We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, decent accomidations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Suites Hotel in Canal Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added The Suites Hotel in Canal Park to your Saves list
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   325 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Alexandria, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great location, decent accomidations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We had a great time in our suite, could use a little updating... but worked just fine for us. Nice, big, open rooms that helped us relax our weekend away! They are also pet friendly so we were ok spending just a little extra for the place.

Room Tip: 3rd floor had a decent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    84
    45
    36
    16
See reviews for
98
73
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

Very spacious place and comfortable beds! There were some furniture pieces that were a bit worn but it was fine for us as we were just a one night stay in the area. Full kitchen and was stocked with fiesta ware dishes. Would be a great place to stay if it was an extended stay for a group, family or two couples. The condo could be easily shared. Only bummer or negative to us is that there is no water view so it is located int the canal park area but no lake side rooms. Ended up not mattering as it was located near great dining options and the boardwalk for the lake was a quick walk away. We will stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I booked this hotel as friends were overnighting there on a drive home. I was unsure as the room had no window but the price of $109 plus taxes was very reasonable. We entered thru the bedroom which was not huge but a fair size. It had a TV off to the side which meant laying down on your side to watch it or sitting on the edge of the bed.The bathroom was off of the bedroom and was a standard hotel bathroom (tub/shower combo,not overly large ) The kitchenette was in the next room. There was a very well used couch against the wall ,a small work desk was by the door.There were plug in for your electronics.I did have issues connecting to the internet and went to the front desk to ask about it. The girl was on her 1st day so she wasn't very helpful. It did work when I tried again but it was not a very good internet connection , It was extremely slow.The TV in this room was on the wall beside the couch ,so again you had to crane your neck to watch it. There was an apartment size fridge in the room ,a dishwasher ,a microwave and a 2 burner cooktop. There were dishes and glasses for 4 in the cupboards. A pitcher to make juice a couple of pots. There was a coffee maker to. I did notice the only mirror was in the bathroom,which was a let down as I usually put on my make up when my husband is in the shower. The free Breakfast was great. There was lots to choose from. (pancakes,make your own breakfast burritto,bagels toast,waffles,fruit juices coffee) I am sure anyone could find something they would like. The coffee was out all day which was nice. They have a parking lot across the street from the hotel ,you display a ticket in your window to park there. Canal park is a really nice place to stay. We walked the area saw sailboats coming into the harbour ,browsed shops and stopped for ice cream. I will stay here again when I visit or do another stopover again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Spent one night 8/2/14 at this hotel. AT $225/ night this should be a first class property. Its not! First you are paying for location and while similar priced venues have waterfront views here you get a busy street or a parking lot with a 50 foot freighter behind it. Hallways and rooms are dingy and poorly lit signs to rooms and layout are convoluted so you must follow a maze to your room. This place is a converted warehouse and it looks it . It starts with parking not only is it inadequate but there is no drive up entry way to drop of your bags front or back and no one to assist, so you are forced to tote all your luggage across the busiest street in Duluth. Upon check in no one asks you do you need help with your bags.
So we arrive at the room , again terrible layout two rooms but you have to negotiate a corner hallway between them. There was a couch in the living room it was stained, had two holes and was broken down. The furniture is cheap paper laminate. The coffee table had a large scratch on the top, real inviting. The bath was furnished just a cheaply a formica tub kit that had mold in the seams. Thankfully we only had to spend one night here the rub is what we had to spend for that night. With so many other places to stay you would think the management be more on top of things. SAVE YOUR MONEY DON'T STAY HERE!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed in a 2 BR condo; having a second bathroom was a bonus. The space was clean and HUGE; the partial view of the lake an unexpected treat. The only bizarre quirk was a two person whirlpool tub in the middle of the living room (in a unit that sleeps 8, really?). The pool was warm and pool towels plentiful. The complimentary hot breakfast buffet was typical of most we've experienced. Our space was very quiet, free from both interior and street noise. The location is fantastic, walking distance to the lakewalk, maritime museum, restaurants and play in Canal Park. Parking right across the street. We'll stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

The staff and facilities were excellent as we helped plan and attend our son's wedding in Duluth. Especially helpful was the front desk manager, Jeremy, the maintenance employee, Kelly, and the entire housekeeping staff who came whenever we needed additional clean ups. The internet connection was not as strong as it has been on past visits, but the front desk staff worked to improve these problems expeditiously. My entire family attended the event and were impressed with the accommodations offered at this site. Easy to reach and access to many of the Duluth attractions.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window over the street, although any rooms are acceptable. Even the interior r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

The room was huge and the kitchen was nice - initially we loved it! But at 5 am the garbage or recycling truck came and woke everyone up when they loaded cans or bottles. The crashing and crushing seemed to go on forever. At 6 a crane came and beeped nonstop. By 7 there was clanking outside. The walls are paper thin, and we could hear everything going on next door. The second night was more of the same - starting at 5 am again. The noise even woke up the deep sleepers in the group. I had read the reviews here about how quiet it is and felt like we were staying in a different hotel or something. Maybe quiet if you have no neighbors and are staying in an interior room (with no windows). Would recommend for the breakfast, large rooms, kitchen, and pool. Would avoid due to noise, the long and seemingly never-ending hallways (terrible when you have a family with a lot of stuff), and the inconvenience of having to go around back if you have a wheelchair or stroller due to stairs.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Suites Hotel in Canal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Suites Hotel in Canal Park

Address: 325 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Suites Hotel in Canal Park 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Suites Hotel in Canal Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel In Canal Park
In Canal Park Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;