We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Water park is great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark to your Saves list
Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2400 London Road, Duluth, MN 55812   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Metairie, Louisiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Water park is great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights and the kids (ages 6 and 3.5) slept great. They were completely worn out by the waterpark - which is great because its hard to get them tired in Duluth during the winter. The rooms were clean and plenty large; breakfast was normal for a hotel of its price. We will definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Troy H,

Thanks for posting your great review about our hotel and waterpark. We're very happy you like us and what we do here, and that you'll be coming back to stay with us. We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    120
    57
    34
    20
See reviews for
241
25
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ogilvie, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Having a waterpark in this part of the state at a low enough rate is great. But when it was 30 degrees below zero and my car wouldn't start it could have meant the whole trip was a disaster. But the front desk staff and bellman that offered to jumpstart my car so I didn't have to pay for a tow company to come and do it upon our leaving at the end of the trip not only saved the trip but made it an over the top success. Thank you Edgewater. We will return. 100% guaranteed.

Room Tip: All rooms are great but they offer lakeview rooms or waterpark view rooms. Make sure to ask for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Kevin K,

Thank you very much for posting your excellent comments and 5 star rating. Its guests like you who make our jobs of providing the highest standards of cleanliness, service and facilities very rewarding. We are very proud of our people and appreciate your recognition of jobs well done by our team. We look forward to welcoming you back and thanking you in person the next time you are here.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Minnesota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed in the main tower of the Edgewater Resort. We had a blast at the waterpark. Fun for all ages. The hotel was clean, room was comfortable, and the staff was really nice and friendly. They had a lot of great amenities like free wifi, free breakfast, microwave and refrigerator in the room, and on site food. We will definitelygo back!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Katie K,

Thank you very much for your kind words and 5 star rating regarding our hotel and the amenities you enjoyed while staying here. It is always our pleasure to receive guest feedback especially when it is as positive as yours. We look forward to and welcome the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerwood, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

First of all, I must say that we have stayed at this place many times for many years now. It was NOT a waterpark when we first stayed. We have seen many changes through the years. This stay was just the 2 of us, so not really interested in the waterpark. We did use the hot tub for just a little while after going out to dinner......It was so loud that you could not have a normal conversation. Maybe offering an adults only time from 10pm to 11pm would an idea for them? This was a Sunday night, so I would think there would be less kids....but the last few years (we always stay on a Sunday night and go Christmas shopping) the number of children there on a Sunday night has really grown. Next, is the water...the chlorine smell burns your nose to breath in the waterpark and we showered both down at the waterpark before heading to our room and when we go to our room, and our skin actually had burns on it...large patches of bright red skin all over! That should be checked...I can't imagine the children that are in for hours!
The rooms are pretty small, but it is nice to have the sofa to sit on. We always have a room in the main building and like the ones with a deck. This visit found the room VERY cold. We kept turning up the heat, but it could not keep up with the cold outside temps.....the cold air blowing in around the Ptac unit was totally unacceptable! It needs some insulation! Needless to say we were cold all night. The one flimsy blanket on the bed was a joke. I should have called for more blankets, but we thought for a one night stay we would just deal with it. We had to have socks on in bed! The tub drain hardly worked, no heat in the bathroom and the toilet didn't like to flush. You had to hold the handle down.....all and all, it was not a pleasant stay and we hardly slept.
Also I agree about the 7.99 facility fee.....what did I get for this?
One other observation is that the front desk staff has a cold job...with the doors opening they appear to be cold and not extremely friendly. Put a big heater over them maybe?

Room Tip: Keep in mind that all rooms are pet friendly so if you have allergies this might not be a good place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear TamaraJP,

Thank you for your many visits and for taking the time to write and post your candid comments. I am very sorry for the discomfort and inconvenience you experienced, in the pool area and your room. We welcome and value all guest feedback and use it to make changes and improvements to our operation, with the goal of making all our guests happy they decided to stay with us.

A facility fee is a required daily fee of $7.99 to cover the costs associated with providing the highest level of service for our guests. Included in this fee: daily guest newspapers (available at the front desk and breakfast area), pool towel service, use of fitness center, business center, local phone calls, in-room coffee, high speed internet, weekend and holiday kids' activities, Outdoor pool/ play and movie area (seasonal), Outdoor spa open year round, Complimentary bikes (seasonal), 2-$1.00 arcade free play coupons, and discount coupons for local attractions and Edge outlets. Complimentary Shuttle (8am to 9pm first come first served basis), Housekeeping gratuities are not included in this fee and are at the discretion of our guests.

If you would like to discuss this further, please contact me via kenjacobs@zmchotels.com at your convenience.

Best wishes to you and yours for a terrific 2014.

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stayed in a two-bedroom suite with five grandkids (1 king bed, 2 queen beds and a sofa sleeper). Can be loud in the water park but, an excellent time for kids. They have recently raised their rates, so isn't as reasonably priced as it used to be. Nice rooms along the lake on upper floors.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear charms1951,

Thank you for taking the time to post comments about your recent stay with us. We believe 0ur pricing is in line with similar properties and we feel that we offer good value given our central location and extensive facilities. We value your business and your input and hope you will give us another chance to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Mankato, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in the spring, during a snow storm. The water park was a nice contrast to the weather outside. The room was clean, charming, had a fridge and microwave. The bed was very comfortable. The view from the balcony was stunning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Jennifer M,

Thank you very much for staying with us and posting your comments. I'm glad you were happy with the service and accommodations we provide, and that you enjoyed the view from your room during the snow storm this spring. I hope you will let us serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Definitely not worth the money. The owners should call the facility a "motel" instead of a hotel since many of the rooms only have outdoor access. The water park is decent but loud and has limited seating. And there is not a restaurant as much as what I would call a snack stand that serves pizza and other fast food type items. I would recommend reading the fine print when booking. Our room, which was over $100 was clean but outdated and did not include a microwave or WiFi. Surprising for over $100. The $7.99 facility fee is not worth it, especially in the winter when you cannot use many of the facilities. Our room only had outdoor access. Walking outside in the cold to get waterpark is not wonderful with children. Walking BACK to the room with WET kids in winter is awful. For $125 stay ($100 plus tax plus utility fee) I strongly suggest staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear taracross79,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and for making us aware of your disappointment during your recent stay with us. We welcome all constructive criticism and use it to improve our operation. I hope you will continue to let us know how we are doing on future visits.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark

Address: 2400 London Road, Duluth, MN 55812
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark 3.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the shores of Lake Superior in Duluth, MN, the Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark is your complete Duluth hotels vacation resort destination. Enjoy our indoor waterpark, arcade, outside play area, pool and hot tub, and easy access to Duluth's Lakewalk and restaurants. Relax in a comfortable and clean room with all the amenities and views of Lake Superior. Whatever you're looking for, you'll find it here at the funnest hotel in Duluth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Resort And Waterpark
Edgewater Resort & Waterpark Hotel Duluth
Edgewater Hotel Waterpark
Duluth Edgewater
Edgewater Hotel Duluth
Best Western Edgewater Duluth Mn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.