We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel Along Waterfront” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canal Park Lodge

Save Saved
You added Canal Park Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Canal Park Lodge
250 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Hotel Along Waterfront”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I stayed here for three nights during the winter and was very impressed with the hotel. The staff is extremely friendly and accommodating and the hotel has a very warm and welcoming feel to it. The breakfast offered a good selection, as well as good complimentary coffee throughout the day. There are several good restaurants within walking distance, my favorite of which was Amazing Graces Bakery and Cafe, their lunch is amazing. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    55
    13
    5
    0
See reviews for
75
71
6
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I've stayed here a few times in the past couple of years with my husband, and it's been great each time. The location is about perfect--it's within walking distance to shops, activities, and the lift bridge. The staff members have been friendly, and the cash bar is very convenient. Sadly the've been out of the appetizers when we've been there, but no big deal! The views of Lake Superior are fantastic, and typically you can hear the waves crashing into the shore from your lake-view balcony. So relaxing! The only thing I dislike is an unpleasant odor in the rooms (we've stayed in a couple of rooms and the odor has always been there). My husband doesn't notice it, but I do. I did mention this to the front desk awhile back but they weren't sure where the odor was coming from. Overall, this is a great place to stay in Duluth!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Everything you'd expect from a great hotel ... clean, nice rooms - beautiful lobby with wonderful breakfast, very friendly and accommodating staff (considering whenever I'm there, there are usually about 100 noisy teenage female hockey players running around). Boohoo, it's our last year there for youth hockey - I shall miss you Canal Park Lodge (plus the shopping in Canal Park is always worth a look).

Room Tip: you can choose between a view of Lake Superior or the city .. whichever you prefer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The hotel is situated right in Canal Park which makes all that the area has to offer within walking distance. We had a room overlooking Lake Superior and a balcony. The room was spacious, clean and stocked with necessities. We happened to stay on a weekend that Duluth was hosting a huge girls hockey tourney and I was pleasantly surprised how quiet our room was with a couple hundred teen girls running around. The staff is nice, check-in fast and parking good. We were impressed with the hotel breakfast. A nice stay to be near the Canal Park area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

What a great place! Absolute best bath tub I've ever soaked in a hotel. Super comfy bed, quiet night (maybe 'cause it was -20!). One thing I really appreciated was the black out curtains and a lack of devices emitting light. I hate staying in hotels with things glowing and blinking everywhere. Breakfast was certainly generous, too.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We made our sort of annual New Years weekend in Duluth again, and thought we'd try the Canal Park Lodge. Turned out to be a good choice. New Years eve can be a bit of a crap shoot with noisier guests and under staffing but this hotel seems to have it figured it out. Staff was friendly, attentive, rooms were tidy and clean and above all, this was by far the quietest hotel we have ever stayed at. No banging doors, no thumping floors, no squeaky fans or radiators, just quiet. And there were a fair number of families with kids there, many skiers judging by the boots and boards streaming through the lobby.
Location is great - easy walking to several restaurants, shopping, the shipping canal.hot breakfast was good, better selection than most others we've seen. And they have Real Coffee (caribou) which is a rarity in Minnesota or North Dakota hotels! Thank you Thank you Thank you Thank you..lol didn't have a change to try the cash bar, although it looked well stocked and had a pleasant sitting area attached. Pool and hot tub were standard fare.
The Canal Park Lodge moved to the top of our Duluth hotels list. And did i mention REAL COFFEE... :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Nice view of the water, great location to canal park, beds comfortable, heat was quite! Staff were helpful! The power was off for 1 hour no fault of the hotel. The staff went room to room to ensure that the guest were ok!

Room Tip: Ask for water front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canal Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Park Lodge

Address: 250 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Duluth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#6 Family Hotel in Duluth
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Canal Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Park Hotel Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canal Park Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.