We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older style rooms, great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Suites Hotel in Canal Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Suites Hotel in Canal Park to your Saves list
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   325 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Sparta, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Older style rooms, great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Stopped in while on a trip and this is within walking distance to the water, It has a pool, whirlpool, restaurant, all located inside. Connected to them is an Old Chicago (pizza/pasta/beer), parking in front and behind building. Staff very helpful and offered coupons for local places. Breakfast included with stay, good selection for food or drinks and sightseeing. We are glad to have stayed here, if back in town we will stop again.

Room Tip: Our room faced the Irvin Ore ship (museum) 2nd floor very nice, But if you stay on the other side yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    89
    47
    38
    18
See reviews for
106
74
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I guess it all comes down to the old saying "you get what you pay for" . My husband and I decided to vacation in Duluth solely on being able to get a hotel room for as close to $100 as we could. We were successful in finding 2 hotels that met our criteria and actually booked both until we could decide. We read other reviews and finally cancelled our other booking even though it was a cheaper rate for an equal type of hotel. (We wanted to try something new) I had read many of the reviews and was careful to book a room with a window as this hotel is unique and has many rooms that are interior without windows. I decided to call and confirm the booking 2 days prior to the visit just to be sure everything was set especially since I had not yet received my email confirmation. I called and confirmed and was assured the room had a window. When we went to check in, we were told that the room that was booked was an interior room (no window). After explaining that I had not booked that room and had even called to confirm, she told me there were no other rooms available for us at that rate. (She suggested the people who had served me on the phone had done things incorrectly) I expressed my disappointment at which time she went to the room behind the front desk to talk to a woman at a desk to see if they could do anything. (I am assuming this was the manager behind...she never once came out to address the issues and kept sending the front desk person out as a messenger) When the girl came back she offered us a 2 room suite but said we would have to pay $45 more per night for it. Since we had booked dependent on price...we were not wanting to increase our nightly rate. (FYI-We travel to Duluth often as we live relatively close in Canada...rooms in Duluth more than double in price during the summer months which is why we were concerned with price.) We then asked if we could go look at the room they had booked for us without a window since we at this point had nowhere else to stay. When we returned to the desk she made us another offer of the 2 room suite for and additional $25 per night but since we were not interested in paying additional money for our stay we opted to just take the wrongly booked room in the interior. The rest of the stay was ok. It was clean and the air conditioning was excellent. The beds and pillows were comfortable and it was nice to be able to have a table to eat at when we ordered dinner in. The location was good but there was nothing that blew us away though and the breakfast was just ok. We have tried out a variety of hotels in Duluth as we travel there at least 4 times a year. This was our first time at The Suites and we will probably not return. Because the check-in was so disappointing it was hard to recover. I thought it was terrible that they admitted the person helping me had obviously booked incorrectly and blamed it on his inexperience. They said they would use my experience to teach him what to do next time. I felt it was a very pass the buck solution that didn't help me out (the client) at all or solve the problem in any way.

Room Tip: The interior rooms have no windows and the lighting is quite dim. Choose a room with a window unles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barstow
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Everything you could want in your room we had. Awesome King bed with 5 pillows, loved it. Two TV's a full kitchen with large frig, dishwasher, loveseat that makes into a bed. Had one of the best breakfast we had on our trip and we stayed at 7 hotels. Our room was a city view room so we did have a window, we overlooked the harbor. We did get lost on our way because we put in North Lake St not South Lake. So we called the hotel and an extremely nice young lady named Sara stayed on the phone and gave us turn by turn directions to the hotel. Totaly Awesome Hotel would love to stay again.

Room Tip: Had a city view room which has a window. Interior room don't have a window and if they are as ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The Suites Hotel in Canal Park was a great place to stay! The hotel was formerly a warehouse, and offers quite the unique experience. The rooms are huge, with a separate bedroom and living room. There was even a kitchenette in the room! The rooms were spacious, comfortable, and clean. The pool was fun to use. The free breakfast was good, and offered many choices. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel has a great location, just down the street from the Lift Bridge and a short walk from Canal Park and Lake Superior. We had a great view overlooking the William A. Irvin museum ship and downtown Duluth.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

First off, people staying here need to realize that this is an old building, so it will not have 'new' features. Do your research prior to arriving and you will not be disappointed. With that being said, this hotel is fabulous! My husband and I stay here whenever we are in Duluth. What you get for the price isn't even close to comparable to other hotels in the area. You get your own mini-kitchen, and that alone has saved up $100's of dollars in savings by not going out to eat for every meal. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. We have had no problems with staying here and always leave being very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

As organizer of a local gaming-con, I want to make a positive impression on our guests who come in from out of town. That's why I've made sure to always involve the Suites in our plans when it comes time to reserve room blocks.

The rooms are all spacious, and I've never seen such a terrific kitchen area with a full sized fridge while traveling. No two rooms are quite the same. Comfortable beds, and practically across the street from the DECC. Great breakfasts, and a welcoming staff who is very accommodating and thoughtful.

My favorite hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed June 10th-12th, 2014 here during a family vacation and will not hesitate to stay here again. Booked a two-bedroom suite on line in March and was upgraded to a two-bedroom Jacuzzi suite upon arrival. Desk staff was okay at check-in but a little reserved when asked questions about parking, restaurants, etc - the hotel could really use a concierge in addition to help the desk staff focus on their functions.

(One note on reservations - book as early as you can if you want any suite for a Thursday, Friday or Saturday night - three months was not enough time so we had to reconfigure our driving vacation to stay Tuesday and Wednesday nights).

Parking was free but a challenge to find a close spot at times in areas where we would not ticketed/towed. Key is to try to find a spot on the west side of the building away from Lake Street in the "white line" area (Be sure to have the staff give you the most up to date information). This is also the best place to unload your luggage after check-in since there is no parking on Lake Street in front of the hotel and parking in front is across the street - crossing the street without luggage was challenging and could be next to impossible at times. Another challenge with parking is that there is a construction company officed on the top floor of the hotel so you are competing with their company trucks and smaller equipment for the back-side parking spots. That said, there are enough things to do within walking distance once you find a spot you should stay in it.

The suite we stayed in was almost too big for the three of us (my wife and I, and my father-in-law). The suite and individual bedrooms were comfortable and clean! Only two rooms with natural light were the two bedrooms - rest of the suite had adequate lighting but could have used more.

Besides the construction offices in the building mentioned before, the building also contains a number of other private offices, personal residential condos, and three restaurants - Timber Lodge Steakhouse, Red Lobster, Old Chicago Pizza - all of which allowed us to charge to our room. Many other places within a 2-3 block walk including the famous Grandma's Saloon & Eatery, and the Canal Park Brewing Company.

The hot morning breakfast was good - nice seating areas for enjoying the breakfast in a loft area overlooking the pool and lobby. Good be challenging for older or mobility impaired individuals to enjoy that area since there is not ramp or elevator to get them up the 20 (+/-) stairs. We did not have a chance to use the pool or exercise room but heard fro others that they were good.

Overall a good hotel in a great location at a great price! We will be visiting again!

Room Tip: Book early, and try to get corner rooms if you want more natural light. Try to get a harbor side roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Suites Hotel in Canal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Suites Hotel in Canal Park

Address: 325 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Suites Hotel in Canal Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Suites Hotel in Canal Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel In Canal Park
In Canal Park Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.