We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Suites Hotel in Canal Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Suites Hotel in Canal Park to your Saves list
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   325 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
MN
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Neat place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed here the last night of our honeymoon. We got a room facing the water, listed as a "city view room." Check in was easy. Our room was huge! It was clean. It had a stove, full fridge, table chairs, couch, TV sitting room. The bedroom and jacuzzi were in a separate room. It is a neat place, with the pipes showing and the walls are brick. Didn't hear any neighbors or anything, you could hear the water running in the other room- but you can hear that at any hotel. Parking was easy and the breakfast was good. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    101
    52
    44
    21
See reviews for
130
83
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Minnesota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Wonderful place to stay! Comfy king sized bed in a separate room, pull-out couch and table in the other room. Full sized fridge, 2 burner stove, dishes, etc. all made for an easy stay. Complete hot breakfast was more than enough to keep us going for several hours. Very clean and friendly staff!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Wanted to visit the Duluth area this fall! Looked for rooms up the North Shore and in Duluth. Wanted to find a reasonable rate. We found an interior room at the rate we wanted to pay. Stayed two nights

Check-in went smooth and we were soon in our room which had a bed, TV and small kitchen with a table and chairs. The room was very clean.

We stayed here many years ago and I remembered that you could smell cigarette smoke in our room but that was not the case this time.

As mentioned before, The Suites, serve a hot breakfast which is very good. Saturday morning was very busy and it appeared that the hotel staff had a difficult time keeping up with the demand. Sunday morning appeared to go more smoothly.

Some people in our group commented that having no windows bothered them but my husband and I would stay here again. We peaked in on a larger suite and they appear quite spacious and would be great for families!

Room Tip: Interior rooms provide value. Window rooms are larger and cost more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. The Studios Suites are a great value! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

There are 5 women that stay in the double suite yearly. Pleanty of room, brightly lit, and the housekeeping this year was outstanding. Like previous reviewers say, close to everything. Breakfast is one of the best continentals that I have had!!

Room Tip: If you don't mind not having windows - they are a good price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you! We love seeing you ever year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

My husband and I were in the area with another couple, last week, during a martial arts conference. At first, we had been disappointed that we could not book a room at the Holiday Inn downtown, but after some research, opted for the Suites Hotel. ...Couldn't have been more please with our stay!! The area was nice - just a short stroll from the lake front, downtown shopping and the famous bridge. Each day we would drop our husbands off at the Holiday Inn downtown, we couldn't be more thankful for the Suites at Canal park. The local 'riff raff' seemed to congregate right outside of the hotel area, which is also connected to their sky walk and indoor shopping. We were not comfortable waiting in the car at this location on some days, and were really glad for the quite and comfort of the Suites. The breakfast was delicious each morning, with plenty of options! Pool was nice and clean, and the little fitness room was better than most hotels. We absolutely loved our suite, and the price for the king bed, two doubles.. more than reasonable.
The TImber restaurant connected to the hotel was a bit pricey, but the steak was pretty good. Local restaurants we stopped at included the Green Mill which is a short stroll down the street, and also the Amazing Grace bakery/cafe.
Canal park is a neat area. I highly recommened the Suites in Canal Park for business, leisure or whatever.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your kind review, we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Our room was an interior - was worried - needlessly. It was very clean, quiet, and large. 2 doors, and lots of lamps. Location is AWESOME - walk to everything at Canal Park, Lake Walk. Breakfast was good, pool looked nice. Room includes a kitchenette.
One con - bathroom has shower and sink in one room, so other person can't get ready while one is showering.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for sharing your stay with us. The studio suites are a great value!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The room seemed very dark and was not very clean (toothpaste was not cleaned off wallpaper from prior guest and there was lipstick on the comforter). The room was not very sound proof. Since the building is a renovated warehouse, I had lots of pipes in my bedroom and could hear water going down the pipes whenever someone flushed their toilet, etc. I could also hear the crying baby above me. The remote control for the t.v. was very basic and did not work very well. The window in my room could not be opened for fresh air. The water pressure in the shower was not very good and I decided not to wash my hair since it would take forever to get the soap out. The continental breakfast was terrible - eggs tasted like rubber and the orange juice tasted bitter and old. I can see why these rooms have some of the cheapest rates in the area. I will not stay here again. I will have to say that the hotel has a great location close to restaurants, shops, etc. I also woke up to see a huge ship that had docked outside my window - very cool!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for writing your review! We work very hard at correcting the short comings that are shared with us and we feel confident any future stays will very enjoyable. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.1 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
0.8 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#5 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
0.4 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#10 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Suites Hotel in Canal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Suites Hotel in Canal Park

Address: 325 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Suites Hotel in Canal Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Suites Hotel in Canal Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel In Canal Park
In Canal Park Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.