We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canal Park Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Canal Park Lodge to your Saves list
Canal Park Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   250 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I stayed here in July, 2012. I had wanted to stay here for a long time because of how it looks on the outside-very nice grounds, clean, and right on the Lake's edge. I stayed in a room with 2 queen beds and a balcony. the bathroom was large and very nice, modern. The patio had a small table and a couple of chairs and our view of Lake Superior was great! I had requested a rollaway bed, which was not in our room apun arrival. I did have to call down to the desk and they said they would bring it up to the room. We were leaving, but said that was fine if they brought it when we were out. They did not deliver the rollaway, so we had to call again and they brought it right up to us, so not really that big of a deal. They also did not charge us for the rollaway since the room description shows that it sleeps 5 people, but there were only 2 beds. The inside of the hotel is beautiful and clean. There are bikes right out front that can be rented. The breakfast was great and there was plenty of variety. It is also within walking distance of all the fun things to do in Canal Park. It was a bit pricey, but so are all of the other hotels in canal park. I would love to stay here again! I do not think there is a restaurant on site, but it is close to many restaurants. I gave it an excellent review in the restaurant category because the breakfast was so good and they have complimentary Caribou coofee in the lobby.

Room Tip: Beautiful view from the lake side of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    70
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
93
90
7
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fergus Falls, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is my first stay at this property. I could not believe how amazing this hotel is. It was extremely clean, large, and comfortable. The breakfast was better than any I have had at any other hotel. The staff were pleasant, efficient, and extremely polite. I was here on business. I definitely will stay here again! The area around the hotel was very busy, there was a hockey team staying there, but is was very quiet.

Room Tip: Lake side room was amazing. I loved the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Marais, Minnesota
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I've stayed here twice now for business travel. The staff are polite and efficient. The rooms are large, clean, and comfortable. The location is good for easy access to Hwy 35 and downtown, as well as walking along the shore of Lake Superior. The area around the hotel is busy with tourists and safe for walking around alone (which is not the case with some parts of downtown Duluth). There are a variety of dining options within walking distance. Overall, a good choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

This is our first time staying in Duluth, and Canal Park Lodge was a great place to stay. It is very clean, roomy and the free breakfast was much better than a holiday inn express or even embassy suites. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Our stay was fine. The rooms, at least on the lake view side, are long and narrow with a relatively small window. It would be nice to have a small table and a couple of chairs so one could sit and enjoy the view!! Lots of choices for the free breakfast. The location is fantastic! There's much to see and do in the Canal Park area of Duluth harbor.

Room Tip: 2nd floor, lake side offers the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This hotel had a great location. It doesn't have a "brand" name, like some of the other ones on the canal strip, but it's so worth checking out. Great ambiance and decor from the moment you walk in. Pete at front desk was amazing! Great service from the staff we dealt with. Views of the water were available from our room. The breakfast variety was great. Slightly pricey...but overall, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My husband and I had the great experience of staying at Canal Park Lodge this past Sunday. We were impressed by not only the location, but also by the staff, the rooms and amenities, the pool and spa, and were particularly impressed with the breakfast. They served eggs, bacon, waffles, fresh fruit, juices, coffee, etc., etc. Our room was lake-side with a balcony - a bit more expensive but worth the extra dollars. What makes this hotel even a better choice is that a very impressive new brew-pub is being built right next door. We registered for the free-stay drawing and hope we win so we can return this winter and try out the neighborhood brews and food. While there, we walked along the boardwalk to Fitgers to dine and try out the beers at their brewery. We try to get to Duluth at least once/year and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Canal Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Park Lodge

Address: 250 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#6 Family Hotel in Duluth
#9 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Canal Park Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
116 Upscale units in Duluth's Canal Park. This Newest Lakeshore Duluth Hotel features 100% smoke free guest rooms and meeting space, overlooking beautiful Lake Superior on one side, and is the gateway to the famous Canal Park on the other. Canal Park Lodge also provides easy access to the downtown area and the Lake Walk, with miles of scenic walking, running, or biking giving you a truly scenic view of the Duluth MN area. Great dining and shopping, the famous Grandma's restaurants are nearby, a timeless and local Duluth favorite. The Canal Park Brewing Company is located right next door for convenient dinning and the best pint of beer in the Twin Ports. We also feature an impressive lobby, complimentary hot breakfast, and a unique pool area. Enjoy a remarkable view of Duluth from one of our balcony suites. Our hotel is situated in the heart of Canal Park and at the end of the chain of hotels along Lake Superior, to offer you maximum comfort and privacy. We also offer great accommodations for groups or conferences in Duluth with meeting space, and food catered by Bellisio's & Grandmas Restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Canal Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Park Hotel Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canal Park Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.