We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family & Pet-Friendly Stay in Canal Park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Suites Hotel in Canal Park

Save Saved
You added The Suites Hotel in Canal Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   325 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Family & Pet-Friendly Stay in Canal Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

My family has vacationed in Duluth for about 15 years now and this was our first stay at The Suites Hotel. Despite some poor reviews online, we decided to trust our friend's recommendation and were delighted with our stay.

The lobby is beautiful, the rooms are spacious and very comfortable, and the hotel is conveniently connected to Timberlodge Steakhouse and across the street from Grizzly's. I didn't know ahead of time, but The Suites is pet-friendly, which is great. We'll definitely bring our dog next time.

Half of our party stayed in a very spacious 2 bedroom, 2 bath condo. The "master" bed was incredibly comfortable and cozy, featuring a gas fireplace and jacuzzi. The other room had two double beds and adjoining bath. The rest of our party shared a standard hotel room with king bed and pullout couch.

My only real complaint with The Suites is that the cable TV service was terrible during our stay. There were only a few channels available and there was a service issue that made watching TV rather unpleasant. But, then again, who goes to Duluth to watch TV??

Also, the continental breakfast was just okay. There was a good selection of standard breakfast options, but the eggs and sausage, especially, were bland. Unless you just want to grab the basics for a quick bite, I'd recommend eating somewhere nearby instead.

We'll definitely be back. The size of the rooms works great for larger parties and the hotel is very convenient for people who want to be in the heart of the nightlife.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with windows. This hotel is a renovated warehouse so there are some inter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you! We did have a issue with our cable provider, it's taken care of now. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    77
    43
    33
    15
See reviews for
93
66
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mora, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Needed a suite type room for a small Christmas reception for family. Was given three rooms to visit to pick from. Perfect room chosen. Called down for a small table and chairs and they showed up within minutes. Front desk person who checked us in stopped by to see how we were doing. Room perfect for our needs - kitchenette, fridge, everything worked very well. Slept nicely in the oversize, quite comfortable bed. Breakfast the next morning - broad range of choices, all hot, fresh, and tasty. Checkout friendly. Just a really nice visit, with just the right room, had a great event, restful night, warm sendoff. We will be back. For sure.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you! We do have a great varity of room types to choose from that should meet anyones needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We had a great stay. The room was warm and inviting, having a full kitchen was wonderful, and the staff was polite and professional. The interior rooms are quite nice. While not having a window, you do get a very good nights rest without the morning light and noise of the street. Haven't sleep that well in a long time. I would recommend a stay here for sure.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your kind review! We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

First off we stayed here because of a discount, the kiddie pool, and it is very close to Bentleyville. Upon arrival the lobby is lovely. Polite staff. Location is amazing. Pleanty of places to eat very close. Parking is not convenient especially in the bitter cold. No valet. We had an interior room, meaning no windows, but 2 doors leading to the halls. Our room was a king studio. Nice size, clean, but with a HUGE puller in the middle of the room. We had our 2 1/2 yr old with us so going to the pool was a must. I wish we didn't. After freezing at Bentleyville the pool seemed colder! Both kiddie pool and large swimming pool were close to ice cold. My son's lips turned blue! So that was disappointing. During the night the halls were busy and loud. Waking up with no window was extremely awkward and I will never do it again. It messed with your senses all morning till you actually see light at the hotels exit doors. I would not recommended an interior room!!! The breakfast was decent. Kept clean and stocked. Check out was simple with a quick phone call. All in all I would stay there again but WITH A WINDOW room. The location is perfect for Canal Park. The pool area would have been amazing for my son if it was warm. He was so excited to swim it was a big disappointment for us all. So if you stay...find a deal, request a window (or just keep looking, it really is just your typical hotel with a story like most things in Duluth), make sure the pool is working right, and enjoy some Duluth sights!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your review! We apologize for the pool temperatures. We do keep our pools at the required temperatures, but we have turned them up. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpena, MI
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I stay in a fair number of hotels every year; the next looking and feeling just like the last. Boxes with beds, some run better than others. That is why I was so please to stay in this former hardware wholesale warehouse. I love to see these re purposed buildings with character and a story. The room we had was an interior with no windows which was a drawback however the room was large and well done. Parking accross the street, very cool neighborhood and the price was the best in the area. From the other reviews it looks like not everyone has as good an experience as we did. I can see this happening as the management seems a little chaotic but also they at least seem like they are trying.

In the area, I would suggest eating close to the hotel. Lots of yummy options like Old Chicago and Northern Waters Smokehaus. Smoked fish and meats - yum on steriods! Ate there twice in 2 days. Smoked Salmon roll up wow..... Would like to o back in the summer when it is warm and not -3 degrees.

If a predictable sleep box is what you want, look toward the usual suspects. Something different, try this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for our review! We are definitely the most unique in the Twin Ports.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Great location. This hotel could be stellar with a bit more attention to how the guest is treated. Front desk clerks went from very pleasant to quite rude. The two bedroom suite we got was sadly dirty. Filthy toilets. Dirty carpets. When I requested service (and left a tip) neither of these were touched and I had to call down for toilet paper, Kleenex and dishwasher soap, all which I had requested in a little note with the tip.
So, if you are looking for a spot a step up from a budget hotel and keep expectations low - this is your spot. If you are fussy about manners and cleanliness
- you may want to try somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. We always take comments from our guests and use them to make us better. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised at the size and quality of the suites at this hotel....they are very large, well kept and comfortable....very nice gas fireplace and even a Jacuzzi ....This hotel is close to the harbor ( haunted ship) , many restaurants and shops...Don't forget the kids , there is an entertainment venue couple of doors down from hotel...( games, batting cages, slides all ages). Shopping is never far away, on both sides of the two states....
I would also like to mention this added plus...buffet breakfast is included
Hope to visit again....
the only negative I would have to add is it was quite cold in the second bedroom , but I kept warm under the blankets

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Suites Hotel in Canal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Suites Hotel in Canal Park

Address: 325 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Suites Hotel in Canal Park 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your The Suites Hotel in Canal Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel In Canal Park
In Canal Park Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.