We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & price for Canadians!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canal Park Lodge

Save Saved
You added Canal Park Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Canal Park Lodge
250 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Terrace Bay, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great location & price for Canadians!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We just returned from a nights stay in Duluth, and have to say that this hotel really impressed us! Everything was just awesome to the hotel staff, cocktail hour, accommodations and the hot breakfast in the morning! Plus, a great rate for Canadian travellers! Loved that you could walk to restaurants and shops in the area. This is the first time we have stayed here, and this won't be our last!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    140
    58
    13
    5
    0
See reviews for
79
74
6
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We just returned from Duluth and were anxious to send our comments about Canal Park Lodge. This is one of the best hotels we've stayed in -- it was immaculate, reasonable rates, wonderful beds, and the staff was so helpful and seemed to enjoy what they were doing. The registration staff smiled all the while they checked us in, answered any questions we had, and then again when we checked out. We will certainly recommend this hotel to anyone considering visiting Duluth - and it would be the first place we'd stay outselves. Thanks Canal Park for making our (short) stay so special!

Room Tip: We liked the second floor lake side - gorgeous sunrises!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimPaquette, General Manager at Canal Park Lodge, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the Lodge while you visited Duluth.
Thank you for all your kind words.
We hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

My family loves staying here. The hotel is very cozy & inviting upon entering the lobby. The staff are friendly, the rooms clean & well appointed. The pool area is well kept & the windows make for a very bright space.
It is situated in lovely Canal Park, with a brewery next door, lots of good restaurants & bars close by & the amazing lake walk is right outside the door. When staying in Duluth, this is our #1 choice.
The complimentary breakfast is quite good & you aren't cramped into a small room to eat, which is great!

Room Tip: Lake view jacuzzi suites are amazing! With a private balcony overlooking the lake, it makes a nice s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimPaquette, Manager at Canal Park Lodge, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Happy to here we are your #1 choice when coming to Duluth!
Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I stayed on a Thursday night and Sunday night at the Canadian rate. The hotel was very nice, modern and clean. Check in and check out was easy. The breakfast was great with lots of options. The only downside was the sporadic WiFi. It would come and go and would be completely unavailable at times.

Room Tip: The King rooms are quite small. Choose room 200 - end of the hall. Extremely spacious with pull ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Very tidy and wholesome family type hotel. Very central position. Room was adequate but not outstanding. Breakfast included in rate. Staff were mostly friendly except one dragon on reception who made us feel unwelcome. Good middle of the road experience.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

The hotel was extremely beautiful-I definitely recommend! The full breakfast housed in the lobby was fantastic, and they still serve coffee, cocoa, and juice all day and night! Get their fast, or conventioners take up all the big tables. The room was just a standard with no balcony, but we still had swooping views of Lake Superior! Make sure to check our Grandma's, it's right down the street, along with tons of other restaurants.

Room Tip: Grandma's Restaurant is within walking distance
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We held a surprise party for a family member. We booked three rooms, one of which was a suite. Unfortunately, it was also the weekend of a girls' hockey tournament. The lobby boasts a "Caribou Coffee" bar. ALL the pots were empty for approximately 1.5 hours in the main lobby. The main floor (where our rooms were) were flooded with girls from various teams running up and down the halls (well into the middle of the night), no adult supervision in the pool area which the children swarmed, the hotel desk staff was intermittently present checking in guests unrelated to the tournament group. The hotel staff could not keep up in the morning with the demand during the continental breakfast; overflowing trash cans, empty food offerings, dirty dining tables. Very poor management maintaining a relaxing, expensive visit to the hotel allowing the group of guests to dictate tone, volume, behavior, all excesses. Parents were not expected to be supervising. If the hotel knows that a large, disruptive group is occupying the hotel, would more staff be added to accommodate the demands made. Who exactly was in charge? The 8-12 year old girls or management? The children I think. It certainly smelled like it. Our tab ended up being $500+ and we spent most of that time trying to dodge sweating, screaming girls in hallways, missing out on the hors d'ourves, coffee, pool, decent service. Won't be back.

Room Tip: Pick a suite or end room along the halls. Everything else sounds like stomping elephants, especiall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canal Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Park Lodge

Address: 250 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Duluth
#3 Business Hotel in Duluth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#6 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Canal Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Park Hotel Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canal Park Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.