We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food and Beer = Fun!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Burrito Union

Burrito Union
1332 E 4th St, Ste A, Duluth, MN 55805-2485
218-728-4414
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #87 of 225 restaurants in Duluth
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Duluth, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good Food and Beer = Fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This place is a good neighborhood gathering spot for great local beer (Fitgers), decent mexican food (the burritos are quite good), and loads of fun. Several burrito variations are available along with unique, homemade salsas and interesting side dishes. We had a Lake Superior whitefish burrito which had a good blend of flavors and tender, flakey fish chunks. My partner had a pork burrito filled with nicely slow-cooked pork and tomatillo salsa. The Fitgers beer alone would be a huge draw. Wine options are limited, however.

We've also enjoyed a suprisingly good breakfast here - great coffee with several options for breakfast burritos loaded with eggs, cheese and salsa.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

56% Recommend
    21
    11
    10
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota, United States
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A great Burrito!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I enjoy Burrito Union. They have great beer, and tasty food. The quality control does sometimes leave a little bit to be desired though. Sometimes the smaller burrito can be a monster, other times no so much. I think it has to do with how hungry they are in in the kitchen. :-) The beer is great. A fun place to grab a quick bite. I have been going there for a quick lunch or dinner for years.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food...weird atmosphere...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The waitstaff was all college kids that didn't have on a uniform so you were not sure who was a waitress or staff. The seating was really strange, I got more of a college coffee shop vibe then a mexican resturaunt. It was very loud in there like a bar. Other than that...the food was absolutley ahhhmazing!!! I will be going back, but maybe try take out next time. :)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fun local joint..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

After reading some of the reviews, I was shocked because we had a great experience! It was my visit and it was around 8pm. The atmosphere was very energetic and festive. The have several salsa choices to pick from, very unique flavors for each of them. There were 4 of us dining; we all got a variety of items. Burrito's and Tacos were great! Food came in a timely manner and the Margaritas were pretty good. The Mojito's were also very tasty. I'll be back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
“Used to be good, but not anymore...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This used to be a fun and interesting place to eat, with hearty portions and unique and wonderful flavor combinations. Sadly, not anymore. The last few times we have gone, they got our orders wrong, and the food was bland and also, COLD. Yuck. Servers are dispirited and could not care less. Lousy service, lack-luster (and frankly, terrible) food. Sad to report this. We will not be going again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burrito Union also viewed

 

Been to Burrito Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burrito Union, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.