We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whirlpool King suite is the best room!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canal Park Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Canal Park Lodge to your Saves list
Canal Park Lodge
250 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Whirlpool King suite is the best room!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Stayed here in the whirlpool king suite and it was wonderful. The bed was soft and the rainfall shower is a plus. The whirlpool fits two comfortably and is located in the bedroom which closes off with French doors. There is a separate seating area with a sofa and refrigerator. Spacious enough where we had in suite massages. The patio is facing Superior where the sunsets are amazing. The breakfast varied with eggs, bacon, cold cereals, pastries and Caribou coffee. Overall, convenient location on the boardwalk and easy access to surrounding restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: Lower level whirlpool king suites are the absolute best rooms here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    69
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
92
89
7
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Our family loved our stay at Canal Park Lodge. We had a room with a lakeside view, a must if you love watching ships. This was our third stay at this hotel. Each time we had excellent experiences. The staff is very friendly and extremely polite and helpful. The hot breakfast is great. There is plenty of variety, even for picky eaters. They also have hot Caribou coffee in the lobby and offer a mini bar in the evenings during the peak season. This hotel has the best pool! It is extremely well maintained, the perfect temperature, and very clean without being over chlorinated. The hotel is located in an ideal location. We were able to walk to restaurants, shops, and local tourist sites. It is the only place we now stay when we are in Duluth.

Room Tip: Select a room with a lakeside view. It costs a little more but is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bird Island, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We had a great stay at this very convenient location. The hotel has a nice ambience and was up to our expectations, very clean and comfortable and I would call it upscale. It over looks beautiful Lake Superior just off the board walk that provides a short walk to Canal park, the lift bridge, many restaurants. It has complimentary hot breakfast that was fabulous.

Room Tip: Lake Superior views are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I spent 2 nights at Canal Park Lodge recently. We found the hotel to be very clean and the staff to be very friendly. The hotel is located in a very convenient location in Canal Park. The nightly rate is high but comparable to the other hotels in Canal Park. We would definitely return if in the area.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed in 2 queen room overlooking the lake. The view was awesome. Room size and furnishings were nice.

We enjoyed the patio on the lake and going to the beach.

Right on the lake walk and close to a number of restaurants. We enjoyed Pizza Luce and Canal Park Brewery.

The mock bar in the evenings was nice but there was not much for free food, it went very quickly.

Breakfast was ok. There are warm items but they weren't great. We stuck to the cereal and pastries mostly.

The pool is ok. I was expecting something a little bigger or nicer.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would love to come back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This newer hotel provides a slightly upscale choice among the row of Canal Park venues. Better materials & workmanship are apparent, designs are fun (wastebasket in shaoe of an ore boat funnel), & the breakfast bar contained a new twist - make your own bfast burritos, yum! We liked being able to purchase a mixed drink after a warm walk on the boarwalk, but missed the free appetizers. Our city/beach end whirpool suite was spacious & comfy, but needs better lighting. Our small deck faced the city, which was interesting & pretty at night, but just a small slice of the lake, so would be sure to select another location facing the lake more head-on. We missed being further down towards the canal, so we could see the ships coming & going.

Room Tip: Get one facing the lake, not on a city corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianola, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We always stay in Duluth 1 night on our way to Ely, MN. We love the Canal Park Lodge. Very clean, nice rooms, wonderful view of the lake and the staff is wonderful. Free breakfast is great! Within walking distance to several fun shops & restaurants.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Canal Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Park Lodge

Address: 250 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Duluth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#7 Family Hotel in Duluth
#9 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Canal Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Park Hotel Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canal Park Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.