We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canal Park Lodge

Save Saved
You added Canal Park Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Canal Park Lodge
250 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Superior, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Canal Park Lodge is a great place to stay in Duluth. Great breakfast very morning and a cash bar at night. Close to many great places to eat and shop. Extremely nice rooms, clean, friendly staff, and great views of the lake if you get a lake view room! Would recommend to all!!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    55
    13
    5
    0
See reviews for
75
71
6
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Our family stayed here for the weekend and had a great time. We had dinner at the brewery next door, it was very good and nice and close to walk after a couple of beer. The hotel has very comfy beds and pillows. It has a great hot breakfast and caribou coffee. There is a cash bar in the lobby at night, which is nice to sit and have a drink on the comfy couch in the lobby. We will return.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

I must begin this review by stating that Canal Park Lodge has been my favourite hotel in Duluth for years. Just the charm of Canal Park makes it my Go-To spot in the city, and of all the hotels in that hub, Canal Park Lodge has always embodied the earthy, green vision of the area. All other visits would have given it a five star glowing review and I feel bad that I didn't take the time to review then, but this last time was a disappointment and made me pick up my cyber-pen to comment…

Simply put, the rooms smelled. We came with our family last month for March break and were eagerly looking forward to the space afforded by these large rooms. As soon as we opened the door, a wave of odour hit, causing us to immediately turn and go ask for a new room. We were given one, but it was the same. The third room we requested was the least but still, all three rooms smelled like feet. In changing our rooms, the woman at the front desk rolled her eyes (bad customer service) and obliged without even a comment. I'm in the customer service industry, and you can always tell a crabby customer from one you should take seriously. This woman didn't care to try.

Now this hotel is no longer brand-spanking new so the carpets may be in need of a change. Fair enough but we found pretzels stuffed in the air-conditioner, dust-bunnies in the closet and bobby pins in the dressers, a sign that the cleaning protocols are less than five star. In a hotel like this, that is a little frightening.

I love this hotel and would hate to see it start to slip by bad hiring practices or less-than-stellar service. I hope that a few complaints by less-satisfied customers might give them the nudge they need to make the needed improvements and put this hotel back in first place where it belongs.

Room Tip: Pick a room facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishpeming, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

My mother and I stayed here for a vacation weekend sans husbands or kids. I was hoping for it to be very relaxing, because when I think of the word "lodge", I imagine a place of respite and luxury.

Well, this hotel definitely has both! Not only does it look like a lodge on the outside, but as soon as you walk in, you are greeted by a large stone fireplace, mounted fish and wildlife in the walls, and floor to ceiling windows that overlook Lake Superior. They also scent the air in the hotel to smell like different things. Pretty neat.

Every staff member I talked to was friendly and helpful.

Our room was very large and had a balcony facing the lake. It was just a standard, two bed room, but I was surprised at the amount of space. Nothing to complain about with the rooms. It was quiet and clean.

The breakfast was also great: eggs, sausage, bacon, fresh fruit, yogurt, toast, bagels, muffins, cheesy hash browns, and waffles. They also serve Caribou Coffee, which is one of my personal favorites. The breakfast staff was accommodating and helpful and kept everything well stocked. There is a lot of room to eat, too, with plenty of table and chair space.

The hotel is within walking distance to many different shops and restaurants and is also on a running and walking path, the Lake Walk. I would have loved to have gone for a run on the path, but it seemed pretty muddy and wet, due to the spring thaw, so I opted to work out in the fitness room in the hotel instead.

The only thing I would say for a downfall about this place is the fitness room. I expected, for the price of the rooms and the great features of the hotel, a much bigger fitness center. It is a very small room with equipment kind of crammed in there. I have stayed at two Hampton Inn hotels within the past year and those places have huge and awesome fitness rooms. That's kind of what I was expecting here. Maybe they will upgrade in the future, though. I'm not sure. It is not a huge complaint, I just expected more.

I would definitely return. It is a very nice hotel.

Room Tip: Get a lake side room for a pretty sunrise view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

I've stayed here 3 times in different rooms and all were excellent. My favorite room is 349, that's a corner suite with 10 by 10 foot deck that overlooks canal park and the lake. Room has oversized walk in shower and 2 person hot tub..The hot breakfast is the best..

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrace Bay, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We just returned from a nights stay in Duluth, and have to say that this hotel really impressed us! Everything was just awesome to the hotel staff, cocktail hour, accommodations and the hot breakfast in the morning! Plus, a great rate for Canadian travellers! Loved that you could walk to restaurants and shops in the area. This is the first time we have stayed here, and this won't be our last!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We just returned from Duluth and were anxious to send our comments about Canal Park Lodge. This is one of the best hotels we've stayed in -- it was immaculate, reasonable rates, wonderful beds, and the staff was so helpful and seemed to enjoy what they were doing. The registration staff smiled all the while they checked us in, answered any questions we had, and then again when we checked out. We will certainly recommend this hotel to anyone considering visiting Duluth - and it would be the first place we'd stay outselves. Thanks Canal Park for making our (short) stay so special!

Room Tip: We liked the second floor lake side - gorgeous sunrises!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimPaquette, General Manager at Canal Park Lodge, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the Lodge while you visited Duluth.
Thank you for all your kind words.
We hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
Quiet, Pool, Fr...
Show More
0.1 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
Free internet...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
Free Breakfast...
Show More
2.5 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Romantic, Free...
Show More
0.5 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Budget, Pool, F...
Show More
4.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Duluth North
Charming, Mid-r...
Show More
0.1 mi away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Park Lodge

Address: 250 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Duluth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#6 Family Hotel in Duluth
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Canal Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Park Hotel Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canal Park Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.