We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not all we hoped it would be” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Duluth Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Duluth Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   301 East Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not all we hoped it would be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My fiance and I were in duluth for a wedding and out of convenience chose the Sheraton. We paid $250 for one night in a king lakeside room, which I felt was a little steep for the city but the reception venue was next door so figured it would work best for us. Check in time was set for 3pm which luckily we got into our room on time since we needed to dash in to change and be out quickly. But even with just a few seconds to look over our room we noticed extremely dirty windows (inside & out), dirt all over our white comforter cover, random long dark hairs on our sheets and bathroom vanity top (I'm a blonde...) and just an overall feeling we got completely ripped off. At the reception we spoke with many of our friends that were still waiting to get into their rooms!!! It was after 4pm and check in time was at 3pm but they had three weddings booked and could not empty and clean rooms fast enough to accommodate their paying guests so our friends were forced to get ready in the public bathrooms... talk about frustrating! All I can say is for $150 less we could of stayed at the Holiday Inn and had the same experience but taken some extra cash home which I would rather spend on something much more worth while.

Room Tip: My mother travels for business to Duluth frequently and she said the best hotel choice is the Hilton...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug B, Director of Sales at Sheraton Duluth Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear WellTraveled61,

My name is Doug Bremer, and I am the Director of Sales & Marketing at the Sheraton Duluth Hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet the expectations that we aim to provide for you. One of the major purposes of online reviews is to highlight areas for improvement and your feedback provides our hotel with valuable information that we can review to improve on for the future. Thank you for your comments about the housekeeping issues you encountered in your guestroom – we would like to be able to correct this immediately. Please feel free to contact me at 218-336-2719 so I can investigate this further, as I would appreciate the chance to prevent similar events from occurring.

If you have any further questions or comments, please let me know.

Warm regards,

Doug Bremer
Director of Sales & Marketing
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    85
    33
    11
    9
See reviews for
58
85
18
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Our daughter got married and we had several rooms for the event that took place at the Greysolon Ballroom. The front desk was very helpful and friendly. Rooms were very clean. Beds and pillows were very comfortable. Two of our rooms were adjoined rooms which made it very nice for our big family. The doors for the bathrooms were a bit different. Very convenient and within walking distance to many area restaurants and pubs. We will stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug B, Director of Sales at Sheraton Duluth Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear BreezeM0m,
Thank you for your comments about our hotel, and congratulations on your daughter's marriage!
We are always honored to be included as a part of the experience during these very special events , and I am thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us.
We will look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Duluth, and thank you again for taking the time to share your review.

Warm regards,

Doug Bremer
Director of Sales & Marketing
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We loved our stay! We had such a beautiful room with a great view of Lake Superior. We have family in the area and will definitely stay here again. The location is perfect! We walked down to the harbor.
We also loved the decor. It was updated and luxurious.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug B, Director of Sales at Sheraton Duluth Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Traveler A,

Thank you for choosing us, I am excited that you have chosen us to be the place where your family gathers. A walk down to the harbor is a great way to spend a day in Duluth, and we will look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit.
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience!

Warm regards,

Doug Bremer
Director of Sales & Marketing
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I stayed two nights at this Hotel late July. Great location, within walking distance of restaurants and shopping. Very friendly staff, and a pub across the street that open late night! The room were comfortable, spacious and clean. The best part waking up to a view of the lake and a gorgeous sunrise!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug B, Director of Sales at Sheraton Duluth Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Gl0balTraveller45,

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel, it is great to hear that our staff made you feel warm and welcome!
We feel fortunate to live in the greatest city on the greatest lake, and I am thrilled that we were able to share a sunrise with you.
Thank you again for taking the time to share your comments, we will look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Duluth.


Warm regards,

Doug Bremer
Director of Sales & Marketing
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We spent just one night here during our long travels. The hotel and rooms are decent size, clean and the beds will not disappoint you. They are extremely comfortable! We didn't check in until 10pm so the restaurant was closing. Our check in help was friendly and quick. However the girl that checked us out was miserable and lacking customer service skills. We were given a recommendation to head down the street to Fitger's Brewery pub for a bite to eat. The food was good and a nice alternative to the hotel restaurant.
Don't leave any valuable in your car while in the parking garage! The parking is an adjacent public parking garage and the hotel does validate for free parking. There are cameras in some corners of the garage however, as we were leaving in the morning the police were there and several vehicles had windows broken and items stolen. Just keep that in mind when parking during your future stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug B, Director of Sales at Sheraton Duluth Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Carrie_Callum,
Thank you for taking the time to post these comments, I hope the rest of your long travels were enjoyable.
I am happy to hear that your overall Duluth experience was good, and I am sorry that we weren't able to exceed your expectations during your check-out process. I will share this with our team to ensure we don't recreate this for future visits to Duluth.
Thank you for your suggestion about avoiding leaving valuables in vehicles, this is good advice regardless of where a person parks. It is very infrequent for any damage or theft to occur in the parking ramp adjacent to our building, so I regret that your experience may have left a negative impression.
Thank you again for your review of your time with us, and I look forward to reconnecting with you during your next stay in Duluth.

Warm regards,

Doug Bremer
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I love this Sheraton! The views of Lake Superior are amazing. The club room service was a little awkward but still offered a fair amount of variety. The room was clean and the Sheraton beds do not disappoint. The location on a street lined with head shops and rehab clinics is the only low point for this hotel but safety does not appear to be an issue.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug B, Director of Sales at Sheraton Duluth Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear tenthousandlakes,
Thank you very much for your kind review of our hotel, I am glad you enjoyed yourself while you were with us!
You will be pleased to hear that our neighborhood is continuing to improve with more arts and dining additions, as well as the renovation and re-opening of a very historic and beautiful theater. I am excited for you to see the improvements during your next stay with us.
Thank you again for your comments, and we will look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Doug Bremer
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I was pleasantly taken aback by the quality of our stay here over the July 4th holiday. The parking in the adjacent garage was validated, there was free Wifi (contrary to some of the posters on this site who seem not to have bothered asking about it), and prompt, polite service. We purchased some smoked fish and needed to refrigerate it, so upon asking the front desk immediately had someone roll a refrigerator into my room. The rooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable, especially the feather pillows. I enjoyed the fitness facility, and most importantly the hotel's proximity to numerous restaurants and shops in downtown, as well as to the shoreline. We definitely plan to return here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug B, Director of Sales at Sheraton Duluth Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Adam T,
Thank you for these wonderful comments about our property! We always try to go above-and-beyond, so I am pleased to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations.
We will look forward to your next visit to Duluth!

Warm regards,

Doug Bremer
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Duluth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Duluth Hotel

Address: 301 East Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Duluth
#11 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Duluth Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Duluth Hotel is ideal for business, weekend getaways, or vacation. Connected via skyway to all four Essentia Health care buildings and minutes from the Duluth International Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sheraton Duluth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Duluth
Duluth Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Duluth Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.