We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for a Canal Park Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Suites Hotel in Canal Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Suites Hotel in Canal Park to your Saves list
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   325 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Hudson, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good place for a Canal Park Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Decided to stay here for a quick 1 night trip over spring break with the kids. Canal Park is a great location with lots to see an do (moreso during the summer). You can walk to some great shopping and restaurants so this hotel was a great choice for us.

We arrived at the hotel at 3:00 (thinking this is normal check in time) but our room would not be ready until 4:00 which is their normal check in time. A little confusing as the hotel was absolutely dead so I'm not sure if they just have a policy for no early check ins or what.

Got into our room about 4:00 which was a harbor view 1 bedroom suite. They provided a roll away for 1 of the 2 kids. The pull out couch can fit 1 kids, probably no older than 12. It's honestly the smallest pull out couch I've ever seen but it worked out OK. The room reflects the hotels history which so some might mean dated, but it was clean and had a full size fridge and freezer with a stove and lots of other kitchen equipment. We were on the 3rd floor and even though I don't think there were 2 other rooms occupied on our floor, you won't hear a thing at this hotel.

The pool was cloudy but it's a nice set up and the kids had fun. There's a small fitness area, game room, hot tub, sauna and a small little kids pool as well. For our purpose it worked out great, kids swam for a few hours and that was it.

One of the best features of the hotel is the breakfast. Eggs, hashbrowns, waffles and much more. A very nice set up for the morning. For dinner, there are restaurants very close by or Timberlodge is attached to the hotel and we were given free drinks and a free appetizer which worked out very well.

They have a parking lot right across the street that works well and you don't have to pay for a ramp or to try to find a street space which is impossible down there.

Clearly this hotel caters towards business travelers but it is a great option with the kids if you are looking to stay in Canal Park. We will be back again.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are interior rooms with no windows to outside, I wouldn't recommed these, make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for your review! We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    88
    46
    37
    16
See reviews for
102
73
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

We LOVE The Suites!! We have looked at other hotels in the area, but The Suites are our place to stay!! Yes construction is going on, a bit noisy but who stays in their room all day?? We have things to do places to go!! Great hot breakfast items in the morning! The rooms are quite and comfy! We always stay "City side" over looking the Erving Ore Boat. Lakeside can be noisy with the street traffic and people having fun on the street below.
The Suites are convent to Everything in Canal Park and Lake Superior and the famous Lift Bridge is just up the street!! Our Home Away From Home!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for your kind review! We're honored to be your home away from home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baxter, Minnesota
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

This was a convenient and inexpensive place to stay for an event at the DECC. We had skaters on the ice at all hours, so we shared a two-bedroom suite with another family and walked to the arena. It was perfect for our situation. The hotel was clean and quiet, but the room windows were so poor that we could close the bedroom doors and freeze, or leave them open and not have privacy. The room was dated, but they seem to be doing upgrades on another floor. I'll call them again next year, but before we book I'd like to know the windows have at least been replaced. The location, though, cannot be beat! Restaurants are attached to the hotel so food is nearby.

Room Tip: Some rooms don't have windows. If you need a window, be sure to ask for it. Also, if you have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you! We hope to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We've stayed in other places in Canal Park, but this time we had our entire family and wanted a room with enough space for 7 of us to play games, eat, etc. together. We chose the 2 bedroom whirlpool suite. What a pleasant surprise - it was HUGE!. Two enormous bedrooms each with king size beds and plenty of room for rollaways. An enormous kitchen, dining, living & whirlpool area.

The location is great - we walked to dinner at a different restaurant every night (Canal Park Brewing Co. does make GOOD BEER!)

It was President's Day weekend and many guests had kids. We never heard a thing in our room - the building is just too structurally sound.

Breakfast was the best complimentary hotel breakfast we've had in a long time. Hot foods and different items each day. The staff did a great job keeping the serving dishes full!

We had a few special requests and after telephoning the front desk our items arrived within a few minutes. All staff we came in contact with were exceptionally friendly and helpful - housekeeping, front desk and breakfast.

On this busiest of holiday weekends we never had trouble parking in the private lot.

Alright, if we need to add some negatives: the heat wasn't perfectly balanced to meet our desires (bedrooms slightly cooler than the living area) and the bars of soap in the bathrooms are really tiny - but they gave us plenty. And if one of the bedrooms had two queen beds rather than a king we would have preferred that.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you! We're glad we were a pleasant surprise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walker, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Since the Suites Hotel was a renovated building in Canal Park, we thought it would have the character and historic feel that we really like. It is an old building, but clearly staying here is not about history but about a location in Canal Park that is a reasonable price for a large family that is animal friendly. Big place, right in the middle of all the Canal Park sites...big continental breakfast, space for the family to meet in the suites. But, it all just felt like a non-descript old hotel room. No design, no historic fixtures, nothing that felt unique. Shower was just lukewarm. The white painted pipes that ran across the ceiling just made me feel like I was in a cheap hotel. The windows frosted over and you could feel the cold coming through. Front desk service was a bit scrambled---everyone checking in at the same time--long lines. Not very well thought out. I can see where this would be good for the many families there for the hockey tournament, but not for me.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay, make sure to get a room with an outside window so you have a view. But, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you! Your comments are always appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakemoor, IL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We arrived for a New Years Eve getaway but were displeased to find construction going on the 5th floor that sounded like it was directly above our room. We were disappointed that we were not warned about the noise, but the front desk was able to move us and very quickly took care of the issue. We've stayed at The Suites before and love the ambiance and the look of the converted factory/warehouse. There are so many fun night spots in Canal Park that are within walking distance.

Room Tip: Some rooms don't have exterior windows, so make sure you ask for a window room (preferably overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lino Lakes, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We have stayed at the Suites several times while in Duluth for hockey tournaments. The location can't be beat. Right in Canal Park, just a few blocks from the shore and watching ships enter/exit the harbor. Old Chicago and Timber Lodge Steakhouse are connected to the hotel. Red Lobster, Grizzly's and Green Mill are just a few steps away on the same block. We usually have no problems with an interior room (no windows) but this time we were on the 4th floor and it reeked of smoke. We were told by housekeeping that this was a "smoking" floor with a "few" non-smoking rooms on the same floor. Inside our room was fine, It was spacious with a full fridge and kitchenette. However, any time we left the room we were bombarded with the terrible smell of cigarette smoke. Our son has asthma and it irritated his breathing. He began coughing. The hotel was full... At least 4 hockey teams staying there so there was NO chance of switching rooms.

This was our 6th time staying there but our first time on the 4th floor. I would stay here again but only on a different floor. The breakfast is nice (although towards the end if breakfast the room was a complete mess) and the lobby area is nice to sit and relax.

Room Tip: Don't stay on 4th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for staying with us again! We appreciate your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Suites Hotel in Canal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Suites Hotel in Canal Park

Address: 325 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Suites Hotel in Canal Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The Suites Hotel in Canal Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel In Canal Park
In Canal Park Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.