We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat Guest - Excellent Location and Amenities - Read if you have Apple devices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canal Park Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Canal Park Lodge to your Saves list
Canal Park Lodge
250 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Thunder Bay, Ontario
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Repeat Guest - Excellent Location and Amenities - Read if you have Apple devices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This is now our hotel of choice after staying at the Inn on Lake Superior several times a year for many years. We love the lodge because it's cleaner, has a nicer pool, better parking, the rooms are in better shape and a superior breakfast. However this is our third stay in 2012 and again the wifi and wired Internet is terrible on our Apple devices, including a new MacBook Air and iPhone 5. It seems to be an issue with their hardware but has yet to be resolved. We originally brought the issue to their attention in June of 2012 and again in September. Hopefully they will have it fixed early in 2013.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    65
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
86
88
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I stayed here in July, 2012. I had wanted to stay here for a long time because of how it looks on the outside-very nice grounds, clean, and right on the Lake's edge. I stayed in a room with 2 queen beds and a balcony. the bathroom was large and very nice, modern. The patio had a small table and a couple of chairs and our view of Lake Superior was great! I had requested a rollaway bed, which was not in our room apun arrival. I did have to call down to the desk and they said they would bring it up to the room. We were leaving, but said that was fine if they brought it when we were out. They did not deliver the rollaway, so we had to call again and they brought it right up to us, so not really that big of a deal. They also did not charge us for the rollaway since the room description shows that it sleeps 5 people, but there were only 2 beds. The inside of the hotel is beautiful and clean. There are bikes right out front that can be rented. The breakfast was great and there was plenty of variety. It is also within walking distance of all the fun things to do in Canal Park. It was a bit pricey, but so are all of the other hotels in canal park. I would love to stay here again! I do not think there is a restaurant on site, but it is close to many restaurants. I gave it an excellent review in the restaurant category because the breakfast was so good and they have complimentary Caribou coofee in the lobby.

Room Tip: Beautiful view from the lake side of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus Falls, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is my first stay at this property. I could not believe how amazing this hotel is. It was extremely clean, large, and comfortable. The breakfast was better than any I have had at any other hotel. The staff were pleasant, efficient, and extremely polite. I was here on business. I definitely will stay here again! The area around the hotel was very busy, there was a hockey team staying there, but is was very quiet.

Room Tip: Lake side room was amazing. I loved the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Marais, Minnesota
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I've stayed here twice now for business travel. The staff are polite and efficient. The rooms are large, clean, and comfortable. The location is good for easy access to Hwy 35 and downtown, as well as walking along the shore of Lake Superior. The area around the hotel is busy with tourists and safe for walking around alone (which is not the case with some parts of downtown Duluth). There are a variety of dining options within walking distance. Overall, a good choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

This is our first time staying in Duluth, and Canal Park Lodge was a great place to stay. It is very clean, roomy and the free breakfast was much better than a holiday inn express or even embassy suites. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Our stay was fine. The rooms, at least on the lake view side, are long and narrow with a relatively small window. It would be nice to have a small table and a couple of chairs so one could sit and enjoy the view!! Lots of choices for the free breakfast. The location is fantastic! There's much to see and do in the Canal Park area of Duluth harbor.

Room Tip: 2nd floor, lake side offers the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This hotel had a great location. It doesn't have a "brand" name, like some of the other ones on the canal strip, but it's so worth checking out. Great ambiance and decor from the moment you walk in. Pete at front desk was amazing! Great service from the staff we dealt with. Views of the water were available from our room. The breakfast variety was great. Slightly pricey...but overall, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canal Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Park Lodge

Address: 250 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Duluth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#7 Family Hotel in Duluth
#9 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Canal Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Park Hotel Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canal Park Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.