We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Suites, The Best Place to stay in Canal Park!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Suites Hotel in Canal Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Suites Hotel in Canal Park to your Saves list
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   325 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Suites, The Best Place to stay in Canal Park!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We love the Suites!!, It's the best place to stay in Canal Park!! Clean Housekeeping services are wonderful!!
Walking distance to all the attractions. Great Parking and the Best Breakfasts in town!!! Love the Drink coupon for Timerlodge, don't have to figure out a place to dinner, its right there!!
Can't wait to go again!! You will love it too!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great! Love to stay here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thank you!!!! We're glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    103
    56
    44
    22
See reviews for
134
85
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We were a group visiting Duluth and were pleased with the hotel. It did have some needs; not enough people at the front desk ever. You always had to wait. Cleaning people were not thourough, should have taken longer but maybe there again there was a shortage of workers. We figured that when you go to Duluth you do not spend your time in the hotel so we felt it was OK. Loved the convenience to the bridge, restaurants, shops, etc. Free parking, hot breakfast, Discovered the trolly, so did not have to drive everywhere. I would definitly stay there again....great value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window. Take the trolly when you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thank you for your review! We always take these comments and use them to make us better.
Thanks again and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

The Suites Hotel is a rarity in that it has interior rooms with no windows, just an entry door on each side. For those of us who don't like the morning sun beaming in, as it always does no matter what the usual window treatment, it is just great. Plus, these are the cheaper rooms as well. They are spacious and well-appointed. The elevators were always fast to arrive. The hot breakfast is great. Along with all the normal foods, one morning there was french toast, sausage, scrambled eggs, and hash browns. The other included biscuits and sausage gravy. All the food was delicious. All but one of the staff at the front desk was exceptional in helping us with our needs and insuring we had a pleasant stay. The employee in housekeeping who answered my call took our name and address and said she would mail out our cell phone charger that we had left plugged in by the bed. By the way, the bed was pretty comfortable too - not too firm and not too soft. The Suites Hotel was a real bright spot in our visit, considering we were there for the flood of the century. All in all, a fantastic place to stay in Duluth.

Room Tip: If you don't like the morning sun waking you up early in the summertime, this is the place for y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for your kind review! Fortunately Canal Park was not effected by the flood and Duluth is pretty much back to normal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We came here with few expectations, but loved it. This is a unique property: it is an old warehouse that has been converted into a hotel and condos. Fifteen foot ceilings, wide hallways, exposed pipes. You get a lot for your money: We had a two (king) bedroom, two bath suite with a kitchenette for the same price as most hotel rooms. Absolutely perfect for a family. It also had a gorgeous view of the lake.

I can see that if someone wants the ordinary, run-of-the mill experience, they might be put off. The carpets in the hallway were a bit worn, some of the furniture a bit dated, but everything was very clean and the beds were wonderfully comfortable. Good quality towels and toiletries in the bathroom.

I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Great, hot continental breakfast and a spacious eating area. The location is perfect for seeing canal park and the lakefront. I did not use the pool, but my daughter did and enjoyed it very much.

My only regret is that we only stayed one night. As I said to my husband when we left, "Wouldn't it be great if every hotel was like this?"

Room Tip: The view of the lake from the lake side rooms is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Loved this old style hotel. In Canal Park, you can walk everywhere. Free parking across the street. The rooms have a kitchen like area with a small microwave,stove,large fridge. We really loved this place. If you are looking for new carpets and a lakeside room this is not it. But it is great if you like a bit of old Duluth and some history. Beds are very comfortable. Ask for a outside room if you want a window. Inside rooms are a little bit less expensive. Really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for writing this review!! The Suites Hotel is definitely not a cookie cutter branded hotel. We are very unique and offer a wide varitey of guest accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pillager, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Came for marathon. We have stayed several places in Duluth with great experiences. Our favorite is ground floor lakeside at Inn on Superior.

For a city so organized for marathon, this hotel is not. When I booked room, I was told to come early due to traffic and parking. "we have people come early so rooms are ready"
Room not ready at noon or two " we don't know when it will be ready"
There are two front desk clerks with at least 3 people waiting at all times, in between they are answering phones.
Housekeepers walk through lobby with clean and dirty laundry. I haven't seen room yet but for time to clean and $329/noc, expectations are high.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for writing this review. We apologize for the delay on getting you early. The Grandmas Marathon arrival day is always very busy for us, but this year had a full house the night before, leaving us with the majority of our rooms to get ready for our arriving guests, This is one of those days when everyone likes to arrive early to settle in for the evening. It was difficult, but for the most part we very successful. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We ( 2 couples ) booked into a 2bdrm suite June 10th for 1 nite. It was advertised at a good discount for Canadian visitors. We drove down from Thunder Bay and arrived early so our room would not be available till 4pm, of course a great chance for the girls to go shopping, and boy, did they.Went to Famous Daves ( next door ) for the best ribs I have had, the otheres had chick/fish etc. Breakfast at the hotel was included ( hash browns, eggs, sausages, french toast,waffles, juices, toast, cereals) so you won't starve.
The scenery down to Duluth and back is spectacular along Lake Superior.
Our room was a good surprise, 2 bedrooms, 2 bath,2 tv's,fireplace, jacuzzi, spotlessly clean, lots of towels, everything you need, dishes, cutlery etc.
Had no time to use pool, hot tub, exercise room......... hopefully next time
Wud we go back............ try to keep us away

William2 Canada

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you for your kind words, we very much enjoy your Canadian friends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.1 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
0.8 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#4 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
0.4 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#9 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Suites Hotel in Canal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Suites Hotel in Canal Park

Address: 325 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Suites Hotel in Canal Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Suites Hotel in Canal Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel In Canal Park
In Canal Park Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.