We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms for a great price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Suites Hotel in Canal Park

Save Saved
You added The Suites Hotel in Canal Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   325 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Lakemoor, IL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice rooms for a great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My wife and I did a couples get away and stayed at The Suites. The room was very clean, large, and very comfortable. The staff was very helpful and there are plenty of resturants and bars within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your review! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    74
    42
    31
    15
See reviews for
90
63
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Circle Pines, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The hotel was great! Even the smallest room is a great size. Beds are comfortable, pets are welcome for a small fee, hotel is clean, and the breakfast is great. Thanks for the great stay! We'll be back this summer!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for the kind review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendota, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We recently stayed at the Suites Hotel in Canal Park, which marked the second time we have stayed at this location. Once again, the hotel provides a quality overnight stay for a decent price. Our room featured a separate sleeping area that included two full-sized beds and a living area that included a hide-a-bed, kitchen table eating area and a nice kitchen area (sink, cooktop, microwave, full size frig and even a dishwasher). The room was clean and the furnishing were fairly current. A nice complimentary breakfast in the morning was a great way to start the day.

The hotel does offer an indoor pool, hot tub and a sauna - which was one of the better saunas I have been in recently. The location is in the heart of Duluth's Canal Park, so it is easy to walk to the attractions and numerous restaurants.

We have been satisfied with our two stays at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park and would offer a solid recommendation for those looking for a nice location to stay at during their visit to Duluth. I will add that the suites/roomy are very spacious in comparison to your typical hotel room. Since this is a remodeled factory, the rooms have high ceilings with exposed pipes, bricks, etc (i.e. - urban loft space). Some may find this decor unappealing but I thought it added to the charm.

Room Tip: Interior rooms do not have windows, so you may want to consider that before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for writing about your past stays! We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waupaca, Wisconsin
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Had an overall wonderful stay. The location was great, close to neat attractions and sights. I love the history of the building and the surrounding area. Our room was huge! The staff were very helpful and the complimentary breakfast was nice too. I would like to revisit in the summer!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Our hotel is very unique and in a great location. Thank you for being our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savage, MN
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The Suites is a good value, slightly quirky hotel in a great location. It is in need of some updates, but still a decent place to stay.

Canal Park in Duluth is a fun place to hang out, and you couldn't pick a more central location than where the Suites is sited. You can walk two blocks to the south to the Aerial Life Bridge, two blocks to the west to watch the UMD Bulldogs skate at the DECC, two blocks to the east to walk the shores of Gitchigumee, or a couple blocks north to get onto Superior Street in downtown Duluth. The hotel lobby connects to the Old Chicago restaurant, which is a great spot for pizza, appetizers, and a wide selection of beers.

The hotel itself is a converted 19th century warehouse that used to take cargo directly off ships moored alongside it and transfer the goods to railroad cars. There are some fascinating photographs in the pool area showing the the interior in the early 1900s. The origins of the building lead to some of its quirkiness. There are massive concrete columns throughout the building; if you get an interior room, you will have one of these columns in the middle of your living space! Ice machines are not on every floor, so you may have to make an extended trip depending on your room. This will give you a chance to use the exterior stairwells, which are heated nicely in the winter, but quite rustic. The hallways are long and dimly lit, framed by the massive columns. If you stand at one end of a hallway, you expect to see Danny Torrance turn the corner and ride his Big Wheel towards you ("What about Room 237?"). I'm sure that some people find the interior spooky.

Rooms are very large, and - since this is "The Suites" - have a full kitchen: full-sized refrigerator, microwave, sink, dishware, and even dishwasher. We have stayed twice here, and both times have had interior rooms. As others have noted, these rooms have two doors - one on either side - and no windows. This is off-putting to some. The bathroom is fine, with standard fixtures and decent shower. Our room had a king bed of decent comfort, paired with a pull-out sofa of little-to-no comfort. The furnishings are in good shape, but not new at all. An LCD flat-screen TV is the newest equipment in the room. Like the hallways, the interior lighting is dim: you'll probably want to turn on all the lights in the room to brighten up the high-ceilinged, industrial surroundings. Carpeting throughout the hotel appears badly in need of replacement.

You can enter the hotel from Lake Street, via an interior hallway that connects to Old Chicago, or from the parking lot in back. Parking is free for guests, and we had no problem getting a convenient space even after a heavy snowfall on a busy hockey weekend in February. The lobby area tries to warm the industrial flavor a bit with a stone fireplace and some easy chairs; this could be extended to make it more inviting. The entryways are hazardous during winter, as the stone floors become extremely slippery, and there is little done to remove or prevent the build-up of snow and water that accumulates.

Breakfast is included with your hotel stay, and it is surprisingly good. The scrambled eggs were fresh (not the commercial, crumbly kind you so often find at hotels), the sausage and bacon was good, and biscuits and gravy decent. It's so hard to find a place that does *really* good gravy! There were plenty of other options, including waffles, muffins, cereals, fruits, and hard-boiled eggs. Beverages included standard juice choices, milk, and fresh-brewed coffee. I'm a giant breakfast fan, and the quality of the breakfast is a key deciding factor for me when choosing hotels. For a "free" breakfast, this one is well-done.

If you want modern-everything, or like new and glittery, this is not the place for you: try the Canal Park Lodge. If you're looking for decent lodging at a reasonable rate in a super-convenient location, you'll find it here.

Room Tip: If having no windows freaks you out, do NOT take an interior room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location and a beautiful old hotel. Inside rooms are very dark and can get stuffy but that wouldn't keep me from staying here again. So much stuff in walking distance with a great bar in the lobby. A+

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind review!! We're glad you enjoyed your stay!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

my kids saw a naked guy in the sauna at 6 pm, pool was cold and so cloudy you could not see the bottom, daughter got a rash from the chlorine. breakfast was gag like and we had a flood from the floor above at 3 am and was up for 2 hours cleaning that up, We had to ask for a discount at the front desk. They didn't think it was all that bad to have been up with a flood. After a huge fight we got a night free. We certainly wont bother staying there again. The rooms look beautiful but the bedrooms are noisy and drafty. The tv remote remote did not work. i wore earplugs to sleep.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. We sincerly apologize for the problems during your stay. We always address posted comments and use them to make us better. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Suites Hotel in Canal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Suites Hotel in Canal Park

Address: 325 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Suites Hotel in Canal Park 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your The Suites Hotel in Canal Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel In Canal Park
In Canal Park Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.