We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can it get any better than this?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canal Park Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Canal Park Lodge to your Saves list
Canal Park Lodge
250 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Atwater
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Can it get any better than this?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

First, the location is along the shore of Lake Superior, with the board walk in front of the hotel. We relaxed with the complimentary Breakfast on the front deck overlooking the various activities that surround Canal Park. The Hotel is very quiet, clean and a accommodating and friendly staff. The Canal park area has many dining and shopping experiences, as well as things to do. You will enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: The Lake Superior side is preferred, but city side gives a view of Duluth as well as Canal Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    65
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
87
88
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Canal Park Lodge for a BNI training weekend. My husband sat in delight conference rooms while I was able to walk to fun shops, hike the boardwalk for miles and find us a fabulous restaurant within walking distance. The breakfast was delicious and so many choices! Front desk staff was very helpful and really all the staff members greeted you whenever they saw you. We enjoyed the afternoon hot cookies and the evening hot snacks in the lobby!

Room Tip: Get Lakeview. It costs a titch more, but better than parking lot view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We recently spent one night here traveling through Duluth. The location of this property is great: our window overlooked the water, and we could see ships coming and going. It is an easy walk to restaurants and shops, and a convenience store is nearby. The canal park area happily bustles with activity. Apart from its location, though, the hotel is not particularly special, particularly for its price. Our check-in and checkout were friendly and efficient. The room decor and furnishings were fine but a bit worn. Thrre is no breakfast. All in all I would stay here again but only because of the location.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and had both a lake view and city view room. The rooms were very clean and quiet. The bed wasn't the best - too firm, but the pillows were comfy. The kids loved that the pool water was warm. Breakfast was sufficient and they had good coffee. They have quite a few comfy couches and chairs to relax in. We would stay again but it wouldn't be my first choice because of the bed.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here midweek and this was a very nice clean hotel. The view of the lake was gorgeous and the beds were very comfortable. There is a microwave and fridge in the room and they serve a very nice complimentary breakfast. Flavored coffee is available 24hrs in the lobby. The location is perfect, right in the center of all the action downtown. The one complaint is they charged a fee of $1.50 plus tax for the safe. We did not use it so she offered to take that
charge off. I did not like having a charge
put on my bill for something I didn't use and wasn't aware of until I questioned what it was for. Otherwise it was a great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonie, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our family recently had the pleasure of visiting Duluth and staying at the Canal Park Lodge. We have stayed at other hotels on our annual visit to Duluth, the most recent being The Inn on Lake Superior, which was a great all around experience. This trip, however, we decided to try out the Canal Park Lodge. We were exceptionally pleased with the hotel, but even more impressed with the staff.

Upon arrival, Becky, at the front desk, had to inform me that I had made a mistake in my reservation. We were actually booked for the FOLLOWING week! I was devastated! Family members had taken scheduled time away from work and we had intended to celebrate my daughter's 6th birthday in Duluth. Becky assured me promptly, that she would do everything possible to accommodate us, and she did! We ended up with a lovely room with a beautiful view! My son could see each ship as it got closer to the canal as well as a Dutch ship anchored for several days waiting to enter the harbor. We did end up having to change rooms the next day, but Jess, also from the front desk staff was wonderful! They offered to move all our belongings (although we chose to do this ourselves in light of my mistake), and they had a room clean and available for us by 9:30 am! The exceptional service and flexibility shown to us, will definitely ensure not only our return to Canal Park Lodge, but we will also recommend this hotel to other friends and family!

Additionally, the patio is lovely! We ate breakfast there each morning, with a view of the lake, and all the dog walkers on the lake walk. They offered a nice breakfast each morning (e.g., scrambled eggs, omelets, sausage, bacon, hard boiled eggs, cereal, instant oatmeal, bagels, breads, muffins, make your own waffles, yogurt, fresh Caribou Coffee, and cappuccino. The hotel also had evening fresh baked cookies in the lobby and appetizers in the evening (however, we did not have the chance to indulge in the appetizers). An evening bar was also set up in the hotel lounge - also with a view of the lake.

The swimming area was perfect! Large mission style windows that allowed for lots of natural light. It was never busy during our stay, and the kids enjoyed swimming while the adults enjoyed the hot tub!

The rooms were comfortable, with mini fridges, a microwave, iron, blow dryer and in room safe. The rooms, as well as the hotel in general, were very clean! Rooms facing the lake have a beautiful view, and it was quiet at night. All staff members were pleasantly friendly and accommodating! We were within walking distance to the harbor and many restaurants!
We will definitely be returning to the Canal Park Lodge.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony are wonderful, and those with just a lake view are still very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Ansgar, Iowa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed here two nights. Great location right on the Lake. Request a room with a balcony - it's worth it. Nice pool for the kids. Good service. Good breakfast in the morning. RIght next to the new brew pub and very close to everything else. Walked downtown to Pizza Luce which is also convenient.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canal Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Park Lodge

Address: 250 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Duluth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#7 Family Hotel in Duluth
#9 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Canal Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Park Hotel Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canal Park Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.