We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel at competitive price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Duluth Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Duluth Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   301 East Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #10 of 31 hotels in Duluth
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel at competitive price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Booked this hotel for a winter weekend getaway for my family. When I was doing the online search of Duluth hotels it was the same price or cheaper than most of the hotels on Canal Park. Plus as you will see it is much nicer and much newer than most of the competition.

Our experience was great. We were upgraded to a Lake View room on the Club level upon arrival which was a nice surprise. My toddler daughter loved the nightly snacks and continental breakfast in the Club Level lounge and swimming in the pool. The parking was a bit of a hike through the connected skyway from the parking ramp, but the parking is protected from snow and validated by the hotel. Being a part of the Starwood Collection of hotels, attention to detail and updated interiors are carried throughout the hotel, as well as the great customer service you'd expect.

The Duluth Sheraton was a great resting spot for our family weekend away from home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    72
    24
    9
    8
See reviews for
52
71
16
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MN
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed here with family for a few days over Spring break. Usually stay on Canal Park, but wanted to try something new. Very nice hotel. Clean and quiet. Staff were very helpful, directing us to local restaurants. Upgraded us to a lakeside room. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen P, General Manager at Sheraton Duluth Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear DeziMN,

How kind of you to write such a kind review. Traveling can be a bit frustrating and when choosing a hotel, it certainly is natural to go with what you know when it comes to selecting a hotel. Thank you for taking a leap outside the comfort zone and giving us a chance. I hope our location, hotel and our associates have given you many reasons to return the next time you are in Duluth. Again, thank you for your review and I look forward to sharing it with our associates.

Warm Regards,
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Excellent recognition at the hotel for Starwood Preferred Guest Platinum Members! Always receive an upgrade here (sometimes to a very large suite, facing Lake Superior). Club Lounge is great and well-stocked. The staff here really go the extra mile to make the stay a good one. This is by far the nicest hotel in Duluth.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen P, General Manager at Sheraton Duluth Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank You Minnisnowda!

Our Starwood Preferred Guests are very important to us! To read one of our Platinum guests write such kind things really is flattering. As a loyal guest of Starwood, you deserve to be recognized and appreciated and I hope we always reach or exceed that when you are staying here with us. Knowing that our Platinum guests stay at least 25 times or 50 nights at Starwood’s properties, I would say, you know what you’re talking about and for this reason your feedback is priceless! Thank you!

Warm Regards,
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful two night stay. The rooms are very classy and exactly what I expected from the sheraton. The free guest laundry was a plus from most full service hotels. The beds were absolutly wonderful they spared no expense on the bed sheets. overall a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen P, General Manager at Sheraton Duluth Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dugan_11,

Thank you for your kind remarks regarding your recent stay. We hope to see you return and become a loyal guest of the Sheraton Duluth Hotel's. We are very proud of our hotel design and our aim is to make sure the quality of products we use makes you feel spoiled yet comfortable. I hope to thank you in person the next time you stay with us!

Warm Regards,
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We ended up staying here for a week as we had a child diagnosed with cancer and the location to the clinics and hospital was perfect. The room had a view of the lake and yes!! Do pay for the view especially if this your first trip to Duluth. Beds, bedding, pillows were of top quality. Large desk to spread out on and a very nice bathroom with 2 doors that gave the room a feel of Europe. Nice touch! The staff was so helpful and caring as we dealt with all that a parent deals with when your child has cancer. We are fussy guests and found our room to be very clean. We even checked it out as we are innkeepers ourselves. This will be our new home in Duluth when we visit the hospital. Nicole at the front desk was extremely helpful and oh so caring. A gem for the Sheraton. The shuttle service is like having your own personal limo at your disposal. Thank you all at the Sheraton for making our stay as comfortable as it was.

Room Tip: Get a room with a lake view on a higher level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen P, General Manager at Sheraton Duluth Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
We are honored Sueedgington!

Feedback given by someone who knows the business is priceless! Then to top it off with, knowing that you are embarking on a journey with your child, we truly are honored by your gift of feedback!

We genuinely hope that our guests who are staying with us due to medical reasons, can focus on what's important to them and let us focus on making your stay easy and comfortable. No matter the reasons someone travels to us for, it's our job to understand what's most important to each guest and work on delivering that custom experience each and every time.

We wish you great success on your family journey and know you have a "hotel family" waiting for you here in Duluth.

Warm Regards,
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed here for a dance at Greysolon Plaza. Hotel is very nice and has a protected parking ramp in the back. The pool area is small/cozy but very pleasant. The staff was attentive and helpful. All and all a very pleasant stay. Crib was an actual crib not a pack and play. Very nice!

Only thing that we didn't like is the strange 2 door arrangement for the bathroom. We agreed they would be better off with one door that actually closed correctly and afforded some privacy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen P, General Manager at Sheraton Duluth Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you HeavyLunch for your review!

We certainly appreciate when our travelers take time out of their busy schedules to let us know what they liked most and where we could improve.

It's good to hear you appreciated the convenience of our hotel to the Greysolon Plaza Ballroom. Sometimes northern Minnesota weather and dressed up events don't mix well, so having the ballroom connected via skyway can be very valuable.

And, shouldn't everyone get a good night’s sleep when staying in a hotel? We believe so, and that's why Sheraton has invested in a quality crib for even our smallest guest. Now hopefully your little one slept through the night too!

Unfortunately, the design choice with a more fashionable door fell short of your expectation. We do have a limited number of rooms with a solid door but we are hoping you won't let this be an obstacle that would keep you from rebooking with us in the future.

Again, thank you for your feedback. It is valuable for us to know how we are doing, that's how we continue to learn and grow!

Warm Regards,
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Defintely a nice place to stay in Duluth. It is situated in downtown Duluth. The rooms and lobby have nice traditional decor, and so do the rooms. The bathrooms are spacious, but not enough counter top space, but definitely clean and comfortable. Definetly get a lake view room, watching the ships go by is fun to watch. The bar that is apart of the lobby is indeed nice too! Whenever I go to Duluth, it is my go to place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen P, General Manager at Sheraton Duluth Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Andrea T,

Wow! Thank you for your kind review! Being on the "go-to" hotel list is a compliment we are very proud to receive! The next time you are in town and feel you need additional surface space in the bathroom, let us know and let's see what our team can come up with. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and with fellow travelers!

Warm Regards,
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Duluth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Duluth Hotel

Also Known As:
Sheraton Duluth
Duluth Sheraton
Address: 301 East Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#8 Family Hotel in Duluth
#11 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Duluth Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Duluth Hotel is ideal for business, weekend getaways, or vacation. Connected via skyway to all four Essentia Health care buildings and minutes from the Duluth International Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sheraton Duluth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Duluth Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.