We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lakeside Hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canal Park Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Canal Park Lodge to your Saves list
Canal Park Lodge
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   250 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Twin Cities
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Lakeside Hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Beautiful building, rooms and property. Great location, cont. breakfast and staff. Beds were comfortable with nice linens. Loved the patio with fire ring. Busy place since it is a nice hotel.
Becky was most helpful and cares that the guests are happy. We will return!

Room Tip: Loved the lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
anoka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We had a wonderful stay, it was over the 4th of July holiday and although Canal park is busy this time of year, the hotel never felt like it was too congested. The lounge area has the most comfortable couches, the breakfast was wonderful the rooms had everything we need. Would recommend to family and friends. Great stay!

Room Tip: lake front view was breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beckybee22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakopee, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights, king lake view room for our 2nd wedding anniversary. Great view and really close to everything Duluth has to offer. Very impressed with this property and the amenities. The free continental breakfast in the morning was really a nice touch and saved us a lot of money. Extensive selection as well. The free Caribou Coffee and Cappuccino all day was a plus too. Room was well kept, quiet and suited our needs. Bathroom was nice and big. Really no complaints... would definitely pick this lodge again the next time we are back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

My son, his friend and I stayed at the Canal Park Lodge as part of a hockey team, group booking. Our double room, on the third floor, provided ample space for all of us, was clean, and was well appointed. What set it apart from other similar rooms was the private balcony, overlooking magnificent Lake Superior and the walking trail. I enjoyed my morning coffee each day on the balcony, rain or shine. The continental breakfast consisted of a variety of items, from eggs and waffles, potatoes, fresh fruit, etc. and coffee and tea were available all day. Cocktail hour seemed to happen daily at 5pm, where free appetizers were served alongside a mobile bar. The boys enjoyed the pool area. A workout area was also available. The location of the hotel allowed for dryland workouts along the recreation trail, walks to area restaurants and attractions and easy access to I-35 to get anywhere else in and around Duluth. Overall, I was pleasantly surprised and would stay in this hotel again when returning to the area.

Room Tip: Room 315 had a lake-view balcony. You can enjoy the morning sun-rise:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CopRasFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Stayed here on the recommendation of a friend. I like to stay in Canal Park when I head to Duluth to shop, as there are great restaurants and shops within walking distance of your hotel. I had never stayed here, but the other hotels where very expensive during the days that I wanted to book. I called the hotel to book the room and asked for the Canadian package (I think it was called) and got a room for a very reasonable rate.
Once there, the staff was friendly and helpful. The room was nice and clean with a great view of the lake. The cocktail hour in the evening with appetizers and drinks was great. The included continental breakfast was delicious and there was a great variety of food.
I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kgtmrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed here on a whim and were incredibly impressed. The front desk staff was friendly and made us feel welcomed, they even called a taxi for us. Cocktail hour was a HUGE bonus and their continental breakfast was an awesome spread including hot eggs and sausage, make your own waffle, and even mini muffins. The room was large, clean, and comfortable with a great view of Lake Superior. We truly felt like king and queen. Will definitely recommend and add it to our list of Duluth hotels.

Room Tip: Can't beat the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoffeeLove4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

My cousin and I were in Duluth for my aunt's 100th birthday celebration. She made the reservations at Canal Park Lodge and we could not stop raving about what a great lodge this is. It's along Lake Superior with a fantastic view of the lake,adjacent to the recreation path, walking distance to the Aerial Bridge, restaurants and shops, and serves a fantastic breakfast with many choices every morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the lake side for a fabulous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbieMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.2 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
0.9 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#10 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 555 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Park Lodge

Address: 250 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#8 Family Hotel in Duluth
#9 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Canal Park Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
116 Upscale units in Duluth's Canal Park. This Newest Lakeshore Duluth Hotel features 100% smoke free guest rooms and meeting space, overlooking beautiful Lake Superior on one side, and is the gateway to the famous Canal Park on the other. Canal Park Lodge also provides easy access to the downtown area and the Lake Walk, with miles of scenic walking, running, or biking giving you a truly scenic view of the Duluth MN area. Great dining and shopping, the famous Grandma's restaurants are nearby, a timeless and local Duluth favorite. The Canal Park Brewing Company is located right next door for convenient dinning and the best pint of beer in the Twin Ports. We also feature an impressive lobby, complimentary hot breakfast, and a unique pool area. Enjoy a remarkable view of Duluth from one of our balcony suites. Our hotel is situated in the heart of Canal Park and at the end of the chain of hotels along Lake Superior, to offer you maximum comfort and privacy. We also offer great accommodations for groups or conferences in Duluth with meeting space, and food catered by Bellisio's & Grandmas Restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Canal Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Park Hotel Duluth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing