We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Duluth Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sheraton Duluth Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   301 East Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good location, nice room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We spent just one night here during our long travels. The hotel and rooms are decent size, clean and the beds will not disappoint you. They are extremely comfortable! We didn't check in until 10pm so the restaurant was closing. Our check in help was friendly and quick. However the girl that checked us out was miserable and lacking customer service skills. We were given a recommendation to head down the street to Fitger's Brewery pub for a bite to eat. The food was good and a nice alternative to the hotel restaurant.
Don't leave any valuable in your car while in the parking garage! The parking is an adjacent public parking garage and the hotel does validate for free parking. There are cameras in some corners of the garage however, as we were leaving in the morning the police were there and several vehicles had windows broken and items stolen. Just keep that in mind when parking during your future stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug B, Director of Sales at Sheraton Duluth Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Carrie_Callum,
Thank you for taking the time to post these comments, I hope the rest of your long travels were enjoyable.
I am happy to hear that your overall Duluth experience was good, and I am sorry that we weren't able to exceed your expectations during your check-out process. I will share this with our team to ensure we don't recreate this for future visits to Duluth.
Thank you for your suggestion about avoiding leaving valuables in vehicles, this is good advice regardless of where a person parks. It is very infrequent for any damage or theft to occur in the parking ramp adjacent to our building, so I regret that your experience may have left a negative impression.
Thank you again for your review of your time with us, and I look forward to reconnecting with you during your next stay in Duluth.

Warm regards,

Doug Bremer
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    78
    28
    9
    8
See reviews for
54
77
18
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

I love this Sheraton! The views of Lake Superior are amazing. The club room service was a little awkward but still offered a fair amount of variety. The room was clean and the Sheraton beds do not disappoint. The location on a street lined with head shops and rehab clinics is the only low point for this hotel but safety does not appear to be an issue.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug B, Director of Sales at Sheraton Duluth Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear tenthousandlakes,
Thank you very much for your kind review of our hotel, I am glad you enjoyed yourself while you were with us!
You will be pleased to hear that our neighborhood is continuing to improve with more arts and dining additions, as well as the renovation and re-opening of a very historic and beautiful theater. I am excited for you to see the improvements during your next stay with us.
Thank you again for your comments, and we will look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Doug Bremer
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I was pleasantly taken aback by the quality of our stay here over the July 4th holiday. The parking in the adjacent garage was validated, there was free Wifi (contrary to some of the posters on this site who seem not to have bothered asking about it), and prompt, polite service. We purchased some smoked fish and needed to refrigerate it, so upon asking the front desk immediately had someone roll a refrigerator into my room. The rooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable, especially the feather pillows. I enjoyed the fitness facility, and most importantly the hotel's proximity to numerous restaurants and shops in downtown, as well as to the shoreline. We definitely plan to return here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug B, Director of Sales at Sheraton Duluth Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Adam T,
Thank you for these wonderful comments about our property! We always try to go above-and-beyond, so I am pleased to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations.
We will look forward to your next visit to Duluth!

Warm regards,

Doug Bremer
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The Sheraton in Duluth is in a good location, close to local shops and restaurants. What lets it down is the unhelpful staff at reception. When we checked in, no information was volunteered on where to park our car, how to get to the car park, the facilities in the hotel, etc. It was very unpersonable and unfriendly. Also there was a horrible smell at the back of the lobby, on the way to the lift to the car park. We think this smell comes from the carpet, it smells musty and mouldy. The hotel also does not offer free wifi and no fridge in the room. Altogether we had higher expectations of the Sheraton and were disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug B, Director of Sales at Sheraton Duluth Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
The Sheraton in Duluth is in a good location, close to local shops and restaurants. What lets it down is the unhelpful staff at reception. When we checked in, no information was volunteered on where to park our car, how to get to the car park, the facilities in the hotel, etc. It was very unpersonable and unfriendly. Also there was a horrible smell at the back of the lobby, on the way to the lift to the car park. We think this smell comes from the carpet, it smells musty and mouldy. The hotel also does not offer free wifi and no fridge in the room. Altogether we had higher expectations of the Sheraton and were disappointed.
Dear Traveling-oz,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we appreciate your feedback.
Since your stay and your comments, we have reviewed our carpet care process and adjusted them to better rectify any odors that arise.
I am sorry to hear that our service did not exceed your expectations, it is our goal to impress every guest. I would enjoy the opportunity to hear more about your experience, to ensure we do not recreate it in the future. Please feel free to contact me directly at, 218-336-2719 if you would like to discuss this further.
Thank you again for your feedback, and we will look forward to improving your next stay with us.

Warm regards,

Doug Bremer
Director of Sales & Marketing
I am sorry to hear that our service was not able to exceed your expectations. w
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The Sheraton in Duluth is located downtown at the eastern end of the main Superior Street. It is a modern building, although the hotel is traditionally fitted and decorated in wood and marble. The downtown location is a mix of nicely restored historic buildings in use as bars, arthouse cinema and boutique shops, but mixed in with some rather unsavoury businesses including “adult store” and shop seemingly selling drug paraphernalia and attracting equally unsavoury people who tended to shout insults to each other and passers-by – not very pleasant when trying to have a pre-dinner stroll. Most restaurants and tourist activities are in the attractive Lakeside / Canal Park area, which is a short distance away by foot or car.

There is 15-minute drop-off car parking outside or a multi-level car park behind with sky-walk access directly into the hotel.

Rooms are either lake-fronting or city-facing. My city view comprised the car park and some mechanical plant that droned continuously. The room was very large with traditional, comfortable furniture and plenty of cupboard space. Surprisingly, there was no refrigerator. The bathroom was also spacious.

Wifi internet costs $4.95 per day, which seems a somewhat unfair addition to a $185 room. I liked how it was possible to forego daily housekeeping in exchange for a $5 voucher or 500 Starpoints.

Food service was excellent. There was a good room service menu and the quality was high. Breakfast was from an individually priced menu and, again, the choice and quality was high and it wasn’t necessary to spend too much.

All the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

In a town that seems to be full of smaller "motel" type 2-star options, this hotel stands above the rest as one of the premier hotels of the city. It is located in downtown, within walking distance of a variety of shops and restaurants. We stayed there for the "Grandma's Marathon", which they catered to the runners nicely. They had a special menu in the restaurant with several pasta options for the night before the race. The morning on the race they had a variety of fruits, energy snacks, and drinks available for the runners to buy before heading out for the race. Our room was on the 6th floor (top level) and the view of the lake was amazing. The rooms were clean, up to date modern furnishings, and an inviting lobby area. The parking was simple, in a ramp behind the building and they validated your parking upon check out. It was a nice stay and an overall great experience.

Room Tip: The extra cost for a lake view room is definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I must say I don't dislike Sheraton. But, this hotel and the one in Denver have a particular smell that is pervasive. The regional CEO must visit at least once. The staff are good and the bar serves good food, and there is no other choice, but the odor is too much. I would advise the staff to clean the carpets in the hallways and the rooms. Again, the experience isn't horrible, the bed linens are great, although the shower pressure is mediocre. I have stayed at this hotel for 5 years and not much has changed. Come on Sheraton, the investors and the clients are hurting!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Duluth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Duluth Hotel

Address: 301 East Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Duluth
#12 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Duluth Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Duluth Hotel is ideal for business, weekend getaways, or vacation. Connected via skyway to all four Essentia Health care buildings and minutes from the Duluth International Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Duluth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Duluth
Duluth Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Duluth Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;