room Tip: Bes sure to ask if you're staying next to the conference center on a weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear 74NRO,

Thank you for taking the time to write and post comments about your recent stay with us. I am sorry you didn't have a better experience here and apologize for the frustration and inconvenience we caused. We are looking at making significant changes to our physical layout because it is difficult to navigate and get around. Our team should have been more attuned to your needs and I will share your review with them so we can make improvements to our operation. I hope you will stay with us again so you can give us another chance to demonstrate our dedication to guest satisfaction on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

At this hotel I always have a blast. With a huge waterpark, buffet breakfast and plenty of outdoor activities I always try and stay here whenever I come to Duluth. Although I haven't been here in a couple years, it has started to become more pricey to stay there. It used to be a great place to get a good bang for your buck.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Nathan J,

Thank you very much for your many visits and for posting your nice review about your experiences here. I'm glad you know you can count on us for an enjoyable stay with plenty of fun things to do. We look forward to serving you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Enjoyed our time with many activities for the kids. The breakfast buffet was nice with lots of choices and a good value! The lady tending the lounge area in the evenings was super nice and friendly!!! Waterpark was clean and water was warm. Loved our view of the ships on the lake from our room balcony.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Funwithmama,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and posting your nice review. We value all guest feedback and it is always gratifying when it is as positive as yours. I'm glad you and you family enjoyed your time here and we really appreciate your recognition of jobs well done by our team. We look forward to and welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark

Address: 2400 London Road, Duluth, MN 55812
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark 3.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the shores of Lake Superior in Duluth, MN, the Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark is your complete Duluth hotels vacation resort destination. Enjoy our indoor waterpark, arcade, outside play area, pool and hot tub, and easy access to Duluth's Lakewalk and restaurants. Relax in a comfortable and clean room with all the amenities and views of Lake Superior. Whatever you're looking for, you'll find it here at the funnest hotel in Duluth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Resort And Waterpark
Edgewater Resort & Waterpark Hotel Duluth
Edgewater Hotel Waterpark
Duluth Edgewater
Edgewater Hotel Duluth
Best Western Edgewater Duluth Mn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.