We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Supervision” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Canal Park Lodge

Save Saved
You added Canal Park Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Canal Park Lodge
250 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
“Poor Supervision”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We held a surprise party for a family member. We booked three rooms, one of which was a suite. Unfortunately, it was also the weekend of a girls' hockey tournament. The lobby boasts a "Caribou Coffee" bar. ALL the pots were empty for approximately 1.5 hours in the main lobby. The main floor (where our rooms were) were flooded with girls from various teams running up and down the halls (well into the middle of the night), no adult supervision in the pool area which the children swarmed, the hotel desk staff was intermittently present checking in guests unrelated to the tournament group. The hotel staff could not keep up in the morning with the demand during the continental breakfast; overflowing trash cans, empty food offerings, dirty dining tables. Very poor management maintaining a relaxing, expensive visit to the hotel allowing the group of guests to dictate tone, volume, behavior, all excesses. Parents were not expected to be supervising. If the hotel knows that a large, disruptive group is occupying the hotel, would more staff be added to accommodate the demands made. Who exactly was in charge? The 8-12 year old girls or management? The children I think. It certainly smelled like it. Our tab ended up being $500+ and we spent most of that time trying to dodge sweating, screaming girls in hallways, missing out on the hors d'ourves, coffee, pool, decent service. Won't be back.

Room Tip: Pick a suite or end room along the halls. Everything else sounds like stomping elephants, especiall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    55
    13
    5
    0
See reviews for
75
71
6
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Recommended by a friend, we are SO glad we stayed here! Close to great restaurants, our suite was HUGE, beautiful view of Lake Superior (albeit snowy). Staff was very pleasant, room was clean, and the breakfast included was nice when travelling with kids, there was something for everyone! Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: We had a suite with a pull-out couch for the kids, king bed in separate room with doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodbury
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Very nice family hotel. Board Games at front desk. Great lobby with the requisite lodge atmosphere. Breakfast was good with Caribou Coffee, cereal, Danish, yogurt, etc. Pool and hot tub were great. Only thing that needs improvement is the activities for kids as this is a destination lodge.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota, United States
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

The rooms are clean and well appointment. The decor is fresh and updated. Service is always friendly. Breakfast is hot and delicious. Great location on the shore close to stores, restaurants and entertainment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillsburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I had to come to Duluth for the death of a friend...A friend of mine and I stayed at the Canal Park Lodge. As soon as you walk in the Lodge you are engulfed with a warm and serene atmostphere. The big stone fireplace warms you through to the bones and considering Duluth and it's winters, it is inviting. The rooms are clean, lush and confortable. The staff is very curtious and helpful. The morning buffett of breakfast is outstanding with it's wide array of food choices, all for free!! And there is nothing like sitting in the back living room of the hotel and watching the boats come to and fro from the port of Duluth. Big wide windows overlook the lake. I will definately come back to stay here. It is my favorite hotel in Duluth!!

Room Tip: The rooms run a little small. We had 2 double beds. So if you need more space upgrade to a bigger ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I have always been consistently pleased with this property. It feels brand new, rooms are clean, great décor and a perfect location. A word of warning about winter weekends....the city plays host to hockey and other tournaments every weekend and this past one was no exception. There were both hockey and girls basketball tournaments and all the hotels in Canal Park were full of the players and their families. When the games are taking place, the hotels are a quiet respite. When games are not taking places, the public areas of the hotels are overwhelmed with the players and their families. The hotels try to separate the players' rooms from the rest of the hotel guests, but that doesn't stop the running down the halls, slamming of doors and the party that was taking place in the room next to mine at 11:00 p.m. A call to the front desk eventually solved the problem. While I would definitely stay here again, I would not stay here or anywhere in Canal Park on a winter weekend.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the to floor for quiet and a room facing the lake for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn Park
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

When we entered the front doors of the Canal Park Lodge the first thing my husband and I noticed was an overpowering perfume scent. I have severe asthma and get very ill around perfumes. I asked the front desk if the rooms were scented too and was thankful when she told us that they only scent the front entry. Not sure why this hotel feels the need to perfume scent the front entry, but they should be more concerned about their guests that are sensitive to strong odors. . The rooms were nicely decorated; the mirrors and TV screens were all smeared and not clean. The beds were ok, and the pillows were horrible and strange. They were approximately 12" x 12", were not comfortable, or big enough for adults to sleep on.
With the price of this hotel we expected much more. We stayed at the Comfort Inn and Suites the night before and had a fantastic experience

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the highest floor to cut down on the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimPaquette, General Manager at Canal Park Lodge, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
We do have a scent machine for our lobby. During the Holidays we use a Baked Apple scent to greet our guests as they come to register. We control the times of the day it comes on, the frequency and the strength. I will personally check the settings to make sure it's not overwhelming. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canal Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Park Lodge

Address: 250 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Duluth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#6 Family Hotel in Duluth
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Canal Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Park Hotel Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canal Park Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.