We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun water park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark

Save Saved
You added Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2400 London Road, Duluth, MN 55812   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great fun water park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights with our 3 kids. They had a blast at the water park as did we. Cons; check in took 35 mins which was pretty ridiculous as it was spring break and it might have been a good idea to have more than 2 front desk staff due to the holiday! Otherwise a good stay and hotel has everything you need.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thanks posting your comments about your spring break stay with us. I am sorry about the wait you experienced, and offer my apologies. We are always looking for ways to improve and appreciate your input. I hope you will give us another chance to serve you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    98
    46
    28
    13
See reviews for
203
20
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had a 3 year old and two 6 year-olds with us for spring break and they had a blast. They are already begging to go back to the Edge for spring break next year. The waterpark is a perfect size for young children and they loved the arcade. It was cold this visit, but it's even better in warm weather because of the inflatable bounce house and slide and mini golf. It's nothing fancy, but it's perfect for an inexpensive getaway with younger children.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thanks for making your very first TA review about your recent stay with us. I'm glad everyone had a good time, and hope to see you here again as soon as the weather improves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Great mid size water park. Ideal for 4-10 set. Loud hallways down on the pool level, but that would be a parent problem not a hotel problem. Park did get a little over crowded but it was spring break. Great experience for our first visit. Nice location in a great city to visit.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thanks for choosing to stay with us and posting your comments. It is easy to provide excellent service during off-peak times, and I really appreciate your understanding. Our aim is for every guest to have great service, every time. Thank you for your comments; they help us improve our service. I hope you stay with us every time you come to our explore and enjoy more of our great city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We have stayed here a few times. We have 4 kids so we get the suite. Generally found it very clean, quiet, nice. This time we got a more expensive suite right across from the arcade. The room was terrible. No window, in the basement, low ceiling felt claustrophobic. It was clean with the exception of dirty Kleenex in the bunk bed and they didn't put sheets on that bed. I'm picky about cleanliness and this hotel was kept clean everywhere with the Kleenex exception. The other bad thing about this room is for 4 days every morning from 7:00am to 9:00 like clock work we had floods of kids and their parents yelling, running screaming outside our door. Can I say brittney and Brayden and your nana and papa and parents you are very loud! Yes we could hear names and conversations- it echoed. We also know when kids did well in the arcade the bells going off was not my idea of atmosphere. If you, like my older kids, wanted to sleep in the rooms by the arcade and water park are not for you. I HATED our room but that was all we could get. Way too overpriced for these rooms. The water out of the faucet came out cloudy so bring bottled water. If that was all we could get next time we would not go. Get a room above ground with a few of the lake. This particular trip was a huge disappointment because the room should have been a large storage room not a $175 guest suite. We will have to figure out if we want to go back or not. We way overpaid for this room. Waterpark is better for the 4-10 age group. 2 slides one with tube and the body slide that scratched my son and really scraped my husbands back up on one slide, I would be very careful on that slide or avoid it all together. Breakfast is good. One day they had closed down one of the lines by 9:30 so there was a long line to get food. They run out of breads, bagels by about 9:30 so go alittle early. The free breakfast is breads, bagels, cereal, fruit, yogurt, oatmeal packets, coffee, juice, milk. Hey it's free.

Room Tip: Do not, repeat do not get a room in the basement. Rated sleep quality poor as every morning it was s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your many visits and taking the time to share your recent experience here. I am truly sorry you were disappointed in us and hope you will accept my apologies. We do have a wide variety of room types and locations and it is clear that this time we did not meet your needs. If you would like to discuss this further and give us a chance to make amends, please contact me via kenjacobs@zmchotels.com. I hope you will give us a chance to regain your trust on a future visit to Duluth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

If you believe you get what you pay for, then know that this hotel is just that! It is a friendly place with a water park the kids love! The price is fantastic and you WILL create lasting memories with your family!

The rooms are not fancy, the toilet is clean but the room is worn. The check-in can be rough during holidays and spring break. However, we are here for the water park and we had access to the pool even when our room was not ready. So think ahead about putting those suits on the top of suitcase.

The life guards are SOOO attentive! We visited during spring break and it was crazy busy and they are all over it! Of course you should be carefully watching your kids, but I feel extra safe with the life guards at Edge!

Imagine the price of a water park for 4 (>120) plus a hotel (100). And then take a look at staying at Edge! Our well appointed room for 4 was 160. Clearly less and much more convenient.

I will say, this is not my dream hotel or my dream vacation, but my kids are so happy, I can't help but give them a very good review!

Room Tip: Tiki Rooms overlook the pool which closes at 10 and are quieter/ more noise insulated than I expecte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you very much for posting your comments about your recent stay with us. It is always nice to hear from our guests when they have are happy they chose to stay with us. We want all our guests to have an enjoyable stay and thank you for your kind words. We look forward to serving your family here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brighton, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We enjoy bringing our kids to the edge at least once a year and always have a good time. The staff is always friendly. This week in particular we came up for a visit. Our boys brought their WII to play and it would not work on the tv that was in our room. I spoke with a very helpful gentleman at the front desk who right away listened to my concern and went out of his way when he didn't have to, to find us a room that was the same with a tv that would work for our boys. That made their stay!! They were elated. Not only changed our rooms for us but called the next day to make sure everything was ok and if the room was working out for us. What a great experience!!! Thank you Willie!!!

Room Tip: Our kids enjoyed being on the first floor close to the arcade and waterpark!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thanks for your many visits and for taking the time to share your comments and 5 star rating. I'm glad you know you can count on us for a great stay, and really appreciate your kind words. Willie is one of our best and I'll be sure he receives the positive recognition he deserves for being mentioned here by you. We look forward to the next time we can serve you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mound, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We went for a one day get away with the granddaughters and their parents. We had a great time in the waterpark. The girls ages 2 1/2 and 5 had plenty to do. The lifeguards were very attentive and made everyone feel safe. Our room was very nice with a great view of Lake Superior. The staff was very helpful with all our questions. The only thing we were looking for was a restaurant attached to the hotel with a full menu for dinner. We did enjoy the continental breakfast in the morning. All in all we will be taking the whole family back again for a longer stay to enjoy everything Duluth has to offer.

Room Tip: Rooms in main hotel with lake views have a little balcony with chairs to sit and enjoy the view of L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thanks for making your very first TA review about your recent stay with us. I'm glad you and your granddaughters had a good time here and that you will be our guest again. We look forward to welcoming you back and sharing more of Duluth and our area with you the next time you are here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark

Address: 2400 London Road, Duluth, MN 55812
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Duluth
#13 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick and Venere so you can book your Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Resort & Waterpark Hotel Duluth
Edgewater Resort And Waterpark
Edgewater Hotel Waterpark
Duluth Edgewater
Edgewater Hotel Duluth
Best Western Edgewater Duluth Mn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgewater Hotel & Waterpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.