We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large Suites in Historic Warehouse, Great Location at a Good Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Suites Hotel in Canal Park

Save Saved
You added The Suites Hotel in Canal Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   325 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Fort Collins
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Large Suites in Historic Warehouse, Great Location at a Good Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed June 10th-12th, 2014 here during a family vacation and will not hesitate to stay here again. Booked a two-bedroom suite on line in March and was upgraded to a two-bedroom Jacuzzi suite upon arrival. Desk staff was okay at check-in but a little reserved when asked questions about parking, restaurants, etc - the hotel could really use a concierge in addition to help the desk staff focus on their functions.

(One note on reservations - book as early as you can if you want any suite for a Thursday, Friday or Saturday night - three months was not enough time so we had to reconfigure our driving vacation to stay Tuesday and Wednesday nights).

Parking was free but a challenge to find a close spot at times in areas where we would not ticketed/towed. Key is to try to find a spot on the west side of the building away from Lake Street in the "white line" area (Be sure to have the staff give you the most up to date information). This is also the best place to unload your luggage after check-in since there is no parking on Lake Street in front of the hotel and parking in front is across the street - crossing the street without luggage was challenging and could be next to impossible at times. Another challenge with parking is that there is a construction company officed on the top floor of the hotel so you are competing with their company trucks and smaller equipment for the back-side parking spots. That said, there are enough things to do within walking distance once you find a spot you should stay in it.

The suite we stayed in was almost too big for the three of us (my wife and I, and my father-in-law). The suite and individual bedrooms were comfortable and clean! Only two rooms with natural light were the two bedrooms - rest of the suite had adequate lighting but could have used more.

Besides the construction offices in the building mentioned before, the building also contains a number of other private offices, personal residential condos, and three restaurants - Timber Lodge Steakhouse, Red Lobster, Old Chicago Pizza - all of which allowed us to charge to our room. Many other places within a 2-3 block walk including the famous Grandma's Saloon & Eatery, and the Canal Park Brewing Company.

The hot morning breakfast was good - nice seating areas for enjoying the breakfast in a loft area overlooking the pool and lobby. Good be challenging for older or mobility impaired individuals to enjoy that area since there is not ramp or elevator to get them up the 20 (+/-) stairs. We did not have a chance to use the pool or exercise room but heard fro others that they were good.

Overall a good hotel in a great location at a great price! We will be visiting again!

Room Tip: Book early, and try to get corner rooms if you want more natural light. Try to get a harbor side roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    71
    42
    31
    15
See reviews for
89
61
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We love The Suites at Waterfront Plaza...truly a royal experience in being home away from home. In November we drove into Duluth with no plan..we stopped here and there asking for vacancies and hotels that we went to were booked solid and were just not that friendly to an old couple coming in from out of town. We were going place to place and my wife went into a motel 6 there where there was a young man that used to work for the Suites...He also did not have room but at this point my wife was crying as we were totally exhausted after a long time on the road.. The young man took pity on us and called a friend at The Suites and she got us a room right away.

When we arrived we found the hotel convenient and located right in the perfect place in the tourist district. We got a suite with the best view in the city overlooking the area like being above the French Quarter in New Orleans...also a massive window that had a view to die for of Lake Superior.The staff from the janitor to the general manager were warm and kind and just superb. We do not have family in Duluth and were just looking around looking for a new place to live and came to love the Suites and all the staff just like being around your family at a home away from home. The building is unique in every way . Being a converted warehouse and hardware company from the 19th and early 20th century converted to a wonderful hotel and condos...such a special place..we just fell in love with it. When we arrived it just started the third coldest and snowiest winter in history in Duluth . The Senior Sales Manager booked us in at a fantastic rate on a month to month basis..Her name is Cindy Graves..really wonderful and truly cares about people and their needs and feelings. Also we met many of the staff and grew to care for them as our extended family .To put it straight they all took care of us as if we were their family and they were very protective of us. We ended up staying there till 5/13/14 exactly six months after arrival and we can't say enough wonderful things about the hotel and staff.

The ambiance and the rooms and building and staff make for a wonderful stay. We can't recommend this hotel high enough...on a scale one to five we give them a 50...From the wonderful rooms to the exceptional lobby and its unique feeling..with fireplace and piano and the breakfast was amazing. Not just your plain jane run of the mill breakfast...we are talking first class and Joann the amazing woman taking care of all your breakfast needs and giving you a wonderful first class smile and service..our experience couldn't have been more awesome.

Also to the manager Tom Simonson who was like a long lost brother , came out and greeted us everyday when we were in the lobby to check on how we were doing and see if everything was fine...everyone there gave us the feeling of being at home surrounded by caring family and you forget you are in a new city and a hotel and begin to think you are in your home away from home and extended family. To all the people that have given bad marks to this hotel...im sorry that your experience wasn't good.. I just can't see how that could be true..The furnishings in this place is exceptional and we even had a awesome hot tub /jacuzzi in our suite to sit and watch it snowing from our hot tub out the massive picture window.

The Suites.. has so many nice things. Beautiful indoor swimming pool with sparkling clear blue water. Large Hot tub and also kiddy pool. Also in the area of the pool a great workout room with weights and also a video arcade all in the same area.. Amazing. just amazing. Also I want to mention the staff again..so attentive all called us by name and we had mail and packages coming to us our whole visit and each and everyone of the staff made sure we received our packages and mail and took care of our every need..

Normally I am forgetful about hotels and leaving reviews but after you experience the Suites At Waterfront Plaza...you will never feel at rest until you give them five stars!!!As far as we are concerned The Suites will always be our home away from home and extended family. If you want to have yourself treated like royalty, do yourself a favor and book a stay or even a extended stay at the best place to stay in Duluth.. The Suites At Waterfront Plaza and tell them that M&M told you about them..You will never regret it and always look forward to your visit there. Like the commercial you used to see on television .... come on by ,they keep the lights on for you .. and enjoy !!!!!!! ..

Just can't say enough nice things about this place..When you leave you will miss it and also miss the staff and the experience and will always look forward to booking another stay at The Suites at Waterfront Plaza...truly a five star hotel and experience.

Room Tip: If you are a smoker... Ask for 411 or forth floor close to 411..all other guest if non smoking ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here as the leaves were changing in September, 2013. Let's start with the BIGGEST pro--this hotel is in the center of Canal Park and has free (yes, free) and ample parking. The hotel has a city view, if you could call it that, not a view of the lake. Since we stayed in an interior suite, it really wouldn't have mattered to us. This hotel is clean and has a nice, large pool. Our room was really clean--they even made an extra effort as one of our children has asthma and is allergic to pets. The hotel is a tad outdated as far as decor, but each room has a kitchen and VERY large rooms.

Room Tip: Book early if you want a room in Duluth in September. Very busy time of year!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Stayed at this hotel at the end of May. It's in a great location - right in the heart of Canal Park with many restaurants and activities near by. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite. The hotel is clean, and the suites are spacious. The living room/kitchen area of the suite was very dark as there was not natural light. The inner rooms do not have windows, which I would imagine the rooms to be quite dark. Breakfast is included, which was a typical hotel buffet breakfast. Great Canadian rates!

Room Tip: The inner rooms do not have windows. Avoid!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

If you are unaware, Duluth's charming Canal Park is a shopping and dining mecca on the waterfront. The Suites hotel is a very large old hardware building from the turn of the last century. The rooms were remodeled last about 15 or so years ago so they are not super up to date but they have kitchenettes in them which I find massively useful if only for breakfast and drinks. The location is right in the center of everything.

I have learned that there is a wide variety of rooms, some of which have no windows because they are interior spaces. The best views are on the bay side, not the Duluth side, but both are charming. I find the price very reasonable and service has always been great. I can recommend this for many uses: romantic, family, business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Ask for a bay side room above the 4th floor for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakopee, Mn
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed at the motel over Memorial Day weekend with one other couple. We rented a suite with 2 bedrooms, which was a wonderful decision!

The room had a full-size kitchen with full-size appliances, a whirlpool, 2 full bathrooms (3/4 off master bedroom), and a fireplace. The room was immaculate.

The motel was quiet, and is in a perfect location for exploring the Canal Park area. The restaurants and shops are very interesting and enjoyable in the area. But, they close early, between 5 and 6 on Sundays.

We had some very loud neighbors, and the security was right on top of it. There were a couple of minor things wrong in the room, and maintenance responded and took care of everything within minutes. Absolutely unbelievable customer service.

The only thing to be aware of is that the parking lot if across the street, which can be busy at times, but they have an attendant during peak times. There is a place in the back of the motel where you can pull up to load and unload, but parking is on the other side. To bring things up, to the hotel, there are steps.

This was an exceptionally perfect stay, and look forward to visiting again!

Room Tip: We were in room 1311, I believe, which is the only room that had a balcony. The balcony was actuall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a quick business trip. We arrived at ~6pm and had a pretty speedy check in. I had already been warned by my co-worker to get a suite because apparently some rooms don't have windows. Thanks for that tip! When I got off of the 4th floor, there was a strange odor, but I ignored it as I was so interested in the surroundings, they had made the hallways and pillars resemble a large ship. It was pretty dim, but I think that was the idea.... When I got to my room, the smell increased. I think it was smoke as in someone had smoked in the room at some point, a lot!. It was VERY strong, but it was not as strong in the bedroom, luckily. The sheets and bedding smelled fine. To me this is a very simple thing that was overlooked by the staff. There is no way they didn't smell it.

They offer a free appetizer at the Timber Lodge that is attached, and check out was quick and simple. However, I wasn't asked how my stay was, likely because I had interrupted a coworker conversation. There was also a free hot breakfast.

I didn't get to enjoy all of the amenities as it was a short trip, so I still gave a rating of 3, even though I was disappointed.

Room Tip: I do not know this first hand, but apparently there are rooms without windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Suites Hotel in Canal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Suites Hotel in Canal Park

Address: 325 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Suites Hotel in Canal Park 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your The Suites Hotel in Canal Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel In Canal Park
In Canal Park Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.