We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous views...Convenient to everything...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canal Park Lodge

Save Saved
You added Canal Park Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Canal Park Lodge
250 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous views...Convenient to everything...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

My son, his friend and I stayed at the Canal Park Lodge as part of a hockey team, group booking. Our double room, on the third floor, provided ample space for all of us, was clean, and was well appointed. What set it apart from other similar rooms was the private balcony, overlooking magnificent Lake Superior and the walking trail. I enjoyed my morning coffee each day on the balcony, rain or shine. The continental breakfast consisted of a variety of items, from eggs and waffles, potatoes, fresh fruit, etc. and coffee and tea were available all day. Cocktail hour seemed to happen daily at 5pm, where free appetizers were served alongside a mobile bar. The boys enjoyed the pool area. A workout area was also available. The location of the hotel allowed for dryland workouts along the recreation trail, walks to area restaurants and attractions and easy access to I-35 to get anywhere else in and around Duluth. Overall, I was pleasantly surprised and would stay in this hotel again when returning to the area.

Room Tip: Room 315 had a lake-view balcony. You can enjoy the morning sun-rise:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    55
    13
    5
    0
See reviews for
75
71
6
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Stayed here on the recommendation of a friend. I like to stay in Canal Park when I head to Duluth to shop, as there are great restaurants and shops within walking distance of your hotel. I had never stayed here, but the other hotels where very expensive during the days that I wanted to book. I called the hotel to book the room and asked for the Canadian package (I think it was called) and got a room for a very reasonable rate.
Once there, the staff was friendly and helpful. The room was nice and clean with a great view of the lake. The cocktail hour in the evening with appetizers and drinks was great. The included continental breakfast was delicious and there was a great variety of food.
I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed here on a whim and were incredibly impressed. The front desk staff was friendly and made us feel welcomed, they even called a taxi for us. Cocktail hour was a HUGE bonus and their continental breakfast was an awesome spread including hot eggs and sausage, make your own waffle, and even mini muffins. The room was large, clean, and comfortable with a great view of Lake Superior. We truly felt like king and queen. Will definitely recommend and add it to our list of Duluth hotels.

Room Tip: Can't beat the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

My cousin and I were in Duluth for my aunt's 100th birthday celebration. She made the reservations at Canal Park Lodge and we could not stop raving about what a great lodge this is. It's along Lake Superior with a fantastic view of the lake,adjacent to the recreation path, walking distance to the Aerial Bridge, restaurants and shops, and serves a fantastic breakfast with many choices every morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the lake side for a fabulous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had a lake view room, and it was spectacular! The rooms were large, as well as the bathroom. The lounge on the first floor overlooked Lake Superior, and had a very cosy feel to it. The lodge offered a hot breakfast during the morning hours, as well as coffee and tea throughout the day. The location was in the middle of downtown, so it was easy enough to walk to restaurants and bars that were nearby. The only negative I have is the noise while you are in your room. The walls are thin, and you can hear your neighbours and people in the hallway. But if you go to bed later, and rise earlier, than it shouldn't be a problem. Otherwise, it had an authentic "lodge" feel to it.

Room Tip: Lake side is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Ontario
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We were not on the lake-side but were very pleased with the size and cleanliness of the room (king-sized bed). The front desk staff were extremely helpful and courteous and made us feel welcome. The cocktail hour was a bonus!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Try as I might, I can't thing of anything negative about Canal Park Lodge. The first-floor lounge is large and luxurious, with a great view of Lake Superior and an outdoor patio. My room was large, also with a lake view (great for sunrise- and storm-- watching. Front desk was efficient and courteous. There is a pool--a warning to those who dislike screaming children--but is removed from main part of the building. An excellent and fairy new addition to Duluth's Canal Park waterfront!
As a 10-year resident of the area, I'll offer two cautions: (1) This is not cheap in any season. There are many quite adequate downtown motels @ $80-100 per night. Balcony suites in the summer are great but at New York-style prices. (2) Canal Park traffic in the summer is just awful. Unless you plan to visit local state parks, don't drive; Rental bikes are available, and the local transit system offers frequent shuttle buses.

Room Tip: Lakeview and balconies are available. Third floor for maximum quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canal Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Park Lodge

Address: 250 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Duluth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#6 Family Hotel in Duluth
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Canal Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Park Hotel Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canal Park Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.