We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canal Park Lodge

Save Saved
You added Canal Park Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Canal Park Lodge
250 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Maitland, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great location...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The Lodge is in the perfect location at the beginning of Canal Park. The Lakewalk is right outside their back door. The staff was friendly, and the included breakfast had a variety of items. The Lodge was clean, and had a nice openness to the guest area with large windows looking out to Lake Superior. The check out wasn't until noon so we were able to walk to Leif Gardens and back in the morning and not have to move our car. The public parking is rather expensive and sometimes tough to find. We were very pleased with our choice to stay in Duluth.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    140
    58
    13
    5
    0
See reviews for
79
74
6
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

My family loves this hotel.

There are four main options to pick from if you want to stay waterside in Duluth ... this one, The Inn, and then a Hampton and Comfort Suites. I have stayed at the Inn twice before, this was my second time at the Lodge. And it wins, hands down!

The Inn is feeling a little rundown and outdated. The Lodge, is the newest (I think!). You must stay in a room with a balcony - because really, what is the point in not staying on the water?

The staff is great - friendly and helpful. The hotel is clean and accommodating. All rooms have fridges and microwaves - a "must" for a family on vacation with kids. The breakfast is included in you nightly rate - for being a "free" breakfast, it far exceeds expectation. The afternoon free cookies are a favorite with the kids.

We plan to return for our annual family Duluth trip again next year. Thank you for a great visit!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atwater
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

First, the location is along the shore of Lake Superior, with the board walk in front of the hotel. We relaxed with the complimentary Breakfast on the front deck overlooking the various activities that surround Canal Park. The Hotel is very quiet, clean and a accommodating and friendly staff. The Canal park area has many dining and shopping experiences, as well as things to do. You will enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: The Lake Superior side is preferred, but city side gives a view of Duluth as well as Canal Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Canal Park Lodge for a BNI training weekend. My husband sat in delight conference rooms while I was able to walk to fun shops, hike the boardwalk for miles and find us a fabulous restaurant within walking distance. The breakfast was delicious and so many choices! Front desk staff was very helpful and really all the staff members greeted you whenever they saw you. We enjoyed the afternoon hot cookies and the evening hot snacks in the lobby!

Room Tip: Get Lakeview. It costs a titch more, but better than parking lot view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We recently spent one night here traveling through Duluth. The location of this property is great: our window overlooked the water, and we could see ships coming and going. It is an easy walk to restaurants and shops, and a convenience store is nearby. The canal park area happily bustles with activity. Apart from its location, though, the hotel is not particularly special, particularly for its price. Our check-in and checkout were friendly and efficient. The room decor and furnishings were fine but a bit worn. Thrre is no breakfast. All in all I would stay here again but only because of the location.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and had both a lake view and city view room. The rooms were very clean and quiet. The bed wasn't the best - too firm, but the pillows were comfy. The kids loved that the pool water was warm. Breakfast was sufficient and they had good coffee. They have quite a few comfy couches and chairs to relax in. We would stay again but it wouldn't be my first choice because of the bed.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here midweek and this was a very nice clean hotel. The view of the lake was gorgeous and the beds were very comfortable. There is a microwave and fridge in the room and they serve a very nice complimentary breakfast. Flavored coffee is available 24hrs in the lobby. The location is perfect, right in the center of all the action downtown. The one complaint is they charged a fee of $1.50 plus tax for the safe. We did not use it so she offered to take that
charge off. I did not like having a charge
put on my bill for something I didn't use and wasn't aware of until I questioned what it was for. Otherwise it was a great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canal Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Park Lodge

Address: 250 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Duluth
#3 Business Hotel in Duluth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#6 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Canal Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Park Hotel Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canal Park Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.