We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So restorative!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canal Park Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Canal Park Lodge to your Saves list
Canal Park Lodge
250 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“So restorative!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

From the quick online reservation when I'd run into problems at another hotel, to the apple cinnamon fragrance when we came in, the view, the breakfast, the fireplace, the shower, the maids, it was all so nice. I felt pampered and relaxed and restored after an awful week at work. Every employee made us feel welcome. We've been to Duluth many times, but this might be the best place we've been to, and with Duluth, that's saying a lot.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    69
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
92
89
7
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glidden, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

walking distance to downtown, which makes grabbing a bite to eat convenient, especially if you have multiple mouths to feed that rarely hunger at the same time.
beautiful fireplace to relax by and soak in some warmth.
rooms are nice, very clean.
staff was friendly and helpful.
just booked rooms for a Dec ski trip, am hoping the 2nd time is as good as the 1st was. : )

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahtomedi, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

After many years of staying in Duluth, we found a great place to stay in Canal Park. Our room had a patio and view right on Lake Superior, with the walking trail 20 feet away. Not only a great view but great people watching. The room is detailed so nicely, as well as the several common rooms. Breakfast is nice and the staff friendly. The location is ideal for a tourist visitor or a convention visit. I particularly appreciate the environmental practices they have put in practice.

Room Tip: if you can get a lakeside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We always use tripadvisor for lodging but normally stay at the bigger chains. We did not have reservations when we got there on thursday but it had good reviews and they had a room available for two nights. Our room was very nice and clean. Breakfast was very good and had many selections. It had a very roomy breakfast area. The location was perfect to walk to everything in this area. The staff was friendly and courteous. Plenty of parking. I would recommend this place to friends and plan on staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle Ia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Our room was very clean and comfortable. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Our room had a great view of the lake. The hotel was with in walking distance of attractions and restaurants. The hot breakfast was very good. I would recommend this hotel to everyone who is staying in Duluth Mn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The Canal Park Lodge has it all! Great location, beautiful decor, unbelievably clean and well kept, and a front desk staff that is not only friendly and accommodating, but extremely competent as well. I would absolutely recommend this place to family and friends! We stayed over Labor Day weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijie
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The lodge was a great place to stay
great breakfast and we were on the lake side so we could here the water draking on the shore all night. Very soothing.
The room was very comfortable and we would stay tere again

Room Tip: Try to get a lake side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canal Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Park Lodge

Address: 250 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Duluth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#7 Family Hotel in Duluth
#9 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Canal Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Park Hotel Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canal Park Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.