We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming accomodations with lots of character” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on Gitche Gumee

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn on Gitche Gumee
8517 Cogdon Boulevard, Duluth, MN   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
Navarre, Florida
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Charming accomodations with lots of character”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The Inn is located on the scenic North Shore Drive between Duluth and Two Harbors. The rooms are all decorated with a specific theme. We stayed in the Loon's Nest on the second floor. The room was spotless and had an amazing birch bark four poster bed, fireplace, kitchenette and great view of the lake.
Pros
Great view
Unique and charming decor
Good amenities (TV, hair dryer, dishes, alarm clock, fireplace).
Clean
Loads of character. This is not a Motel 6.
Price for the area was moderate.
Cons
Road noise in the daytime.
Small bathroom.
Access to room difficult due to stairs and decking and railing in need of repair.
Only got breakfast one day; uncertain why none was delivered on day 2.
Cleaning (fresh towels etc) was not done until requested.

Room Tip: If you have accessibility issues, don't choose a room on the second floor. These are definitely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    8
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
8
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eagan, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We have been traveling to the North Shore for over 20 years staying at various hotels in the Lutsen area (2 1/2 hrs north of Duluth). When we found this Inn so close to Duluth, we decided to try it. We were delighted and surprised with how close it is to Duluth yet seems totally immersed in the woods. The view of the lake is GREAT. We were immersed in natures beauty with bald eagles flying overhead and the humming birds visiting the bountious flower garden on premise at the inn. We loved the bond fire each nite at their fire pit. The rooms are created with a authentic north woods decor with rich wood. The rooms are spotless. Julie and Butch are great Inn hosts. We too received a delicious breakfast served to us at our cabin. We definitely will be returning. This is our new North Woods destination. Darcy and Dan Thompson

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper leve corners are bigger and view is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert Lea, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

If you have allergies don't stay here! Planned our stay here 2 months in advance. Online reviews were good. Unfortunately you can not smell a room 300 miles away! We arrived after 6pm Sat. 7/28. Spent an amazing day at Gooseberry Falls Park. So excited to pull in when we arrived it looked like pics online. Until we stepped out of the car. Beautiful gardens are full of weeds. Appeared as someone began to pull some and left dead weeds laying on ground. Bag of potting soil just thrown in yard. A note was left on office door for us welcoming us and directions to our room "the Hideout". On way to room noticed unkempt overgrown trees covering walkways. So many cobwebs all over. ick! When we arrived to our room we opened door and immediately smell musty wet basement odor. I am very allergic and we searched for what was so stinky. The curtain adjacent to door was yellow like it had been wet and dried and black dots...MOLD!!! My husband called Julie immediately and told her of our discovery. She said she was at the lake with family and unable to return. ???? My husband asked where we could put curtain it needed to be removed. My husband took shower curtain and hung it so we would have privacy. The curtain removed was covering the entire front window for privacy. We had hoped to use jacuzzi in room and would need to cover that glass doorway for privacy. We went to dinner returned after 11pm. The smell still there. We investigated further..trying to find where smell came from. It was the carpet. Right in front of door way. we at that time noticed water damage at base of front door. Thankfully the bedroom had makeshift door that closed..we turned up A/C and tried to get some rest. We knew the area was booked up all over. And when we put down our deposit our receipt read no cancellations. I woke at 3 am with itchy ears and sore throat. We were outta there by 515 am. Hubby called Julie and she said she would call "when she woke up". She did not call. We returned to the Inn at 11 am. Kindly introduced ourselves and she had attitude. Said "ohh i seen you made coffee and showered". Yea there was no way I was going to leave for day with getting ready not knowing what we were going to do or where would stay. I asked her to please rectify situation. After taxes she gave me $14 and some odd change. The rate for our stay was $174 before taxes. I truly hope she used the $$$ for a Rug Doctor. Julie you need to fire the gardener/ groundskeeper. The room has so many unfinished projects like no frame around bathroom door and tile with no grout in some areas. For the price they are asking to stay a night..that is just ridiculous! When we returned to speak to Julie we entered the office/gift store and immediately smelled wet, musty, basement. How can they not smell that??? Cannot believe no other reviews mentioned this. This place could be great...needs TLC and some deep cleaning.

Room Tip: maybe 2nd floor is better. Not as much water damage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Of the lodgings along the North Shore we have seen and lived in, this place is special in every sense. We immediately felt at home due to the fantastic hosts. Julie greeted us with warmth. "The big man in the garden" (Butch) served us juicy breakfast the next morning with great humor. The rooms are cozy and clean. We dwelled both on the terrace outside and in the beautiful garden with perfect view to the impressive Lake Superior. A short drive up the road is a fine restaurant with great food at decent prices. Thanx to Julie and Butch for making two Norwegians feel like we belonged.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

I've been taking trips to the North Shore for most of my life and this is the first time I've stayed at The Inn on Gitche Gumee. We had a charming north woods suite with a fantastic lake view. The birch log bed frame (and the bed was very comfortable) and loon decor of 'the Loons Nest' suite was charming. The Inn is a close drive from Duluth and the value superb compared with the areas hotels. The best surprise was the owners (Butch) delivery of breakfast which was cooked to perfection. The Inn is not a drive by - plan accordingly and stay as long as you can.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lino Lakes, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Close to Duluth yet escape the city. Location on Old 61 puts you close by many other outdoor attractions. The location is across the road from Lake Superior but don't let that bother you if you want to be near Duluth. Most locations on 61 are across the road from the lake. If you want to be on the lake, try another location

Rooms are quaint but quirky. Theme decorated that is cute but can be a bit overwhelming. Bed was awesome, breakfast was delivered to our room one of the mornings. Yummy. Friendly husband and wife owners. Very helpful.
Cons: Lack of storage. A few hooks would be nice to hang coats etc. No real place to put luggage.

We were there in the winter, can't wait to return to see the gardens in the summer

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central california
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Initial impression of our group was, what is this place? But after enjoying the creativity of the owners, who made much of the furniture and fixtures in the rooms, and after enjoying the delicious breakfast and marveling at the flowers, waterfall and gardens in front of our cabin, we give it a high rating. You will enjoy it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn on Gitche Gumee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Gitche Gumee

Also Known As:
Inn On Gitche Gumee Hotel Duluth
Inn On Gitche Gumee Hotel
Address: 8517 Cogdon Boulevard, Duluth, MN
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on Gitche Gumee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Inn on Gitche Gumee to your Saves list