We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Suites Hotel in Canal Park

Save Saved
You added The Suites Hotel in Canal Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   325 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Twin Cities
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We've stayed in other places in Canal Park, but this time we had our entire family and wanted a room with enough space for 7 of us to play games, eat, etc. together. We chose the 2 bedroom whirlpool suite. What a pleasant surprise - it was HUGE!. Two enormous bedrooms each with king size beds and plenty of room for rollaways. An enormous kitchen, dining, living & whirlpool area.

The location is great - we walked to dinner at a different restaurant every night (Canal Park Brewing Co. does make GOOD BEER!)

It was President's Day weekend and many guests had kids. We never heard a thing in our room - the building is just too structurally sound.

Breakfast was the best complimentary hotel breakfast we've had in a long time. Hot foods and different items each day. The staff did a great job keeping the serving dishes full!

We had a few special requests and after telephoning the front desk our items arrived within a few minutes. All staff we came in contact with were exceptionally friendly and helpful - housekeeping, front desk and breakfast.

On this busiest of holiday weekends we never had trouble parking in the private lot.

Alright, if we need to add some negatives: the heat wasn't perfectly balanced to meet our desires (bedrooms slightly cooler than the living area) and the bars of soap in the bathrooms are really tiny - but they gave us plenty. And if one of the bedrooms had two queen beds rather than a king we would have preferred that.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you! We're glad we were a pleasant surprise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    78
    43
    34
    15
See reviews for
93
67
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walker, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Since the Suites Hotel was a renovated building in Canal Park, we thought it would have the character and historic feel that we really like. It is an old building, but clearly staying here is not about history but about a location in Canal Park that is a reasonable price for a large family that is animal friendly. Big place, right in the middle of all the Canal Park sites...big continental breakfast, space for the family to meet in the suites. But, it all just felt like a non-descript old hotel room. No design, no historic fixtures, nothing that felt unique. Shower was just lukewarm. The white painted pipes that ran across the ceiling just made me feel like I was in a cheap hotel. The windows frosted over and you could feel the cold coming through. Front desk service was a bit scrambled---everyone checking in at the same time--long lines. Not very well thought out. I can see where this would be good for the many families there for the hockey tournament, but not for me.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay, make sure to get a room with an outside window so you have a view. But, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you! Your comments are always appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakemoor, IL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We arrived for a New Years Eve getaway but were displeased to find construction going on the 5th floor that sounded like it was directly above our room. We were disappointed that we were not warned about the noise, but the front desk was able to move us and very quickly took care of the issue. We've stayed at The Suites before and love the ambiance and the look of the converted factory/warehouse. There are so many fun night spots in Canal Park that are within walking distance.

Room Tip: Some rooms don't have exterior windows, so make sure you ask for a window room (preferably overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lino Lakes, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We have stayed at the Suites several times while in Duluth for hockey tournaments. The location can't be beat. Right in Canal Park, just a few blocks from the shore and watching ships enter/exit the harbor. Old Chicago and Timber Lodge Steakhouse are connected to the hotel. Red Lobster, Grizzly's and Green Mill are just a few steps away on the same block. We usually have no problems with an interior room (no windows) but this time we were on the 4th floor and it reeked of smoke. We were told by housekeeping that this was a "smoking" floor with a "few" non-smoking rooms on the same floor. Inside our room was fine, It was spacious with a full fridge and kitchenette. However, any time we left the room we were bombarded with the terrible smell of cigarette smoke. Our son has asthma and it irritated his breathing. He began coughing. The hotel was full... At least 4 hockey teams staying there so there was NO chance of switching rooms.

This was our 6th time staying there but our first time on the 4th floor. I would stay here again but only on a different floor. The breakfast is nice (although towards the end if breakfast the room was a complete mess) and the lobby area is nice to sit and relax.

Room Tip: Don't stay on 4th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for staying with us again! We appreciate your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

My family has vacationed in Duluth for about 15 years now and this was our first stay at The Suites Hotel. Despite some poor reviews online, we decided to trust our friend's recommendation and were delighted with our stay.

The lobby is beautiful, the rooms are spacious and very comfortable, and the hotel is conveniently connected to Timberlodge Steakhouse and across the street from Grizzly's. I didn't know ahead of time, but The Suites is pet-friendly, which is great. We'll definitely bring our dog next time.

Half of our party stayed in a very spacious 2 bedroom, 2 bath condo. The "master" bed was incredibly comfortable and cozy, featuring a gas fireplace and jacuzzi. The other room had two double beds and adjoining bath. The rest of our party shared a standard hotel room with king bed and pullout couch.

My only real complaint with The Suites is that the cable TV service was terrible during our stay. There were only a few channels available and there was a service issue that made watching TV rather unpleasant. But, then again, who goes to Duluth to watch TV??

Also, the continental breakfast was just okay. There was a good selection of standard breakfast options, but the eggs and sausage, especially, were bland. Unless you just want to grab the basics for a quick bite, I'd recommend eating somewhere nearby instead.

We'll definitely be back. The size of the rooms works great for larger parties and the hotel is very convenient for people who want to be in the heart of the nightlife.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with windows. This hotel is a renovated warehouse so there are some inter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you! We did have a issue with our cable provider, it's taken care of now. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mora, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Needed a suite type room for a small Christmas reception for family. Was given three rooms to visit to pick from. Perfect room chosen. Called down for a small table and chairs and they showed up within minutes. Front desk person who checked us in stopped by to see how we were doing. Room perfect for our needs - kitchenette, fridge, everything worked very well. Slept nicely in the oversize, quite comfortable bed. Breakfast the next morning - broad range of choices, all hot, fresh, and tasty. Checkout friendly. Just a really nice visit, with just the right room, had a great event, restful night, warm sendoff. We will be back. For sure.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you! We do have a great varity of room types to choose from that should meet anyones needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We had a great stay. The room was warm and inviting, having a full kitchen was wonderful, and the staff was polite and professional. The interior rooms are quite nice. While not having a window, you do get a very good nights rest without the morning light and noise of the street. Haven't sleep that well in a long time. I would recommend a stay here for sure.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your kind review! We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Suites Hotel in Canal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Suites Hotel in Canal Park

Address: 325 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Suites Hotel in Canal Park 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your The Suites Hotel in Canal Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel In Canal Park
In Canal Park Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.