We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark to your Saves list
Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2400 London Road, Duluth, MN 55812   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not that great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Well me start by saying that the hotel staff was nice. We had to travel on business and spent Christmas in Duluth, Minnesota. When we first arrived to the hotel, we had to wait in line to check inn, the check in line was long, but I understood, this hotel is very busy. I felt the hotel layout was not that great, we got lost trying to find our way to our room. We only need 3 tickets, and had to purchase 4 tickets anyway, the front desk representative stated they only sell tickets in 2 or 4 packs. Since we were traveling with my daughter, we wanted to make it fun for her, so we chose this hotel. The room was nice, and we had a great view. the amenities are were decent. I was not impressed with the breakfast. I felt with the rate we were paying that it should have included a hot breakfast and not a continental breakfast..

We visited the waterpark resort, of course my daughter had a great time. The pool water was very cold, and the hot tub was luke warm. To purchase the tickets w/o the hotel was very pricy. I have visited several waterparks, and this waterpark is very overpriced. The snack bar was great. I did notice that lifeguards were all over the park. I will not be back.

Room Tip: My daughter enjoyed the hotel. I wish I did for the amount of money I was paying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear fruityandnutty1,

I'm sorry you were unhappy with us during your recent visit and offer my sincere apologies. We want to provide all our guests with excellent service, accommodation, facilities and amenities at a reasonable price, and take it very seriously when we fall short. We would like the chance to make amends and hope you will contact us via kenjacobs@zmchotels.com so we can continue this discussion personally.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    123
    60
    38
    24
See reviews for
258
25
5
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We went to the water park for a quick one night stay...as with other visits in past years, we had great service from our reservation to check out! The staff is always friendly and helpful, rooms are clean and well appointed, the lifeguards are very attentive and the water park is fun for a variety of ages. It's a handy location in Duluth as well. We will definitely be back. Thanks for a fun trip!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear juliekramer,

Thank you for your many visits and for taking the time to post your great review. I'm glad you know you can count on us for a great stay and glad to know you had a fun time here. We look forward to welcoming you back and thanking you in person the next time you are here.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

VERY attentive lifeguards, always on the move and focused. Family bathroom right in the waterpark and life jackets for kids. Our 3 young kids had a blast, and so did their 2 parents! Had a great stay Jan 1-3, highly recommend, and for sure will be back

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear momto3oys,

Thank you very much for your recent visit and for taking the time to post your comments and 5 star rating. It is always our pleasure to receive guest feedback especially when it is as positive as yours. We value your business and your feedback, and really appreciate your strong recommendation. We look forward to and welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurley, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
278 reviews 278 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My wife and I made a reservation at the Edgewater as a Christmas present for our kids. We live about two and a half hours away but our kids were excited to get out of the told and do something warm so we headed for Duluth.

When we arrived, we were shocked to find that the front desk staff was wearing winter hats and jackets. After coming in from the cold, we realized that there was no heat in the lobby. We really did not think much of it but it was extremely cold inside the motel. As we walked towards our room, we noticed that there was not much heat anywhere but we decided to push on.

We arrived at our room at it was freezing so we cranked the heater up on high. Usually when you do this in a hotel, you pay in a few hours with extremely hot conditions but we were lucky to make 60 degrees after having it on for 12 hours.

We next made our way to the water park and found that it was not only freezing but most of it was closed... Most of the people that braved this were sitting in the hot tub and there was no room for any one to sit. We were assured that the entire water park would be up and running in 20 minutes and it never did open that night.

If that would have not been so irritating, as I was checking my email, I noticed that I received an email from an Aveda Spa that is located in the city. The only way that they could have got my email address is that the motel must have sold them mine. To me, there is nothing lower than a lodging facility selling email addresses. This is totally unacceptable.

This all could have been very simply avoided with a phone call to us, telling us the conditions of the waterpark and motel but they must have just been looking at profitability and not guest retention. Hopefully they will get things resolved but the way things were handled when we stayed were terrible.

Room Tip: If you have small children and you have to go back to forth to your rooms during your time in the wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear DonandLisaFromUSA,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and for making us aware of your disappointment during your recent stays with us. As you've probably seen this December has been one of the coldest in Duluth history and unfortunately this caused issues with our air exchange units for a 24 hr period. Even though this issue was fixed the afternoon of your checkout we know this didn't change your vacation and for that we apologize. We'd also like to discuss this further with you directly and hope you will contact us via kenjacobs@zmchotels.com so we do what we can to make amends.

On a side note, we DO NOT, have not, and will not ever sell a guests personal information including email addresses. We suggest you contact Aveda Spa directly in Duluth with your concerns as we have no affiliation with them.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metairie, Louisiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights and the kids (ages 6 and 3.5) slept great. They were completely worn out by the waterpark - which is great because its hard to get them tired in Duluth during the winter. The rooms were clean and plenty large; breakfast was normal for a hotel of its price. We will definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Troy H,

Thanks for posting your great review about our hotel and waterpark. We're very happy you like us and what we do here, and that you'll be coming back to stay with us. We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogilvie, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Having a waterpark in this part of the state at a low enough rate is great. But when it was 30 degrees below zero and my car wouldn't start it could have meant the whole trip was a disaster. But the front desk staff and bellman that offered to jumpstart my car so I didn't have to pay for a tow company to come and do it upon our leaving at the end of the trip not only saved the trip but made it an over the top success. Thank you Edgewater. We will return. 100% guaranteed.

Room Tip: All rooms are great but they offer lakeview rooms or waterpark view rooms. Make sure to ask for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Kevin K,

Thank you very much for posting your excellent comments and 5 star rating. Its guests like you who make our jobs of providing the highest standards of cleanliness, service and facilities very rewarding. We are very proud of our people and appreciate your recognition of jobs well done by our team. We look forward to welcoming you back and thanking you in person the next time you are here.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Minnesota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed in the main tower of the Edgewater Resort. We had a blast at the waterpark. Fun for all ages. The hotel was clean, room was comfortable, and the staff was really nice and friendly. They had a lot of great amenities like free wifi, free breakfast, microwave and refrigerator in the room, and on site food. We will definitelygo back!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Katie K,

Thank you very much for your kind words and 5 star rating regarding our hotel and the amenities you enjoyed while staying here. It is always our pleasure to receive guest feedback especially when it is as positive as yours. We look forward to and welcome the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark

Address: 2400 London Road, Duluth, MN 55812
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark 3.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the shores of Lake Superior in Duluth, MN, the Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark is your complete Duluth hotels vacation resort destination. Enjoy our indoor waterpark, arcade, outside play area, pool and hot tub, and easy access to Duluth's Lakewalk and restaurants. Relax in a comfortable and clean room with all the amenities and views of Lake Superior. Whatever you're looking for, you'll find it here at the funnest hotel in Duluth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Resort And Waterpark
Edgewater Resort & Waterpark Hotel Duluth
Edgewater Hotel Waterpark
Duluth Edgewater
Edgewater Hotel Duluth
Best Western Edgewater Duluth Mn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.