We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great - just too busy when we were there” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark

Save Saved
You added Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2400 London Road, Duluth, MN 55812   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Midwest, USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great - just too busy when we were there”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed there this week and mostly had a great time. The room (1383 - a suite) was very clean and comfortable. The water park was great fun and well supported with attentive lifeguards. It was bigger than expected and the kids really enjoyed. The location of the hotel is good, but know that a lake view includes the northernmost point of I-35. It was very crowded because it was a school vacation week in MN, too crowded, and they weren't adequately staffed to handle. The staff who were there were very nice and tried their best, but they couldn't handle the large volume of guests. Also, the prices were reasonable for Tues and Wed nights and very high for Thurs and Fri nights. I suppose that's supply and demand as with most hotels. We'd definitely go back, just during a less busy time period.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear parisusaparis,

Thank you for staying with us and posting your candid comments. We will take your review into consideration as we work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will come visit us in the future.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    99
    46
    29
    13
See reviews for
205
20
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Prague, Minnesota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Our family had a great time at this hotel. Our room was conveniently located close to the water park, arcade and snack bar which made it easy. The staff was very friendly and attentive. The children were very impressed that each time the cleaning staff cleaned the room they made an animal out of the towels. There is a outdoor walkway from the hotel to the lake. We spent a couple hours playing on the rocks and taking beautiful pictures. Our family will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear TheShoes150,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write and post your very first TA review about your recent stay with us. I'm glad you were happy with the service and accommodations we provide and really appreciate your recognition of jobs well done by our team. Your business means a great deal to us and I hope we can serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porter
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

.I was satisfied with the hotel after being moved from the first room they assigned to us. It was the old part of hotel that is separate from check-in area across the parking lot, it was old and dirty. I immediately asked to be moved and they accommodated me right away. It did cost me $25.00 more a night. It is a good value if you use the water park passes. The pool was fun and was very clean. Breakfast was great, I appreciate how well stocked it was and that there was fresh fruit. We had a sick 2 year old one morning and housekeeping was so kind and helpful to us. We would stay again on our next trip.

Room Tip: Stay in main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Judy D,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments about your recent stay. I'm glad you were happy with our response to your request, and that you were able to enjoy many of the amenities we offer here. I hope everyone is feeling better and that we can welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The price was good compared with other locations nearby. The view of the lake is nice. The water park - we skipped that. The breakfast - go down the street. Really, try the Great American Bakery.
Parking is a challenge at this hotel. Overall it is an average stay and getting well worn and in need of remodeling. The staff is well trained and did their jobs well. Stay here, you can do worse.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New River, Arizona, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We went here for the waterpark but were really surprised by how many other things The Edge has to offer and for fun. We loved the arcade and the mini golf. The room was clean and we slept great. Didn't love breakfast so we walked to Perkins each morning and were able to order exactly what we each wanted. It was a close, convenient option. The hotel, the staff and all they offer were perfect for us! Loved the shuttle to Canal Park!

Room Tip: I personally like the lake view rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Kelly K,

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay with us. We want all our guests to have a good time while they are here, and be happy they decided to stay with us . I'm glad you were able to relax and enjoy yourselves, and appreciate your nice review and rating. I hope we can serve you here again soon.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The waterpark is fantastic for kids. However the hotel itself needs a major revamp. It is not at all clean and although the staff is really nice, I would definitely suggest staying somewhere else! I would never, ever recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Tricia C,

Thank you for bringing your family to the Edgewater and posting your comments. I'm truly sorry we didn't live up to your expectations and would like to learn more about your stay. Please contact me via kenjacobs@zmchotels.com so we can discuss this personally. We value all guest feedback and use it make improvements. I hope you will contact us soon.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for nearly 2 weeks having travelled from the UK. Our older son has joined The College of St Scholastica for the next 4 years and we would certainly stay at the hotel again when we travel back to Duluth. The whole staff team are very friendly and professional, nothing was too much trouble. The rooms and other areas were very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the facilities that were available, particularly the bike loans (free of charge) and the outside pool. We used the water park a couple of times but found ourselves too busy seeing the sights and shopping!! We made use of the bar a few times (always good after a day out) and there are plenty of places to eat nearby. The hotels shuttle service to restaurants is also great, and very accommodating with requested times. This hotel is great value for money and perfectly located to enjoy surrounding areas.

Room Tip: Nice to have 2 rooms (we had for second week, so my 14 year old had some space) and a balcony becaus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear ascotstokies,

Thank you for writing about your extended stay at our hotel. We value all guest feedback and really appreciate your positive review. Please continue to let us know how we can make you comfortable on future visits to see your son at CSS. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark

Address: 2400 London Road, Duluth, MN 55812
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Duluth
#13 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick and Venere so you can book your Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Resort & Waterpark Hotel Duluth
Edgewater Resort And Waterpark
Edgewater Hotel Waterpark
Duluth Edgewater
Edgewater Hotel Duluth
Best Western Edgewater Duluth Mn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;