We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for a Sunday evening stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Suites Hotel in Canal Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Suites Hotel in Canal Park to your Saves list
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   325 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Monticello, Minnesota, USA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great value for a Sunday evening stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

The hotel was clean, the rooms were unique with the architecture, kitchenettes, small refrigerator, etc. The bathroom was clean and the bed - OMG was so comfortable! Totally would stay here again and again! Will definitely come back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Thanks for staying with us and sharing your experience! And you a right about the beds...they are awesome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    89
    47
    38
    17
See reviews for
106
74
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rogers, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Along with about 5 other parties, we were unable to check in on time. We were told that our room would be ready in about "5-10" minutes. We stood next to the desk so they could just get us when they were ready. 45 minutes later, we had to return to the clerk to ask him if they were ready for us. They were, but hadnt bothered to mention that to us. They said they would refund us $20 for our late check in, which we appreciated. The next morning when we looked at the invoice under our door, it did not reflect the discount we were told we would receive, classy. We then had to call the front desk to get that adjusted and asked them if they could please bring up the new invoice. They said they couldnt. Asking to get a correct invoice delivered to our room was too much of a hassle. After audible displeasure from us, they said they could bring it up, but probably not for at least another hour. Later, I noticed that my credit card reflected a $176 charge.. far over the $116 invoice we had received for the second time. I called to get this straightened out.. I spoke to a manager who could not tell me where this $176 charge came from, but was very patronizing as he spoke to me about "how debit cards work." -- I understand an extra charge for incidentals, but $60 seems extreme. The rooms are dingy, but okay if you're not planning on staying in them too much of the time.. its the awful service that really brings this hotel to a new low.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, General Manager at The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Thank you for your candid review. We always work hard to correct our short comings when a guest experience is not up to their expectations, it's the only way to continue to give great customer service to you, our guests. We take this to heart and give it our all everyday. Thank you again and keep the reviews coming.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Oaks, Minnesota
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Great location in a fun zone. Very good use of an old structure. Entryways have No ramps ,not so handicap friendly.

Room Tip: 4th floor ok for smokers-if thats what you want?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Good hotel in a cool old building in a great location in Canal Park in Duluth. The carpeting and stuff was showing its age a bit, but it was clean and convenient. The suites are great options for kids, so you can have a separate bedroom. The pool area had a full-size pool, as well as a small one for young kids as well as a hot-tub. Breakfast was excellent, including freshly cooked Belgian waffles.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011 via mobile

The staff went beyond to help us on Labor Day weekend. Huge rooms, kind of over priced.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Valley, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel several times. It has never been on the level as a new Hampton or Courtyard but has been ok to stay in because they offer one bedroom suites that are nice when my daughter travels with me. This time it was much more run down. My husband who will stay in anything even commented on it. My daughter kept asking what the smell was. Our remote for the TV did not work. When we called they did come up to fix it. The air in our room also did not work. When I called to the desk to ask about it they told me to move the regulator to the lowest setting. That did nothing. I had it set at 50 and after an uncomfortable sleepless night in a warm stuffy room the temp was still 72 when I got up. I mentioned this when I checked out and the front desk clerk just laughed. I am spend over 150 nights a year in hotels and this was the worst I have stayed in for a very long time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmcdmc
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Booked here as a last resort. SUPER expensive compared to other locations. Nothing exceptional to make it stand out for any reason.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Suites Hotel in Canal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Suites Hotel in Canal Park

Address: 325 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Suites Hotel in Canal Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Suites Hotel in Canal Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel In Canal Park
In Canal Park Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Suites Hotel in Canal Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.