We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I had a wonderful stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark to your Saves list
Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2400 London Road, Duluth, MN 55812   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
North Mankato, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I had a wonderful stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in the spring, during a snow storm. The water park was a nice contrast to the weather outside. The room was clean, charming, had a fridge and microwave. The bed was very comfortable. The view from the balcony was stunning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Jennifer M,

Thank you very much for staying with us and posting your comments. I'm glad you were happy with the service and accommodations we provide, and that you enjoyed the view from your room during the snow storm this spring. I hope you will let us serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    114
    51
    33
    19
See reviews for
226
24
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
minneapolis
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Definitely not worth the money. The owners should call the facility a "motel" instead of a hotel since many of the rooms only have outdoor access. The water park is decent but loud and has limited seating. And there is not a restaurant as much as what I would call a snack stand that serves pizza and other fast food type items. I would recommend reading the fine print when booking. Our room, which was over $100 was clean but outdated and did not include a microwave or WiFi. Surprising for over $100. The $7.99 facility fee is not worth it, especially in the winter when you cannot use many of the facilities. Our room only had outdoor access. Walking outside in the cold to get waterpark is not wonderful with children. Walking BACK to the room with WET kids in winter is awful. For $125 stay ($100 plus tax plus utility fee) I strongly suggest staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear taracross79,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and for making us aware of your disappointment during your recent stay with us. We welcome all constructive criticism and use it to improve our operation. I hope you will continue to let us know how we are doing on future visits.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

has a great water park going down the slides made me feal like a kid again . then the rooms were amazing with views of the lake and was close to down town. couldent have asked for a better time . cant wate to come back !!!!!

Room Tip: get a room by the pool to enjoy that to its fullest
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Michael S,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post your comments and 5 star rating about your recent visit with us. I'm glad you enjoyed yourself here, and we appreciate your business. I hope we can serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Mananger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This hotel is great for a short weekend stay or just overnight for families with young children to young teens. The Waterpark has enough activity to keep them busy for a good portion of the afternoon and evening, they have attentive lifequards. Overall staff was fantastic, from the front desk to housekeeping, they always had smiles and were willing to assist with each of our needs. The rooms are on the cheaper end, adequate, ours had a mini fridge and microwave. Plenty of restaurants in the area. This is not meant for the business traveler. I did notice that they also had a large unit of motel type rooms seperate from the waterpark hotel. You can get a premium room which faces the waterpark or better yet, get a room that faces the lake and watch the boats come in to the harbor and the sunrise across the lake.

Room Tip: lake facing so you can see the boats.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Jim N,

Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to share your candid comments about our hotel, which, I agree, is better suited for families, although we do have all the amenities that a business traveler would need, including complimentary high speed internet, a complimentary business center, in room work desks, and a fitness center. i'm glad you were happy with the service and accommodations we provide and hope you will let us serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eveleth, Minnesota
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Everything about this stay made up for the minor things that were wrong with the last stay my family had. The staff was super friendly. We stayed in the water park view room and it was nice and surprisingly quiet. The water slides and lazy river were shut down to what I'm assuming was a code brown. It made the other portions of the water park very cramped but they were reopened very swiftly! Great hotel, great staff and great water park.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Mark C,

Thanks for coming back to stay with us and for posting your great review and rating. We value your input and your business and really appreciate your understanding. I hope we can serve you here again soon.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Alabama
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My room was perfect. I was traveling on business, so I didn't have time to use the pool areas. I was able to watch the fun that others were having at the pool. You can watch the water park from the breakfast area. The staff always went above and beyond to make my stay great!

Room Tip: Love the balcony rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear tparks2012,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments about stay with us. It’s guests like you that make our jobs of providing the best in service, accommodations, amenities and facilities very rewarding. We really appreciate your compliments and hope we can serve you again soon.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amylou62
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Very clean pools, very attentitive lifeguards, my 8 year old had a great time in the pool. My 2 year old had an OK time however the area he wanted to be in the most - the area with the play structure - has a gigantic bucket at the top and every so often, the bucket dumps a gigantic amount of water all over the structure. He HATED this. Not only did it scare him but it was forceful enough to knock him over. I don't think this bucket is wisely placed - why have that over the area where the littlest kids would play? This bothered me. The pool is very clean, however and the lifeguards are always watching, which felt good. The hotel is OK - the rooms could use some updating - the bedding was very worn out. The rooms aren't soundproof AT ALL. We were in the area closest to the waterpark and facing Lake Superior. The view was amazing...the sound from the highway all night long was difficult to sleep thru...as was the kids running up and down the hall well after 10pm. Breakfast was a little disappointing...no hot food - basic cereal, donuts, muffins, toast, fruit, yogurt, bagels...my kids didn't mind but I would have liked to see some scrambled eggs or something warm. My main issue was that there was no milk or cream for coffee and we waited over an hour for someone to restock. After a night of poor sleep, coffee was necessary.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Amylou62,

Thank you for posting your candid comments about your recent stay with us. We value all guest feedback and use it to make improvements to our operation. I am truly sorry that you were disappointed in your room and the breakfast and hope you will accept my apologies. I'm also sorry you were disturbed by noise at night and understand your frustration about the lack of coffee creamer & sugar after a sleepless night. I hope you will let us serve you here again so you can see this was the exception rather than the rule. If you would like to discuss this further, please contact us via kenjacobs@zmchotels.com.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark

Address: 2400 London Road, Duluth, MN 55812
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark 3.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Resort & Waterpark Hotel Duluth
Edgewater Resort And Waterpark
Edgewater Hotel Waterpark
Duluth Edgewater
Edgewater Hotel Duluth
Best Western Edgewater Duluth Mn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.