We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great if you're not spending much time in the room.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Suites Hotel in Canal Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Suites Hotel in Canal Park to your Saves list
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   325 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
USA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great if you're not spending much time in the room.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

There are some real positives to this hotel. Location in canal park is great, you can walk anywhere quickly. The free breakfast is always a positive even when it's not super exciting. Hotel staff were always friendly and quick to respond with issues. Its pet friendly. Again, the location is great. We got a goofy interior room with no windows. But the full sized fridge was nice. There is a lot of room for improvement in the cleanliness category across the board, floors, sheets, ect. Since we really only used the room for sleep and it was quite a bit cheaper than others in the area I'd recommend it for not much more than that.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your review! Our Studio Suites are a great value in Canal Park if you don't mind not having a window! But we have plenty of other Suites with windows to choose from. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    88
    46
    37
    16
See reviews for
102
73
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Shared a two bedroom suite with my in-laws. Suite was large with full kitchen. Hotel was clean and had a very good hot breakfast. Price was very reasonable for a Saturday night during peak tourist season. One great feature for us was the kiddie pool. its only 1ft deep and our 2 yr old loved it. The only down side for us was that the jacuzzi in the suite was in the living room. Appeared very awkward like it was an after thought. Since we shared the suite, the jacuzzi was useless to us. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your review! The two bedroom condos are great with a lot of room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farmington,mn
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This building is very old and if you like the loft type feel with separate bedrooms then this is for you. The top two floors are condos. We stayed in a 2 bedroom 2 bath full kitchen room. You could tell this too use to be a persons home. The ceilings are painted a very dark forest green covering up the designs and adding to the darkness in the room. Gas fire place was on and you could feel the warm air coming from it. It only meant the AC had to work harder. There is a full kitchen. Missed matched furniture. The love seat and two chairs are old and stained. The carpet is dark blue with pink flowers. No light coming in except from the bedroom windows and they are closed off from the rest of the place. The beds were comfortable and plenty of pillows. This was a very large room. The main halls are wide. They do have dogs in this building. Some large dogs. Didn't bother me but be aware if you have allergies. No ice machines. The location is good. In walking distance to the attractions. The parking is across the street from the hotel. There is a place to unload behind the hotel but it is difficult to get in and out of. They have Timerber Lodge steakhouse connected to the hotel and Red Lobster next to that. The kiddie pool is a foot deep and the water was warm. The hot tub didn't look to clean but the adult pool was a good size. They offer a good breakfast with first level and second level seating. The hotel is clean but old. For the $277 we spent for one night I'll try another hotel next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleepy Eye, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We booked a room here for our girls weekend to Duluth in October. First thing we noticed was the obvious proximity to Canal Park and the lift bridge. The location can't be beat. We were walking distance from dozens and dozens of restaurants, bars, shopping, sight seeing, etc...

The rooms are very spacious and come with a kitchenette which is always handy. The ceilings and windows are super tall which I think added to the spacious feeling of the room. At first we were disappointed to look out of our window and see an ally and parking lot but then we noticed the Irving ship was across the small parking lot from us. I'm assuming the rooms on the other side of the hotel had a view of the street which would have also been nice. (no views of the lake or canal)

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We asked for a room near the pool and that is exactly what we got. The pool area was nice and big. It included a sauna, big pool, wading pool, and spacious hot tub.

The continental breakfast is always an added perk. Nothing to fancy but lots to chose from and it got the job done.

We also enjoyed the Old Chicago attached to the hotel for late night drinks and pizza.

I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking to stay in the canal park area of Duluth. For what you pay, the room is well worth it. Though, keep in mind, if a lake view is what you want you won't get it here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your review! We have a large variety of suite types to choose from and rates that work for just about anyone. thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Minnesota
Top Contributor
296 reviews 296 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

While certainly not worth the price paid compared to their competitors on Canal Park, the Suites Hotel is good place to stay with many room perks and a good location. Situated right on Lake Ave, it's mere steps from a Grizzly's, Red Lobster, Green Mill, Caribou, Subway, Thai food, Famous Daves, and all of the Grandma's restaurants including Grandma's, Grandma's Sports Garden, Bellisio's, and Angie's Cantina. It's attached to a Timberlodge Steakhouse. Exiting one side takes you to all the shops and restaurants, exiting the other side of the property takes you to Lake Superior fishing charter boats, the William Irvin ore ship, and the Lakes 10 movie theaters. A bit further walk is the DECC.

Parking for this property is across the street, and you must have a permit in your window. Overflow parking is clearly marked, located behind the main parking lot. There is a parking attendant who will check your reservation on his paperwork and allow you to park while you check in.

Upon our arrival, there was tremendous chaos and confusion at the front desk, managed as well as could be expected by Marissa and Tanya, clearly in need of help. Long lines of people waiting to check in, only to find out their rooms were not available. Several people had been waiting already for a long time, we wound up waiting an hour. These two front desk ladies not only dealt with angry guests who could not get into their rooms, but guests who didn't have soap, pillows, and other toiletries - in addition they were answering phones and dealing with barking dogs, kids running to the swimming pool...yes, this is a pet friendly property.

We later learned from the housekeeping staff that several of their staff had called in "sick" and that there literally was no help. One housekeeper was assigned 22 rooms, and that's a lot to clean between 11am and 3pm, which is the normal checkin time. Shame on management for not helping out their staff, or calling all hands on deck to assist housekeeping with this issue. Hopefully this is not a regular occurrence.

All of their employee issues aside, we found our room to be very clean. Incredibly basic compared to other rooms we were in during our stay. We had a very small dorm-sized microwave, a full-sized refrigerator, a tiny dishwasher, a suite with two bedrooms with doors on both rooms (one was an ensuite, the other used the "main" washroom). Also a sofabed. Small flat screen televisions in each area, cups, glasses, dishes in the kitchen area. Table with chairs, internet hookup, in-room safe, extra bedding for the sofabed. One very, very small bar of soap for each washroom which explained why many people came to the front desk asking for more soap.

The stay was quiet, the air conditioning worked very well, and the beds were comfortable. The paint, bedding, and furniture, etc pretty dated. Other rooms we were in were more updated with new doors, a jaccuzzi tub, updated furniture, full sized microwaves and dishwashers.

Breakfast varied depending on the day but included sausages, hard boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, toast, bagels, English muffins, biscuits & gravy, pancakes, waffle makers, juices, milk, cold and hot cereals, fresh fruit, pastries, yogurts. The main floor breakfast area is very small. There is additional breakfast seating up several steps (like a mezzanine). The coffee was horrible and we opted to run over to Caribou for real coffee.

I cannot speak to the pool as we did not use it. There were 2 computer terminals in the lobby for guests to use. Two elevators. Postcards for sale in the lobby at 5 for a $1.00. There are private condominiums and businesses located on the upper floors of this property.

Having stayed at many of the other properties on Canal Park, I'm not sure I'd stay at the Suites Hotel again. We stayed here as many others involved in a large family gathering were also staying at this property.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your reveue! We had a tough day and everyone pitched in. We do our ever best each and everyday and when we do fall down, we work on how it to fix it. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Love this place!... we come to Duluth every year but this was the first time we stayed here due to the fact that we now have a Puppy!!!! = YES, PET FRIENDLY!!!!! Our party was 5+puppy and our room was HUGE! Very Spacious and Very Clean! Close to Everything!!!! Will not be staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

This was our 4th time staying here and it was great as always. Love the full hot breakfast, spacious rooms with kitchenettes so we don't have to eat out, and great location. Restaurants and Park Point are within walking distance. Nice pool, hot tub, and wading pool. We look forward to it every time and will be back!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Suites Hotel in Canal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Suites Hotel in Canal Park

Address: 325 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Suites Hotel in Canal Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Suites Hotel in Canal Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel In Canal Park
In Canal Park Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.