We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, clean, comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canal Park Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Canal Park Lodge to your Saves list
Canal Park Lodge
250 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Grand Marais, Minnesota
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good location, clean, comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I've stayed here twice now for business travel. The staff are polite and efficient. The rooms are large, clean, and comfortable. The location is good for easy access to Hwy 35 and downtown, as well as walking along the shore of Lake Superior. The area around the hotel is busy with tourists and safe for walking around alone (which is not the case with some parts of downtown Duluth). There are a variety of dining options within walking distance. Overall, a good choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    69
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
92
89
7
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edina, Minnesota
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

This is our first time staying in Duluth, and Canal Park Lodge was a great place to stay. It is very clean, roomy and the free breakfast was much better than a holiday inn express or even embassy suites. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Our stay was fine. The rooms, at least on the lake view side, are long and narrow with a relatively small window. It would be nice to have a small table and a couple of chairs so one could sit and enjoy the view!! Lots of choices for the free breakfast. The location is fantastic! There's much to see and do in the Canal Park area of Duluth harbor.

Room Tip: 2nd floor, lake side offers the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This hotel had a great location. It doesn't have a "brand" name, like some of the other ones on the canal strip, but it's so worth checking out. Great ambiance and decor from the moment you walk in. Pete at front desk was amazing! Great service from the staff we dealt with. Views of the water were available from our room. The breakfast variety was great. Slightly pricey...but overall, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My husband and I had the great experience of staying at Canal Park Lodge this past Sunday. We were impressed by not only the location, but also by the staff, the rooms and amenities, the pool and spa, and were particularly impressed with the breakfast. They served eggs, bacon, waffles, fresh fruit, juices, coffee, etc., etc. Our room was lake-side with a balcony - a bit more expensive but worth the extra dollars. What makes this hotel even a better choice is that a very impressive new brew-pub is being built right next door. We registered for the free-stay drawing and hope we win so we can return this winter and try out the neighborhood brews and food. While there, we walked along the boardwalk to Fitgers to dine and try out the beers at their brewery. We try to get to Duluth at least once/year and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We have stayed at the Canal Park Lodge a few times now. The rooms are in good condition and we really enjoy the decks on some of the rooms for enjoying a beer and the view. The lodge is in a great location with access to the lakewalk and Canal Park. It is an easy walk to Fitger's Brewhouse! There is a also nice patio on the lake side. The lodge was quiet at night and the bed were comfortable.

We were disappointed with the breakfast buffet. It was a very crowded area and each day many of the choices were empty and the staff was not quick to refill them, including coffee. It was easier to get coffee from outside the breakfast area by the front desk. we decided to walk down to Canal Park and get breakfast down there.

It is a good hotel in a great location. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Duluth.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We generally stay at the Inn on Lake Superior but after recent stays where we had headaches with flaky Internet, increasingly run down public areas and just too many loud rambunctious families we opted to stay at the Lodge for our Labour Day escape.

We were not disappointed. Staff are more professional, common areas are nicer and of a higher quality and our room had nicer amenities and bedding. We also didn't have any issues with Internet access and enjoyed the breakfast more at the Lodge.

We'll return and stay again on our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canal Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Park Lodge

Address: 250 Canal Park Drive, Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Duluth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#7 Family Hotel in Duluth
#9 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Canal Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Park Hotel Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canal Park Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.