We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great lakes vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canal Park Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Canal Park Lodge to your Saves list
Canal Park Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   250 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Midweek Special
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle Ia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great lakes vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Our room was very clean and comfortable. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Our room had a great view of the lake. The hotel was with in walking distance of attractions and restaurants. The hot breakfast was very good. I would recommend this hotel to everyone who is staying in Duluth Mn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    75
    19
    7
    1
See reviews for
101
99
11
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The Canal Park Lodge has it all! Great location, beautiful decor, unbelievably clean and well kept, and a front desk staff that is not only friendly and accommodating, but extremely competent as well. I would absolutely recommend this place to family and friends! We stayed over Labor Day weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijie
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The lodge was a great place to stay
great breakfast and we were on the lake side so we could here the water draking on the shore all night. Very soothing.
The room was very comfortable and we would stay tere again

Room Tip: Try to get a lake side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Lucky me! Cancelled flight kept me an extra night in Duluth, MN. But how lucky to find this gem of a hotel! Great front desk service and friendly staff. Perfectly located on the Lake Front, short walk from the iconic lift bridge and easy access to restaurants, coffee house and shops.
Beautiful interior décor in the lobby however the rooms are large and clean but somewhat dated. Couldn't get great wifi in the room so spent a good deal of time in the lobby and pool area. Pool and hot tub are fabulous, welcoming feeling in the lounge and happy hour bar set up in the lobby! Free breakfast buffet with make your own waffles! Nice touch.

Great little surprise in Duluth.

Room Tip: Go for the Lakeview...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The Lodge is in the perfect location at the beginning of Canal Park. The Lakewalk is right outside their back door. The staff was friendly, and the included breakfast had a variety of items. The Lodge was clean, and had a nice openness to the guest area with large windows looking out to Lake Superior. The check out wasn't until noon so we were able to walk to Leif Gardens and back in the morning and not have to move our car. The public parking is rather expensive and sometimes tough to find. We were very pleased with our choice to stay in Duluth.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

My family loves this hotel.

There are four main options to pick from if you want to stay waterside in Duluth ... this one, The Inn, and then a Hampton and Comfort Suites. I have stayed at the Inn twice before, this was my second time at the Lodge. And it wins, hands down!

The Inn is feeling a little rundown and outdated. The Lodge, is the newest (I think!). You must stay in a room with a balcony - because really, what is the point in not staying on the water?

The staff is great - friendly and helpful. The hotel is clean and accommodating. All rooms have fridges and microwaves - a "must" for a family on vacation with kids. The breakfast is included in you nightly rate - for being a "free" breakfast, it far exceeds expectation. The afternoon free cookies are a favorite with the kids.

We plan to return for our annual family Duluth trip again next year. Thank you for a great visit!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atwater
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

First, the location is along the shore of Lake Superior, with the board walk in front of the hotel. We relaxed with the complimentary Breakfast on the front deck overlooking the various activities that surround Canal Park. The Hotel is very quiet, clean and a accommodating and friendly staff. The Canal park area has many dining and shopping experiences, as well as things to do. You will enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: The Lake Superior side is preferred, but city side gives a view of Duluth as well as Canal Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.2 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
0.5 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#5 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
2.5 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Park Lodge

Address: 250 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#7 Family Hotel in Duluth
#9 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Canal Park Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
116 Upscale units in Duluth's Canal Park. This Newest Lakeshore Duluth Hotel features 100% smoke free guest rooms and meeting space, overlooking beautiful Lake Superior on one side, and is the gateway to the famous Canal Park on the other. Canal Park Lodge also provides easy access to the downtown area and the Lake Walk, with miles of scenic walking, running, or biking giving you a truly scenic view of the Duluth MN area. Great dining and shopping, the famous Grandma's restaurants are nearby, a timeless and local Duluth favorite. The Canal Park Brewing Company is located right next door for convenient dinning and the best pint of beer in the Twin Ports. We also feature an impressive lobby, complimentary hot breakfast, and a unique pool area. Enjoy a remarkable view of Duluth from one of our balcony suites. Our hotel is situated in the heart of Canal Park and at the end of the chain of hotels along Lake Superior, to offer you maximum comfort and privacy. We also offer great accommodations for groups or conferences in Duluth with meeting space, and food catered by Bellisio's & Grandmas Restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Canal Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Park Hotel Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canal Park Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.