We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room and view but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on Gitche Gumee

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Inn on Gitche Gumee
Save Saved
You added Inn on Gitche Gumee to your Saves list
8517 Cogdon Boulevard, Duluth, MN   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great room and view but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Overall its a beautiful room (The Wolves Den)..Clean and cozy. Excellent view of Superior. . When first ariving, its extremely cluttered on the property and in the gift shop the same. We were ready to run..Dumpy looking if you know what I mean. When we got to the room it was perfect. Cozy fireplace, clean and roomy with a rustic home feeling. Very nice. It would make a world of difference if the grounds were cleaned up. Unfortunately a pipe broke and we had no water all day either, which didnt help. In the ad they make it sound as if they will have wine or flowers in your room ready for when you arrive. We thought that was a nice touch. When we arrived in our room, no such luck. We called and asked and she said they could go get us some and wanted to know how much WE wanted to spend on it.
Hahah. We feel they need to explain that better on their website. Very misleading..
In all we prefer this over a standard motel room in town, but we might look elsewhere to see what we can find. Hopefully they can clean up a bit to get more business. Oh and about the smell that I read about in other reviews... It was an overwhelming smell of orange like Gojo. Probably hiding the smell that others discussed. But I cant say for sure, but Very strong gojo for those with sensitive noses.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    8
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
10
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The room we stayed was lovely, the view was fantastic, and served breakfast in our room was delicious.

The odd part is communication. We asked to reserve the room in Novemeber for May. We wanted to pay at that time. We had given our card number for reservation. They did not charge it. We actually forgot about it. They in February or so, they suddenly charged the card with out notice left us scrambling.

After our one night stay, a week later they charged our card another $21, for what? We never did find out why. They didn't notify us or return our call. When we checked we couldn't find anyone either, even as we called them in the office, the phone rang as we stood there, but no transfer or anything. Very odd arrangement.

It was a real nice place if you can put up with their way of doing business.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centuria, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I have stayed at this Inn several times through the years. My first was before they tore down the old cabins back in 1992. Then it was reasonably priced and very welcoming. Today they have fancy two-story cabins with minimal parking behind. A giant garden is laid out in front of the cabins. When I stayed there the last time breakfast was not provided but coffee and hot chocolate were available.

The rooms are each very unique with beds made from birch and homemade quilts. It is very cozy. Our room had a sliding glass door that was a bit testy whenever we tried to use the key and the owners were not always available when we needed them. In fact, we had some difficulty checking in and out because they were not in or near the gift shop. This was frustrating because finding a restaurant in Duluth for breakfast takes a lot of time when you are as far north as this Inn.

One huge plus was the thunderstorm that rolled in one night during our stay. It was great to be able to push the curtain aside of that sliding glass door and was the lightening illuminate a couple of barges that were out on Lake Superior.

I am not sure the service makes it worth the price but the rooms are great so if you can stay there just one night, do so.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with a kitchen and make your own meals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The room was so cozy and welcoming... and the views.. stunning. Breakfast was brought to our room in a basket and had danish's, muffins and juice. The Inn has more of a bed and breakfast feel which was a nice change from the chain hotels we've stayed at in Duluth. The bed was so comfortable, it had a well stocked kitchen and the area is quiet even though the North Shore Scenic Drive is directly out front. I have recommended this as a place to stay for many friends and family. The only drawback is being so far out of Duluth and having to drive to all activities and restaurants. But if you're looking for a peaceful, comfortable retreat... this is your place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

A lovely little place right up scenic hwy 61. Very cozy and quaint. Views of Lake Superior right out your window! Only bummer was some lumpy pillows. Would be a good place for couples, families, or friends! The owners make and bring breakfast right to your door the next morning...pancakes and omletts! YUM! Some rooms apparently have whirlpools, ours did not. Our bed was a four poster bed made with birch tree branches--very northwoodsy and beautiful. good place to cozy up in the winter months! Floor board heaters were slow to heat the room, but kept it quite warm after the intial heat up!

Room Tip: Call and ask about their rooms. The room we stayed in had a queen bed and futon in one area, and ano...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Bar, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Actually I would rate this property 3 and a quarter stars as it not exactly average but I feel it does not justify a "very good" rating for the following reasons: It's not really a B&B as they may have coffee available in the morning (even the Best Western does that) on the outside terrace but only served a "real" breakfast" once during our 3 day stay. Too bad since the omelet and pancakes were quite delicious.

Our room, the Anderson Suite was kind of cute and very clean but is suited for couples sharing the bed and don't mind a tight fit in the bathroom. Also, I can't figure out why but there is a bizarre half wood half linoleum step along the outside of the bathtub which if you aren't careful you could stub your toe or trip over. Same type of bizarre step up into the very small walk in closet. Design flaw? And there was not enough light going up and down the staircase leading to our suite at night and the staircase leads down to a little dark area in the back of the building. The bed was made daily and dirty towels were replaced daily which was a pleasant surprise but its hard to find anyone around the place when you need something. Sometimes they answer the phone other times not and no one is ever minding the office/gift shop. I had to leave a day earlier than some of my other relatives and I could not find anyone to settle my bill in person and I found that very inconvenient. Lake views from the property are very nice. Some rooms have whirlpool baths but not ours. The bottle shop about a mile north on the left has excellent selection of liquor and the folks who run it are very helpful and friendly!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I had to cancel a reservation because of medical reasons--I presently am not able to fly from Utah to Minnesota. While the cancellation was 2 weeks in advance of the scheduled visit, the Inn people charged me !5% of my deposit (15% of $154 ~ $24). Seems more than a bit excessive to this traveler.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn on Gitche Gumee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Gitche Gumee

Address: 8517 Cogdon Boulevard, Duluth, MN
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Inn On Gitche Gumee Hotel Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on Gitche Gumee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.