We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll return again!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canal Park Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Canal Park Lodge to your Saves list
Canal Park Lodge
250 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“We'll return again!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I spent 2 nights at Canal Park Lodge recently. We found the hotel to be very clean and the staff to be very friendly. The hotel is located in a very convenient location in Canal Park. The nightly rate is high but comparable to the other hotels in Canal Park. We would definitely return if in the area.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    65
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
87
88
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed in 2 queen room overlooking the lake. The view was awesome. Room size and furnishings were nice.

We enjoyed the patio on the lake and going to the beach.

Right on the lake walk and close to a number of restaurants. We enjoyed Pizza Luce and Canal Park Brewery.

The mock bar in the evenings was nice but there was not much for free food, it went very quickly.

Breakfast was ok. There are warm items but they weren't great. We stuck to the cereal and pastries mostly.

The pool is ok. I was expecting something a little bigger or nicer.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would love to come back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This newer hotel provides a slightly upscale choice among the row of Canal Park venues. Better materials & workmanship are apparent, designs are fun (wastebasket in shaoe of an ore boat funnel), & the breakfast bar contained a new twist - make your own bfast burritos, yum! We liked being able to purchase a mixed drink after a warm walk on the boarwalk, but missed the free appetizers. Our city/beach end whirpool suite was spacious & comfy, but needs better lighting. Our small deck faced the city, which was interesting & pretty at night, but just a small slice of the lake, so would be sure to select another location facing the lake more head-on. We missed being further down towards the canal, so we could see the ships coming & going.

Room Tip: Get one facing the lake, not on a city corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianola, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We always stay in Duluth 1 night on our way to Ely, MN. We love the Canal Park Lodge. Very clean, nice rooms, wonderful view of the lake and the staff is wonderful. Free breakfast is great! Within walking distance to several fun shops & restaurants.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We have fallen in love with Duluth and the Canal Park Lodge is in the center of where we want to be while visiting this beautiful city. Twenty steps from the Lakewalk and the gorgeous Lake Superior, it is the perfect location! The complimentary breakfast was topnotch, the staff was friendly and very helpful, rooms clean and comfortable. The lounge was welcoming and you could either sit inside or out on the flagstone patio and equally enjoy the panormic view. From our room we were able to see the big ships in the distance and had plenty of time to walk to the Canal to see them coming into the canal and pass under the Aerial Bridge. So exciting! My only regret is we didn't get to stay long enough!

Room Tip: Be sure to get a lakeview room. They have some rooms with balconies that looked inviting, but we we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Beautiful building, rooms and property. Great location, cont. breakfast and staff. Beds were comfortable with nice linens. Loved the patio with fire ring. Busy place since it is a nice hotel.
Becky was most helpful and cares that the guests are happy. We will return!

Room Tip: Loved the lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anoka
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We had a wonderful stay, it was over the 4th of July holiday and although Canal park is busy this time of year, the hotel never felt like it was too congested. The lounge area has the most comfortable couches, the breakfast was wonderful the rooms had everything we need. Would recommend to family and friends. Great stay!

Room Tip: lake front view was breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canal Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Park Lodge

Address: 250 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Duluth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#7 Family Hotel in Duluth
#9 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Canal Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Park Hotel Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canal Park Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.