We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great For Kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark to your Saves list
Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2400 London Road, Duluth, MN 55812   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
204 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great For Kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This hotel is a little spendy as compared with others. However, the waterpark and the putt putt golf is worth it. The waterpark has a couple of big slides, a lazy river, a big bucket and play area for kids, a hot tub, and a water basketball and rock walk area. You can order pizza and food and eat it near the pool. The putt putt is free. The course is old and a little worn out, but you can play it again and again. They also have a decent gameroom if you are into that.

The hotel rooms were a little worn out. Also, the breakfast area was not big enough and the food was below average.

However, the main reason to stay here is certainly the waterpark, which is very nice. My kids definitely are begging to go back, if that tells you anything.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear TNDisneynut,

Thanks for staying with us and posting your candid comments. It's wonderful to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time at the waterpark and playing putt putt. We will use your valuable feedback as we review and make plans for changes and improvements here. We look forward to hearing from you again during or after your future visits.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    149
    80
    57
    35
See reviews for
333
28
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I booked this trip for 4 days for myself, 12 year old son and my mom. We loved our stay so much we stayed for day 5. Hands down this hotel had it all for adults of all ages and kids! We will definitely go back. The central location was so ideal!!! Also to be said, a BIG thanks to Ryan at info desk outside he was so pleasant and helpful!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear bradste,

Thanks for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us. We're thrilled to learn that you and your family enjoyed your time here and that you extended your visit. We are proud to offer a wide variety of activities and amenities and I'm glad you took advantage of so many things. Ryan is terrific and inspires all of us to do our best with every guest every day and I'll be sure he receives the positive recognition he deserves for being mentioned here by you. I hope you will be our guest again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hancock, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

My girlfriend and I came up to Duluth for a family event but wanted our own space to sleep. I wanted something overlooking Lake Superior and close to East Duluth. I was a little apprehensive about staying at the waterpark as I thought that it would be really noisy and we wouldn't get any sleep. I was definately wrong. We got a first floor room overlooking the lake. It wasn't the best view as it was ground floor but the room definately made up for it. It was a King room that was very clean and it had a hot tub and fireplace! Not once over the busy weekend did we hear kids running down the halls or "elephants" stomping above us. The pool was busy and we took a few turns down the slide but the great room and view made the trip. Everyone we walked into were friendly and helpful and wanted to make sure we had what we needed. The new exercise room was great for our morning workout and the view was awesome. The coffee shop actually had great coffee. I was very impressed. It was just the quiet weekend on the lake we needed to get a way and relax. Great Job Edge Water Park!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Jason M,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your private getaway, and for taking the time to write and post your wonderful review about your recent stay with us. Everyone here works hard to deliver a higher quality guest experience than our competitors, and we really appreciate your compliments and recognition of jobs well done by our team. We look forward to welcoming you back and thanking you in person the next time you are here.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This hotel is amazing, if a little expensive, but totally worth the money. Our room was great and super clean, the hotel staff was super nice and the breakfast buffet was cheap and super yummy. My kids LOVED the waterpark and wanted to be there every second and the lifeguards were super great and made me feel like my kids were super safe. I had never been to Duluth before and this hotel was easy to locate and had lots to do in the surrounding area. Wonderful place to stay for kids and adults alike!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Anessa H,

Thanks for staying with us and posting your great review. It’s guests like you that make our jobs of providing the highest standards of cleanliness, service and facilities very rewarding. We are very proud of our people and appreciate your recognition of jobs well done by our team. I'm glad you and your family enjoyed your time with us and in Duluth and hope you will be our guests again the next time you are here.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

The waterpark is great and the lifeguards are so vigilant that I was able to relax and not worry about my grandkids. They loved it! The hotel had upgraded our room to a 2 room suite which was clean and comfortable. The hotel is next to the freeway so if you are on the balcony you have the freeway noise but the view of Lake Superior helps compensate. Ordering pizza while in the waterpark was convenient. The breakfast buffet is a bargain----and it is a full hot breakfast.
We went mid-week so prices were more reasonable and it was not too crowded. We will definitely go again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Kathy L,

Thanks for staying with us and posting your nice review. I'm glad you and your grandchildren were able to relax and enjoy you time here, and that you will be our guests again. We look forward to welcoming you back and serving you during your future visits.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The hotel is weirdly laid out....one part looks like a run down motel and then it connects to the waterpark/new hotel portion. The main "Big" elevator is on the total opposite end of the hotel from check in and it's like a maze to get from check in to the 2nd floor on the new side of the hotel when you have a luggage cart.

Our hotel room was lake view in the new part and was large in size, king bed with pull out sofa. Unfortunately out hotel room wreaked of dog urine:( I called and they came and cleaned the carpet while we were gone and we came back and the floors were soaked and they didn't bring any fans to dry them and it didn't solve the problem.

Breakfast buffet is far from a buffet, more of a continental breakfast. I'd go to Perkins right next door for food. Parking is sparse because of multiple sports teams that stayed at the hotel and people bringing along campers and trailers which takes up more spots.

Location was great. Amenities were nice, outdoor pool, putt-putt, nightly movie at the pool, arcade, waterpark with full snack bar and beer, coffee shop, and nightly bonfire with marshmallows. Life guards were very very attentive!!

Would stay again during the week to get cheaper rate. $200+ is way over priced.

Room Tip: Pets are permitted at the hotel and room 1222 WREAKED of dog urine!! Walk across the the skywalk ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear gavemmom,

Thanks for staying with us and taking the time to write and post your thorough review. I'm truly sorry we did a poor job of resolving the smell in your room and hope you will accept my apologies for the discomfort and inconvenience you experienced. I assure you that we will address the odor in your room immediately. I'm glad you were happy with other aspects of your stay and appreciate you including those comments in your review. I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The waterpark was nice and clean, but small compared to other water park hotels I have been to. The lifegaurds were very attentive. The mini-golf is in need of repair. We stayed in the "tower" part of the hotel with an outside patio. Rooms were smaller than average hotel rooms but were fine. Not much of a view on the ground floor due to trees. The breakfast is not free but a very good value. It was delicious. A good place to stay if you are traveling to the Duluth area with kids.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear BelleStemie,

Thank you very much for staying with us and posting your nice review. We value your business and your feedback, and appreciate your compliments. I hope you will stay with us again on a future trip to Duluth.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
2.2 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#4 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
3.8 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth
2.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark

Address: 2400 London Road, Duluth, MN 55812
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark 3.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the shores of Lake Superior in Duluth, MN, the Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark is your complete Duluth hotels vacation resort destination. Enjoy our indoor waterpark, arcade, outside play area, pool and hot tub, and easy access to Duluth's Lakewalk and restaurants. Relax in a comfortable and clean room with all the amenities and views of Lake Superior. Whatever you're looking for, you'll find it here at the funnest hotel in Duluth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and TravelClick so you can book your Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Resort & Waterpark Hotel Duluth
Edgewater Resort And Waterpark
Edgewater Hotel Waterpark
Duluth Edgewater
Edgewater Hotel Duluth
Best Western Edgewater Duluth Mn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.