We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canal Park Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Canal Park Lodge to your Saves list
Canal Park Lodge
250 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Rochester, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

The hotel is beautiful on the outside, and well-maintained on the inside. And can I mention the pool!? Very large and clean... Amazing stay. The back side of the hotel is right on the North Shore of Lake Superior, beautiful sunrises and the boardwalk is right there, too. Well worth your money, within walking distance of all the downtown restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    65
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
86
88
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maple Grove, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

My family of 4 spent a couple of nights at Canal Park in August. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. The hotel was fully booked for the weekend because the tall ships were in town. My husband had accidentally booked a king bed for our family, and when I explained to the desk clerk that we had a family of four she found us a room immediately. The beds were plush, the decor was Mission Style and had beautiful outdoor prints. I loved being right on the beach. The view was amazing. My children enjoyed the pool. We enjoyed breakfast every morning and the Caribou Coffee. We plan on going back next year. There is so much to do in walking distance. We didn't get in the car the whole time we were there.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, MN
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Canal Park Lodge for a one-night getaway. We found it to be very clean and comfortable, with attractive decor. The breakfast buffet was really a notch above most typical continental breakfast offerings. Cheesy hash browns, sausage, eggs, Belgian waffles - it impressed me and I'm not a big breakfast person! We will definitely stay here again when we next have a chance to return to Duluth.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brighton, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

We stayed at the Canal Park Lodge, and could not have been more pleased. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The hotel is right on the lake and has beautiful views. The complimentary full breakfast was delicious and even satisfied our picky 4-year old! The staff was helpful and friendly. Overall, one of the better hotels we have stayed at in Duluth.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

We stayed at Canal Park Lodge for 3 nights in mid-October. Everything ws painless from making the reservation, finding the hotel, and checking in/out. The corner suite had a walk-in shower, balcony, and views of the city and Lake Superior. The room was clean, staff was polite, friendly and accomodating. The included breakfast features Caribou coffee and everything else from eggs to waffles. There is a daily Happy Hour in the lobby, and fruit and chees plates may be delivered to your room from nearby Bellisio's. We have stayed at numerous hotels in the vicinity, and this is by far the best we have experienced.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

The hotel is on the beach; nice views from the beach side (which I would recommend). It is within walking distance of lots of restaurants and attractions. The staff was very helpful; the breakfast was definitely above average. NIce public areas.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isanti, Minnesota
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

We had a beautiful first level room overlooking Lake Superior. Our room was a regular size room with two queen beds. The beds were very comfortable with plenty of pillows and a nice thick duvet cover. There is a microwave, a small refrigerator and coffeemaker in the room. There is a large LCD TV also. There is two separate lounges. One has a fireplace, comfy chairs and two computer workstations. The other lounge is very nice with very comfy chairs/couches to relax in overlooking beautiful Lake Superior. Our room was only two doors from the main lounge. There were people in the lounge until late and early in the morning and we never heard a peep in our room which was very close and it worried me that the noise would be overbearing. It was not - heard nothing in the room. There is free parking in the lot outside the hotel. It is centrally located to the beautiful Duluth lift bridge and all the shops/restaurants on the canal. Even the city view is beautiful, seeing the hills and businesses - nice. The very BEST part of this hotel is the free morning breakfast. All I can say is WOW. There were scrambled eggs (not the powdered ones), hash brown caserole- delicious, make your own omelets, waffles, bacon, ham and other items to put on the make your own omelet, breads, yogurt, fruit, juices, cereals, milk. It was good, plentiful and hot. In the afternoon they have a cash bar and an appetizer. The night they were there they had meat balls. They also were excellent. The only downside which is very minimal is one of the front desk clerks was very friendly and helpful the other one was just "so so". But, that was not enough to deter me from visiting this hotel again. It is a great value and a great stay!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canal Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Park Lodge

Address: 250 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Duluth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#7 Family Hotel in Duluth
#9 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Canal Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Park Hotel Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canal Park Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.